We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hospiz Tubingen
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tubingen
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel Hospiz offers a really perfect location in the heart of Tübingen. It is just steps away from the marktplatz, and a short uphill jaunt to the castle. It's an extremely walkable city, so being strategically located makes it a breeze. The hotel itself is very clean, comfortable, and offers a good breakfast buffet. I appreciated the free wireless, but unfortunately you have to log in every single time you want to use the internet, even if you just logged in moments ago and let your phone go idle. If they switched to a once-a-day log on, it would be much better.

All in all, the staff was very nice and helpful, the room was cozy and clean, and it provided a great base of operations for our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

first I must say that whenever I am in Tübingen I stay at the Hospiz. I will try out another hotel in or around Tübingen the next time, just to get some feel for the differences in this area. When you stay in the Hospiz it is like walking into a 1980s motel set: the bathrooms and the furniture are from that period but they are extremely well kept. The prices are distinctly non 1980s though. It is because many people come to Tübingen as visitors of the university and thus pay their university pays the hotel room. It is very Swabian. To give you an example: when thy give you a double room and you are alone the other bed is stripped. The breakfast is great though: typically German and all very good quality. Take a room towards the back: quieter and in the summer cooler (no aircon in German hotels). The location is perfect: next to the castle in the old part of town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_Dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is just in the middle of everything in the old town. The rooms are renovated, clean and big enough. The breakfast buffet is OK, but there is nothing special to offer. WiFi is doing well also in the rooms and it is free.

They park your car and it costs about 9 euros per day. That is really nice, because the parking is really limited in the old town.

The hotel is a little bit pricy (as the other hotels as well in the old town) compared to the common price level in Germany.

Overall it is just OK, but not a special experience as a hotel. The Tübingen old town itself is very nice and the worth of visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Protravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Friendly and comfortable, but that 's all. It is placed in the center of the Old Town.it is not expensive nor cheap, although it seems to be the cheapest in the area. The breakfast could be a lot better, it's rather poor and the dining area is small and a bit uncomfortable. I did not experience any troubles with the internet (free).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilhelm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at Hotel Hospiz in Tübingen. It is located in the historical centre, just 50 meters away from Market Square with its magnificient town hall. Tübingen is a very well preserved German town with lots of ancient buildings, including a castle and a church with a wonderful late Gothic vault. It is also a traditional university town which makes it quite lively (at least during the lecture term). Much superior to the somewhat overrated Heidelberg, IMO.

There is a very limited number of hotels in the historical centre. If you want to fully immerse into unique the atmosphere of the old town, this is where you want to stay. Of the central hotels, I like Hospiz best, because of its great location, its good service, and (by Tübingen standards) acceptable pricing.

The interior is light and friendly, rooms have a good size (by European standards), free WLAN is included. They offer valet parking for an additional fee. Strongly recommended, if you have a car, as there are NO public parking places at all in the centre.

The staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are spotlessly clean. Breakfast is not outstanding, but fully adequate. Small extra wishes are no problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights for a work trip. Location was perfection and breakfasts were great. Rooms were a bit tired, with minimal furnishings and clangy window grating/closing, but the staff were friendly and helpful. There was great variety in the rooms and some were much nicer than others..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night in early January, based on reading other Trip Advisor reviews which turned out to be accurate. In short, the hotel is perfectly located, the staff friendly, and the rooms clean. In particular, the breakfast buffet (included with our room rate) was outstanding: breads, cheeses, meats, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, etc. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandGtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tubingen hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Am Schloss
Hotel Am Schloss
#4 of 18 in Tubingen
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Tubingen
Ibis Styles Tubingen
#2 of 18 in Tubingen
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Tuebingen
Hotel Krone Tuebingen
#1 of 18 in Tubingen
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#3 of 18 in Tubingen
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Domizil Tubingen
Domizil Tubingen
#8 of 18 in Tubingen
147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Sand
Hotel Garni Sand
#10 of 18 in Tubingen
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospiz Tubingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospiz Tubingen

Address: Neckarhalde 2, 72070 Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Tubingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tubingen
Price Range: $45 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hospiz Tubingen 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hospiz Tubingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing