We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice mexican food in Tubingen”
Review of El Chico

El Chico
Ranked #117 of 180 Restaurants in Tubingen
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice mexican food in Tubingen”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The restaurant is located by the Neckar river offering a wonderful view. The food was nice and service was also good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dreamgirl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    36
    29
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't come to Germany for Mexican food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Burritos were bland and themargaritas were mostly ice, lime, and water. Waitstaff unattentive and atmosphere loud.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguillara Sabazia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The nice position and atmosphere is not everything”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've seen many time this restaurant walking in Tuebingen, and it was always full, so i decided to try it. The place is huge and the kitchen is open, i leked it. We took a mix entree for one person in two and we finished it suffering for all that fat and all the sauces. I mean, they should suggest to take something less. I think quality is better than quantity, and the prices are very high. But, if you like the "fast food" version of the mexican cook this is the place for you!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VincenzoSor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go for the drinks and skip the food”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Tortillas and corn don't make something Mexican, and the food lacks flavor. However, the drinks are good and the drink specials can be great. Go for the view of the river, enjoy a few drinks, and eat elsewhere.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Corazon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Change of pace”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

It was a nice change of pace then eating traditional Germany food. The food was okay, our waitress was very friendly, and spoke very good english, again university student. Great atmosphere! We sat inside the restaurant, much quieter compared to sitting on the terrace where everyone smoke.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chico also viewed

Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Kirchentellinsfurt, Baden-Wurttemberg
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to El Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing