We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crispy and Tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Im Truben

Im Truben
Cuisines: German, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Crispy and Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had never heard of flammenkuchen but decided to give it a go. Andre's sister helped us find a seat outside and was so cheerful and helpful. We tried the Classic---bacon and onion. The thinness and crispness of the fresh crust was very good--especially with the Rose from a vineyard in Hagnau--just a few km away. Soon Andre joined us and what a delightful evening we enjoyed!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SueDen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Holy flammkuchen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We're not wine enthusiasts. We saw reviews about the flatbreads here and decided we had to try them - it was our first night in Meersburg and we had not gotten the lay of the land down yet, so it took us a while to find it, but boy, what a payoff!

I did order wine, and it was very good. I think it was a local label, but I'm not sure. The woman helping us at the bar was extremely nice and friendly, but spoke limited English and my German is terrible on a good day, but we made it work well enough to get food and wine on the table!

The owner popped in and was so nice, just really welcoming and friendly. He made it a point to talk to every single guest in his establishment.

Please visit this charming wine bar that is also a local dive and order a couple flammkuchen - if you sit in the bar area, you can watch it being made, ultra-fresh right in front of you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
360 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“The BEST flammenkuchen in town!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a cozy little wine bar. The flammenkuchen menu is truly different, what variety. We had the Seranoschinken Tomaten. (which was Serrano ham, tomato, zucchini, with scallion) AWESOME! The owner Andre was a great guy and fun to talk to. Sit inside or out and enjoy a local wine or cocktail. Very popular with locals and visitors. This place is a 10 all the way.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sirena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must visit in Meersburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Adorable cozy wine cellar bar with the super yummy flat-bread. Large wine and beer selection and a friendly owner that makes you feel like family. The intent was to have an appetizer and a few drinks before dinner but the flat-bread was so filling that we had no room for a meal after. I recommend this place to anyone who finds themselves in Meersburg. Cheers!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AskAWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Meersburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We visited Im Truben for the first time on our visit to Lake Constance last weekend. It is a wonderful wine bar and wine shop, popular among both locals and visitors. The owner, Andre, is very kind and welcoming. He recommended several local wines, all of which were outstanding, and we also enjoyed his homemade schnapps. His flammkuchen is absolutely delicious (We had the traditional ham & onion and also the salmon & leek)! He runs a very impressive one-man-show - he's the chef, bartender, server, and wine connoisseur. My only regret is that we didn't discover Im Truben until our last night in Meersburg. I can't wait to return one day. Highly recommend -- cute & homey atmosphere, great wine, and very nice people!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Im Truben also viewed

Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg
Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg
Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg
Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Im Truben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing