We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bergsee

Bergsee
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere, and a nice outdoors seating area, from where you have a beatiful view of the lake. Menu is in several languages. I read several complaints about slow service, mine was pretty fast, although I visited the restaurant during low season (perhaps it is worse during high season). Concerning food, portions are above average, and price is neither expensive or a bargain. Quality of food was just OK, nothing special. Deserts were worth passing, though. You may want to find better desert around. Overall, not a restaurant I would be eager to go again to, but a place I might try again according to the circumstances.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tweetySP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    138
    56
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of the Lake from the Terrace....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Go to this restaurant for the view, from their sunny, warm Terrace. The food is good, reasonably priced, and well prepared, when you eventually get it. The service was awkward, although the guy seemed to be trying. (I thought he was just new until I read the previous reviews of this restaurant.) Let's see...he brought the drinks he thought we would like, not what we ordered, then brought the wrong food, then did not bring the food, then forgot one an essential side dish, then served a side dish to the wrong person at the table......Anyway, it worked out because we were not starving and we relaxed in the sun with our wine and enjoyed the view. Again, go for the View.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad Service and Bad Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

After a short stroll around the still-shimmering Titisee which mirriored the golden browns and reds of the surrounding hillside forest, we headed onto the balcony of the Bergsee Restaurant to indulge the huge appetite we had built-up.
We waited as the waiters & waitresses strolled by time and again, ignoring our eye-contact and unresponsive to our exclaimations "Entschuldigung" (Excuse-me). Finally, after 20 minutes, the service arrived at our table and rudely demanded our drink orders, initially refusing to take our food-order, which she then did with clear disdain.
The soups, pizza's and Curry-wurst arrived (warm, not hot) all lacking in flavour and spice (despite "Gesmacksverstaerker", i.e. Flavour enhancers, being in each and every dish). After we had finished eating we had to ask no less than 6 times over a half-hour period to pay. No apology for the delay and an abrupt and crude almost throwing-down of the bill on the table by the waitress really was the bitter and mouldy icing on the cake!

The setting is lovely, but all else was extremely disappointing. I would never return to eat there again!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank begganp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worth place in Titisee”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Very - very - very slow service. It took more than 15 minutes to bring menu. After it 40 minutes for the meals. Terrible !!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank damashnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Your "standard" really good Blackforest restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Right on the lake you have the famous and popular Bergsee restaurant. If you're in the area, you'll likely eat here at least once. There is indeed a large outdoor seating area under the trees as well as the indoor restaurant. (I believe the Bergsee also owns a big BOAT you can see on the lake!)

This is a big, popular restaurant. You can go with families, for sure, or also just for couples. The decor is absolutely typical and authentic. It's great. It is not spoiled by being too big.

The food is good and completely reliable - if you can only have one, typical Schwarzwalder meal, eat here. Have your wonderful schnitzel, sausages and so on.

Service is good. Don't panic as there are English-printed menus and the like. The price is "solid" - you won't feel ripped-off, but it's not a bargain or cheap.

We fortunately stayed at the amazing (and incredibly reasonably priced) hotel Diana which is up the hill in Feldberg overlooking the lake.

I's a perfect drive ten minutes around the back of the lake from the Diana to Titisee. PARK NEAR THE TRAIN STATION, it's only a couple euros. Walk down to the Bergsee on the lake, through the pedestrian shopping street. Enjoy the excellent and popular Bergsee!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bergsee also viewed

Titisee-Neustadt, Baden-Wurttemberg
Titisee-Neustadt, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Titisee-Neustadt, Baden-Wurttemberg
Titisee-Neustadt, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Titisee-Neustadt, Baden-Wurttemberg
Titisee-Neustadt, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Bergsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing