We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Hotel zum Schiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel zum Schiff
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Good location at the side of the lake . Very helpful receptionist . Good bathroom but found the room itself on the small side . we were at the back of the hotel and as it was very warm had the window open unfortunately the staff use the area under the window for their break and were kept awake by the noise . It is not a budget hotel so was surprised to notice holes in the sheets but to be fair the sheets were clean as was the rest of the room .Good evening meal and breakfast

Room Tip: Try for a room looking over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thesuzukithree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

We were located on an upper floor with the view of the lake. We left the window open each night to listen to the water lapping along the edge (it was a windy few days). The room was spacious and clean. We enjoyed that the hotel was along the main street and we were able to walk every where. We also took the boat over to the island. The breakfast in the morning was eggs, cheese, fruits, and yogurt. The only thing that was inconvenient was having to pay an additional fee for parking and making sure we told the front desk when we needed to have the car. It was a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teachr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Meersburg is a very picturesque place with lovely shops and cafés to try. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff efficient and helpful. The very best thing however is the ever changing views from the window. Views of ferry boats, speedboats, sailboats; ducks, swans and even zeppelin airships. The breakfast was ok apart from the coffee, which was undrinkable!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrummieLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 2 nights over 6 months ago and booked a suite. When we arrived we were told the room had a problem with the bathroom and it would be fixed by the next day. We thought nothing of this until we were put in a much lower class room. When we asked if we could look at the suite, we were told we couldn't until 11am the next day. This raised our suspicions and we asked them if there really was a problem with the bathroom or was it that they overbooked the room. Still they insisted it was a bathroom issue until finally the girl caved and admitted they had given it to someone else. What made it worse was that they then offered to move us to a renovated room (less than the suite but much nicer than the crappy room they put me, my husband and 2 year old in). If they had just been honest from the beginning and offered us the renovated but smaller room we would have been ok but the lying and then putting us in the worst possible room really ruined the experience. On top of it all, the renovated room was so hot that it was oppressive and neither us or our 2 year old could sleep. This was even with the fan on that they provided us. That is saying alot given we are from Australia and used to the heat.

In any event, we cut our 2 night stay short and only stayed the 1 night.

To give some positives, the views from the room were spectacular and the breakfast staff were friendly and breakfast was ample and delicious. Once we called them out in their lie, they were trying to do right by us and gave us a discounted rate which was appreciated. If only they had been honest from the beginning!

All in all, it is very expensive for what it is and I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Nice comfortable hotel for fair price. Well situated on the waterfront. Easy wander around the area and convenient to main points in Meersburg. Parking at nearby ferry area from 8pm to 8 am free. Otherwise you can leave your car keys with hotel and park in small area.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Day_DreamerSCandOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here with our family of 5--they gave us a baby bed and we stayed in a suite where the couch folded out for the kids. The location of the hotel is amazing--right on the water front, and our room had a windowed in balcony on it so we could sit outside and enjoy the stars. The breakfast the next morning was terrific! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCTravelers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a great time in Meersburg and this hotel was definitely a part of it. It is very good for a three star hotel. Make sure to book a lake view room to get the most of it.

The only negative thing I can say is that there is no AC and like in most German hotels the bedding is thicker than what I have in Sweden in the winter. So either you get toasted or you have to sleep in only the sheet. Some summer beddings would have been nice.

Otherwise breakfast was good and the service was good. We were even allowed to check in early in a German hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pellevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meersburg (Bodensee) hotels
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Residenz am See
Romantik Hotel Residenz am See
#1 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Seeschau am Bodensee
Hotel Villa Seeschau am Bodensee
#7 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 3 Stuben
Hotel Restaurant 3 Stuben
#6 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Buchberg
Hotel Buchberg
#12 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weinstube Lowen
Weinstube Lowen
#5 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Schiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Schiff

Address: Bismarckplatz 5, 88709 Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Meersburg (Bodensee)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Meersburg (Bodensee)
Price Range: $107 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel zum Schiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel zum Schiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing