We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
85
96
35
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
85
96
35
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite black forest there is no air conditioning breakfast and dinner overlooking the lake lakeview bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 241 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Why don't more English people visit the Southern Black Forest? It is beautiful and Brugger's hotel is fantastic.

We had a small suite - it was huge! One big bedroom with a bathroom bigger than a lot of hotel rooms; a dressing area with lots of wardrobe space and proper coat hangers and a large balcony with a wonderful lake view. The bed would have easily slept four! The room was well furnished with all sorts of tables and chairs and sunbeds and a large TV. Free mineral water and coke were left each day in our fridge.

The bathroom was amazing. A large bath, a separate shower area, two large wash basins, toilet and bidet - and the plumbing was perfect. You couldn't even hear the toilet flush from the bedroom.

The whole front wall was a Patio window, which filled the room with light and you could lie in bed and see the beautiful view. Once the doors and curtains were closed everything was so quiet.

The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was superb.

Of course, there were a few very minor things which were not perfect but they did not distract from our five star enjoyment of this establishment.

Room tip: The more expensive rooms are best.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle-Nazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

This hotel did not meet expectation or price. The room was pleasant but quite small. Next time we will book on the lakefront. The restaurant was also overpriced for average food. Overall we were disappointed and our 3xpectations were not met.

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank michellesI7648AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Went for dinner- great service, great local wines, great food- trout, sole, fondues, even vegetarian food - great quality and great service- definitely worth a visit. Even the hotel looks nice- a little off the lake but well alid out

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KanwarTavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

The positives are a good location with a nice view over the lake and adequate (but far from outstanding) food.
The negatives are the rest. The staff appear to have been trained that smiling is verboten. The carpets in the corridors have a pattern which makes them look like some giant barfed after a particularly hot vindaloo. The decor in the rooms is drab, functional, basic.
The nadir of our three day stay was dinner. Having arrived at 7pm the adults decided not to order starters so that there was no risk that our young children's food would be delayed. By 8.30 there was still no sign of any food, and our 5 year old was crying with hunger. When it finally arrived (after many remonstrations) the waiter claimed that the delay was our fault - because one adult had ordered trout (we all know it takes 90 minutes to pan fry a trout.). The reception staff member later said that the restaurant manager was new and still learning. If he doesn't know that young children get hungry and tired if they haven't eaten by nearly 9pm, he has a lot to learn.
Room cleaning doesn't seem to be a speciality either - we found a littering of cosmetics left behind by the a previous occupant.
When I said that I would review the hotel for tripadviser, the receptionist responded that there was no need since I had already told her my views!
The fundamental mistake we made was to assume (from the price) that Brugger's was a quality, luxury hotel. It's neither.

Room tip: A lake view is a must (we failed to specify this and got a view over the garages)
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F91OQjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

The hotel is nicely located close to the lake and town. The rooms are very basic, with low stander furniture, my room does not have mini frige.

One of the front disk staff needs to be more friendly and lower her voice when they speak with hotel guests.

Breakfast is very good service at the breakfast restaurant is slow.

The hotel charge for the car parking which I find it silly.

I strongly recommend to have the room with balcony it is much better than rooms looking at the back of the hotel.

I also recommend to book rooms directly with the hotel not through Booking.com you will save about 30%

Room tip: Rooms with Balcony are much better Booking directly with hotel is much cheaper compared to prices offered by Booking.com
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlmusalamTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews