We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Last Night in NZ!”
Review of Castaways Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaways Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Waiuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wow - what a find this place was - just 45 min south of the International Airport which was the perfect place to stay in our last night in NZ. We opted for the chill out package which includes late checj out (perfect for our 3.30pm flight home) dinner & breakfast at Agave, where the food was superb. It was quiet when we stayed so the only thing we did not like was the fact we could hear the conversation that was happening out the back during our dinner - including the commentary around what we had ordered - not really what you expected. Breakfast was good - hubby had the mushrooms and I had the big breakfast - both decent sizes. The onsite managers were very friendly and hospitable, and the layout of the property is well thought out. Definitely recommend the chalet - full kitchen and the views were fantastic - great sunset photos from the verandah. There was no stress with getting to the airport and it was a great way to end our NZ trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in chalet 2.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Castaways Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a very relaxing weekend here on the wild West Coast.
We stayed in a studio unit below which was well set up & furnished. If you can get a Chalet up higher i'd say do it...just for the superb views, (more pricier) but the studios are good. We just chilled out and it was great.
Theres not a lot to do but chill out, go down to the black sand beach (3 min walk) & enjoy the Agave cafe / restaurant on site which is very good. Make sure you book for dinner on Friday & Saturday nights as it was busy. They have a Day Spa & other activities available if you want to pay and have the time.
The town of Waiuku is only 8kms from Castaways so stop in there on your way to stock up on goodies likes snacks, alcohol etc....also get an extra milk for your coffee.
We definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: if you can aford it definitely stay in a Chalet up high for the views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We came for a wedding, and just loved our chalet. It was very comfortable and included everything that we might want. Free wifi! Warning though--no cell service. Expensive call back to the US. The views are unbelievable. We were always looking out the window. We took the short 15 minute hike to the overlook view, and WOW, you can see forever! The wedding was lovely, the staff was great. A very enjoyable 2 days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

View was fantastic. Could not fault the service, even offered to pick myself and my two BFFs and take us to the restaurant and drive us home after our dinner. We had to postpone our dinner as we were too engrossed in our fabulous view. Restaurant was full with a wedding as well and we received great service and a fabulous meal.

We were in a 2 bedroom chalet and our chalet was fabulous, everything we needed. Loads of bedding and towels etc.

Would recommend without hesitation.

LOVED that the TV came down from the roof.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet overlooking the beautiful black sand beach...sunrise and sunset were spectacular!! Spectacular views were complemented by exquisitely clean accomodations. Kitchenette and living room were perfect for a family and the bedrooms/ bathrooms were pretty large. Very good restaurant! Loved the breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANtrvlbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I live locally and went with a friend for the Spa and Dine package offered by the newly opened (2012) Bersantai Day Spa. The day spa is absolutely beautiful, perched high on the hills looking down the west coast beach of Kariotahi, The design and decor of Bersantai is stunning and the atmosphere is so relaxing. We were greeted by Pauleen, who I had made the booking with, and given the option of herbal teas to drink during a relaxing foot soak prior to our treatment. The staff were amazing, so lovely and super professional. We enjoyed our 60min massages thoroughly, the treatment rooms are decorated just as beautifully as the rest of the day spa and the experience was wonderful. Afterwards we enjoyed more herbal tea before taking the easy walk down the hill to Agave restaurant.
I have eaten at Agave many times since its opening and it just gets better and better. The staff are so friendly and knowledgeable about their menu and wine offering. The food is always fresh and beautifully prepared. I'm looking forward to utilising the day spa and restaurant again in future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been to Agave Restaurant a number of times and have always found the food to be consistently good.

We have tried both the a la carte menu and the StoneGrill option, both of which we enjoyed immensely. The view is stunning, especially on a gorgeous day (or evening).

The only bug-bear we have is that if the doors are open (which is ideal on a super day) and the smokers go out onto the deck, your dream of beautiful clean, fresh air coming in as you gaze over the ocean is shattered!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank foodlover27264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiuku
16.1 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
144 reviews
20.6 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
4.7 mi away
The Kentish Hotel
The Kentish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waiuku
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Port Waikato Holiday Park
Port Waikato Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Port Waikato
42 reviews
15.0 mi away
Touchwood Motor Lodge
Touchwood Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pukekohe
139 reviews
24.8 mi away
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort

Address: 685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waiuku
Price Range: $137 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort is located on the stunning cliff tops of Kariotahi Beach, Auckland.With a fabulous range of services available, friendly and helpful staff and a commitment to providing wonderful experiences to guests, Castaways Resort is Auckland most popular cliff top ocean front resort.Be pampered at onsite Bersantai Day Spa, recharge with a walk along the ocean beach below, savour as you dine on the cliff tops at Agave Restaurant with the sounds of the ocean below, have fun with onsite activities such as 4WDing, archery and blokarting and relax in seaview accommodation - it's all here at Castaways Resort.Wonderful as a weekend getaway, perfect for a stopover during your New Zealand holiday (Aucklands International airport is only 45 minutes away), gorgeous as a wedding destination, ideal for your next conference or retreat and a true escape for a day trip, Castaways Resort is not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Castaways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing