We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hospiz Tubingen
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tubingen
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed for a few days here, during a conference. It seems the local university - mostly - fills this hotel with visitors. As other reviewers mentioned, this property is basically a renovated old house in the historic centre of Tuebingen. From pretty much every window you get views of picturesque old architecture. This hotel could be a good hotel if the proprietor gave more attention to detail. Internet access, wifi, included in room rate (5* for that!), was sketchy, and had a terrible login interface that required frequent repeat logons. They'd simply provide wifi without all that nonsense. There's a lift, which is good news, but you still might have to climb stairs with your luggage. The entrance of the hotel could be an unsurmountable challenge for people with mobility issues, so beware. They offer a pretty nice buffet breakfast, nothing fanciful, but basically it's right on target for a good start in the day. not sure whether it's included in the room rate (I didn't book the room), but it's recommended. the bed was ok, i slept more comfortable in other places (the blanket seemed tiny), but do keep in mind, this isn't part of an american hotel chain, so again, it's ok for what it is. there's no coffee maker in the room. i love having those, so that was unfortunate. Tripadvisor has only 'average' and 'very good' designations. I think this is a 'good' hotel. - Btw, under no circumstances trust google maps telling you that it's a 900m walk to this property from the railway station. The distance is probably correct, but it's a lot of walking on cobblestone surfaces that are bound to wreck the wheels under your luggage. There's also a bit of up-the-hill climbing on your way. My advice: get a cab. - All in all: I would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank udo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 161 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Traditional, helpful, pleasant, quiet, excellently located ...

Twice I have stayed for conferences at Hotel Hospiz and the second time was even better than the first.

Their helpfulness - printing of boarding cards, allowing moves to rooms with baths instead of showers - was beyond the call of duty. The breakfast buffet is ample, rich, varied, and delicious.

I would be more than happy top return to Hotel Hospiz.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goeran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

In February 2014 I spent tree nights in this hotel during a conference I attended at Tübingen University. The hotel was chosen for me by the organisers. It is a modernised and refurbished building dating from the Middle Ages, where they even managed to install a lift. It is situated amidst the old town, a good location in a town where you can easily roam around on foot. My room on the second floor was spacious, with big windows, the floor being far from horizontal, though. The room being calm, sleep quality was good.

The breakfast offer was not overly rich, but sufficient for a three star hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary Wifi service is a nuisance, though. Throughput is weak, you are often simply thrown out and have to repeat the login with your mail address and password.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lahjakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The location is perfect,the hotel has not a great style . The room was comfortable ,but only views of other houses very close ,so is better to keep the curtains shut.
The breakfast was not exciting with a lot of philadelphia and pre made cheeses and juices.
Kind service.

Room Tip: Maybe not at the top floor,but I'm afraid that also the other rooms have no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Rather big hotel in an older building, relatively clean, though the past occupants of our room smoked in it, which you could feel. Varied breakfast buffet included. Good location, a few minutes' walk below the castle and to the river, next to the old town. A rich and varied (German) breakfast buffet - cheeses, cold cuts, scrambled eggs, yoghurt, fruits, cake, most of the food generally good, the dining area pleasant if a bit noisy. Normal-size room with bathroom; a bit dark. The biggest nuisance was the tobacco smoke with which the room was permeated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nostramadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a comfortable stay and particularly enjoyed being right by the castle - we could even see it from our window (room 416). Although the price was a little high for a modest sized room, the location makes it worth it, also the full-sized bath was much appreciated.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, there was some noise from the floor above when people walked heavily. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nothing works in this hotel. You are thrown off the internet every two minutes. If you call the desk, nobody ansewrs (four tries in 15 minutes and 100 rings). Never go to this hotel if you have any choice. When I finally got someone at the desk (i had to get dressed and go there, pound on the door and wait 10 minutes, the only answers were: yes there is something wrongs & what do you expect, I am alone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tubingen hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Tubingen
Ibis Styles Tubingen
#1 of 18 in Tubingen
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Am Schloss
Hotel Am Schloss
#4 of 18 in Tubingen
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Tuebingen
Hotel Krone Tuebingen
#2 of 18 in Tubingen
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Domizil Tubingen
Domizil Tubingen
#8 of 18 in Tubingen
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#3 of 18 in Tubingen
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meteora
Meteora
#9 of 18 in Tubingen
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospiz Tubingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospiz Tubingen

Address: Neckarhalde 2, 72070 Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Tubingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tubingen
Price Range: $118 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hospiz Tubingen 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hospiz Tubingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing