We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Restaurant Mauganeschtle
Ranked #6 of 179 Restaurants in Tubingen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thanks to the fellow Trip Advisor Contributors my wife and I decided to try this restaurant. I am not at all in favour of choosing hotel restaurants, it's rare to find a good one. So here's one of those rare ones. The one item that tells you its a hotel restaurant is the decor which appears more suitable for the breakfast serving. But the food and service here are both very good. Being newbies to Tubingen we just had to have the local suggestions, "Maultaschen" is unique to this area - consider a large ravioli, and it's certainly worth trying. Combined with a local red wine, this makes a good combination. Then their desserts !!!
Definitely worth visiting for a Swabian experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GarryPy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    57
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great intro Swabian fare”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had supper here on a couple of occasions during a stay in Tübingen. Both times We ordered Maultaschen, which the restaurant is famous for, and it was amazing. Other local dishes are also offered with a nice selections of wines by the glass. Lovely fresh salad, and interesting desserts. Service very acceptable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpikeNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food, but be hungry!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Large portions and delicous food will bring us back to this charming spot. Nice outdoor terrace is the perfect spot for an outdoor meal. Not fancy, just good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkipperDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem Near Schloss”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is a small restaurant in the Hotel am Schloss, on the road leading to Schloss Hohentuebingen (now part of the University). It will take a bit of a climb to get there from the central marketpace, as Tuebingen is quite hilly. It is worth it. We found the place almost by accident as we were walking up to the Schloss, but noted a sign that they served regional (Swabian) food, which we wanted to try. As it was late summer, wild mushrooms were on the menu. My wife got a large salad topped with chicken and wild mushrooms, while I had Maultaschen, a Swabian speciality that is like a large ravioli, with mushroom sauce. Both were excellent. The restaurant has a small dining room and a larger outside area on a kind of balcony that overlooks the town. We actually were seated at both--it was raining when we arrived, but the rain quickly stopped and our waitress asked us if we wanted to sit outside, which we did, as the day was warm and, like most German restaurants, this local was not air-conditioned. Service was excellent and very friendly. We would most certainly return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kgilbert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Mauganeschtle also viewed

Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Restaurant Mauganeschtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing