We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
17
11
6
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
11
6
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 39 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Unfortunately our stay at this hotel fell far short of our expectations in terms of value for money. At the price we paid (150 Euros per night) we expected more. Our room was small and out-dated; carpeted desk leg, lime green paint on wood-work, carpeted balcony, old furniture. Basic amenities were missing from the room including ironing facilities, tea-making facilities and safe. The walls were so thin that we could hear everything discussed in the corridor and adjacent room. We were woken at 8am by hotel staff hoovering. The breakfast was poor and not replenished regularly enough. On a positive note the staff were friendly, the location was great, parking available, nice views and the hotel was clean. Sadly this did not make up for the quality which certainly do not justify a four star rating in my opinion. Very disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel; certainly not younger couples or families.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcole197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This charming hotel is definitely not 'Off" in the English sense of the word! It is nicely located away from the tourist throng in Meersburg and close to a handy little harbour for people who come by boat from Switzerland across the Lake of Constance (Bodensee). It has everything you want from a Hotel except one - a room available for when we want to come back next July! Breakfast on the balcony watching the boats go by is total relaxation. Escape the stress of modern life here. The food is good, the rooms are good, the location is good, the staff are good, so Hotel Off, how about building an extension?

Room Tip: A room on the front is worth a bit exta
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1000000Rosscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed here only one night with the wife, kids, and Grandma (in a separate room). GPS got us right to the door, but you have to be lucky to find parking. Dragging the bags to our room was going to be a chore, until the staff showed me the elevator and how to go through their garage to the street (didn’t offer to help with the bags though…). Our room was small, but nice. Bathrooms are tiny, but large enough to get the job done. Only a little TV in each room, but that’s ok, we didn’t come to watch TV. Beds were one of the most comfortable on our trip, but the wife hated the feather pillows. We only had a view of the vineyards out the back window though. Grandma’s room on the other hand, while being even smaller had a little balcony and a wonderful view of Bodensee. I had an inkling that the restaurant was good, judging by the number of locals that dined there (which explained the parking difficulties). The dining area is nice and very open, with half of it al fresco overlooking the lake. The food was excellent; though late in the season their spargle (Germany’s famous white asparagus) was delicious, and you couldn’t ask for fresher or tastier fish. Grandma sampled some of the local wine and pronounced it more than adequate; I stuck with a local helles bier…mmm! Breakfast was the same German buffet style as all the others, but the brochen was still warm, and I had a chance to sample some local cheeses. Let’s face it, Bondensee is a tourist area, so there’s really no such thing as unspoiled charm out there (are you kidding me? A zeppelin flying by every day?). However, even with the crowds we thought Meersburg one of the high-points of our vacation. Sure, walking up the hill toward the schloss is a workout, but the view from up there was worth it. If we ever find ourselves going to Bodensee again, we’ll definitely use See Hotel Off again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psycher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

An interesting hotel, just besides the lake Constance. Walking to the center takes up to 10 minutes. The room faces the lake, and the visual was great. However the bathroom is a bit small, but has a difference: the floor was heated!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferrazalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

Bodensee has never reached the top of the “must-sees” of European travel by most Americans and that’s too bad. A very popular location for Germans, it’s a well respected wine area, surrounded by miles of fruit orchards and beautiful old towns with many cultural treasures.
Returning for our second visit, Seehotel (lake hotel) Off – Off is the family name, is a small, traditional German hotel with some quirky notes, but much going for it. We requested a lake view double and got a clean, small room with an attached sun porch and a huge outdoor terrace overlooking the lake. Potted palms and flowering window boxes and hedges separated the space from the room next door. Large padded deck loungers and tables are a perfect place to enjoy a glass of local wine – stocked in the room mini bar. The weather was perfect in late September when we were there so the terrace was a huge attraction. (Look for the Zeppelin on its daily flights in good weather.)
The hotel dates back many years – photos of the evolution are displayed throughout the hotel. As business evolved rooms and additions and terraces were added so it looks like the whole thing my someday slide off the grape-vined back hill into the lake – buts that’s some of the charm of the place.
Located at the end of the street – just a yacht club is beyond it, the hotel faces the quiet lake promenade. A short walk towards town is the Meersburg Spa – a great swimming, relaxation, sauna, complex.
The restaurant – presided over by Mr. Off, features fresh Bodensee fish in a number of variations and many other traditional and new cooking styles using local ingredients. We tried an Asian styled dish with a little spice in the sauce – something rare in Germany, as well as a steak with chili-chocolate sauce (much better than it sounds) and both were excellent. Dining is never rushed, elegant without being stuffy. There is a large outdoor terrace as well as a lake-facing dining room. There was also a strong cake and coffee business in the afternoon, popular with many lakeside walkers.
If you are looking for something away from some of the touristy areas, with the focus on the lake and the land - this might be it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt12123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews