We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cafe in Waiuku”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nicks Cafe

Nicks Cafe
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Waiuku
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The cafes aim is to provide the best possible quality available locally, serve it with the type of hospitality you'd expect from a small town local haunt. Generous portions, Fresh ingredients & engaging service are the standards I i strive for.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Waiuku”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This buzzing little cafe is run by charismatic Nick, who is always welcoming, jovial and happy to accommodate any dietary requirements or requests. Nicks Cafe is a favourite among locals for its relaxed atmosphere, great coffee and fabulous food. In the summer there is also a lovely courtyard to sit outside, at one end of this courtyard is a play area for children. It is also conveniently located on the way to Kariotahi beach so ask Nick for your order to go on the way to the beach.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fab Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Found this on google. Just off the main street over from the college. Looks like it's closed coz of tinted windows.
Warm and friendly welcome, good service, lovely grub.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cuswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great home made food. Nick made all of them.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Are you sick of the same old, smae old food that get dished out from places like 'Coffee Club', 'Muffin Break', 'Esquire', 'Columbus' etc. The above have frozen food which they just heat up in the toaster and microwave. Here, Nick makes everything on the premises daily. The panini is freshly made on the day and if theer is none on the cabinet, he will make one for you. His chocolate cakes and slices are to die for. I have tried his 'whisky brioche', not always available as he makes different things everyday, it was totally out of this world!!!

Great food is sometimes found in small little towns than the big city standard fare from malls.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good coffee, good eggs benedict and a warm welcome by the owner all make this a good spot for breakfast. Locals tell me that this cafe is highly regarded and my experience was consistent with that. My three colleagues were all well satisfied with there breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had breakfast at Nicks cafe this morning and had the best hot chocolate and great eggs benedict.
Very tasty, and in an era of bad service we got the unexpected. When we had finished our hot chocolates they were refilled without asking or expecting payment.
We will certainly return. Thanks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TandaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicks Cafe also viewed

Waiuku, Auckland Region
Waiuku, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Waiuku, Auckland Region
 
Waiuku, Auckland Region
 

Been to Nicks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing