We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Breath of Fresh Air”
Review of Castaways Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaways Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Waiuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We've travelled the globe and come back home to New Zealand. We found this lovely hidden gem tucked away on the West Coast about an hour out of central Auckland. There are lovely Chalets with views to die for. Sit and watch the tide while the sun sets, or wander along the beach. There are a number of fun outdoor activities, we did blow carting on the beach - great fun given the open space. Within the complex is the Agave Restaurant - very convenient for a weekend break. The food is Bistro style, so maybe a little disappointing for those who like smaller tastier portions, however overall it makes for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ducksbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 220 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

Excellent spot away from the city - 40 min drive from airport, but totally isolated overrlooking an excellent beach - for swimming (most of the year) and walking... though you might have to share with blowcarts and horses.
Very well appointed suites/ units - all appear to have great outlook over ocean. Restaurant adequate, though breakfast limited. A good place for a business retreat.

Room Tip: all good, though didn't see the studios
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailingkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My father purchased my new husband and I a night here as a gift. We stayed in Chalet 4 which was the best one. Loved everything about this place - romantic, gorgeously presented, amazing views, really spacious, nice restaurant and lovely staff. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Chalet 4 has the best view and is nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The location is idyllic, stunning views, well appointed clean and spacious chalets. However we were disappointed with the service in the restaurant, it was very slow and on two mornings the breakfast took an hour from ordering to being served. The breakfast doesn't start until 9.30am so it was very late by the time we got out. We found the staff really weren't bothered whether it was today or tomorrow. Obviously some staffing issues and better management required.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We travelled down to Karioitahi from Auckland just for the Saturday night for our anniversary. I phoned to book a couple of weeks before and as there were no studios available we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom chalet at the same price. Very spacious, comfortable and clean. Comfortable, king-size bed (not something you can say about a lot of accommodation in NZ). Would be very comfortable for two couples or a family. Great kitchen facilities, plus full laundry in the chalet would make it a very good longer-term place to stay as well. Not a lot to do in the immediate vicinity though, which makes it perfect for a quiet getaway. Karioitahi Beach has the black sand and wildness typical of the west coast - beautiful for walking. By the way, no cellphone or internet service from the room (maybe elsewhere?) - fantastic!

The main attraction is the absolutely stunning view. Our chalet was right at the end at the top and the view was possibly a little restricted by other chalets, but was still magnificent. We braved the chilly southerly breeze and sat out on the deck to make the most of the scenery. Very peaceful with the distant sound of the surf breaking on the beach - lovely. I would think that all rooms would have amazing views.

We ate at the restaurant that night - food and service both very good and again those amazing views (during daylight hours). Breakfast time was busy with guests from the previous night's wedding party there (I assume). There was a buffet available and we made the mistake of opting for that - should have ordered off the menu. I might add that the wedding didn't impact on our stay at all - you really wouldn't have known it was even happening (unless you're nosey like us and go around the corner to have a look - looks like a lovely venue).

All in all, we would love to return sometime in the future - again it would be for a quiet getaway for a night or two.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

If you want a break, away from everything, this is the place for you! Our family booked us into Castaways for a Christmas treat, so we went for a couple of nights midweek at the end of January. On arrival we were given an upgrade to a two-bedroomed chalet. When we opened the door, we certainly got the wow factor! two sides of the apartment were glass sliding doors, opening out onto a large balcony, with panoramic views over the Tasman Sea. The facilities in the apartment were great, all the cooking facilities, plus dishwasher, washer, drier, fridge. Two bedrooms with ensuite facilities, well apart, making them ideal for two couples, though you'd have to borrow a couple of balcony chairs. Some outdoor cushions would have been nice too. Restaurant was superb, we had dinner there twice, top food! Only downside is that you need the car to get to the beach, but it's well worth it, you can walk for miles in either direction; you'd need to keep an eye on the kids though as there are some strong currents, but there is an area supervised by life guards. There's also a walk to a viewing point at the top of the cliffs; you can watch the horses exercising along the beach, and see the paragliders taking off and floating around freely. Probably not the place to go if you like a lot of company, but for a quiet break, it is perfect. There was even a wedding on while we were there, but it never intruded on our peace and solitude.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stay as overnight for boyfriend's birthday gift, request room with good view and got a room with great view! Comp late check out as well!

The annoversary package include dinner for 2, restaurant is beautifully located facing the sea. Food was excellent, however service needs improving. Didn't get drink order after 3rd couple walked in and I went up to the waitress asking them to take our drink order.

Overall, great place to stay and will recommended to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ting1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiuku hotels
4.7 mi away
The Kentish Hotel
The Kentish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waiuku
20 reviews
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
Waiuku Motel
#1 of 1 in Waiuku
7 reviews
5.6 mi away
Waiuku Lodge Motel
Waiuku Lodge Motel
#2 of 4 in Waiuku
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Big Bay Holiday Park
Big Bay Holiday Park
#3 of 4 in Waiuku
32 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort

Address: 685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waiuku
Price Range: $113 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort is located on the stunning cliff tops of Kariotahi Beach, Auckland.With a fabulous range of services available, friendly and helpful staff and a commitment to providing wonderful experiences to guests, Castaways Resort is Auckland most popular cliff top ocean front resort.Be pampered at onsite Bersantai Day Spa, recharge with a walk along the ocean beach below, savour as you dine on the cliff tops at Agave Restaurant with the sounds of the ocean below, have fun with onsite activities such as 4WDing, archery and blokarting and relax in seaview accommodation - it's all here at Castaways Resort.Wonderful as a weekend getaway, perfect for a stopover during your New Zealand holiday (Aucklands International airport is only 45 minutes away), gorgeous as a wedding destination, ideal for your next conference or retreat and a true escape for a day trip, Castaways Resort is not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castaways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing