We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel zum Schiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel zum Schiff
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I went to Meersburg purely out of curiosity and almost by throwing a dart in a map of southern Germany, Wow, were we impressed. Across Lake Konstanz by ferry, this small town is just a delight and the Hotel Zum Schiff made it all the better. It is located right on the lake with great views all around of the lake and the in and outgoing ferries. Quiet, clean, good size room (ask for a room with the lake view) with good bathroom and perfectly located in the town to see everything. Very helpful and friendly front desk staff and they even supplied us with an electrical adapter. The breakfast that as included with our rate was first class, and very, very enjoyable and included all the yummy European fare that will give you the energy to walk the town and surrounding area. Walk down to the car ferry departs (2 minutes from the hotel) and stand there and take some pictures of the amazing. We left my wife's watch in the room safe when we left and didn't realize it until we returned to the states. With much hope, I emailed the manager and sure enough they found it still in the safe and mailed it back to us at a very small charge.
I highly recommend this hotel and Meersburg in general

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room (only 3 floors though I think) overlooking the lake for an amzing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HooverBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    66
    16
    13
    4
See reviews for
26
85
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved our room overlooking the Bodensee. It was so nice, we were happy to stay indoors and look at the lake when the weather wasn't great for exploring. The town itself has some interesting things to see, but also a lot of rather trashy tourist stores. There are a lot of restaurants to choose from, so we didn't eat at the hotel. Parking was in a nearby lot (you can drive up to the front door of the hotel to unload, check in and get a pass for parking) which was fine. Wi-fi service was slow, but free.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was surprised to see a poor review at about the same time that we stayed here. We spent the night on May 14, 2013. We were staying at another "Flair" hotel about 30 miles away but they did not have room for us for another night so we decided on Meersburg. The staff could not be nicer, and Bridget at reception was especially wonderful and helpful to us, patient with the language barrier and spoke English perfectly, and was particularly helpful with the parking situation since we had to leave early in the morning to return our rental car in Stuttgart. She could not have been more helpful. Our room faced out to Lake Constance and was clean and had everything we needed. We did not eat in the restaurant, but instead had snacks at the bar. The service was great and we had no problems whatsoever. We wished we could have stayed for breakfast! This hotel was in a perfect location, walking distance to everything, and was one of the best stays during our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trempy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Meersburg is an idyllic place and, since we wanted to have a special room with direct view on the lake, we went for the Hotel zum Schiff which is right on the lake.
Unfortunately too many things went wrong. Let's see what together:

RECEPTION
Not particularly friendly but that was the lesser evil of the story.

ROOM
We thought for once we splash out on a suite. The suite cost us 170 Euro per night and comes with an enclosed balcony. There is a not-very-well-working and not-very-easy-to-open-and-close sliding door between the room itself and the balcony. The problem is that all 3 suites share the same enclosed balcony and management had this fantastic idea to put some partition walls between the balcony sections. Pity that the partition walls only cover part of the wall and you have two good 20cm gaps at the top and bottom. Result? Instead of enjoying our privacy we were exposed to the embarrassing noises of neighbours having sex, followed by the same neighbours smoking, which, if you ask me, is far too much to put up in any place, let alone if you pay a nice amount to stay in a suite.

INTERNET
Don't bother! They charge you 8 Euros per day. For what? For waiting, waiting and waiting for a signal that just does not appear. And this any time of the day.

BREAKFAST
Day one: the hotel is invaded by elderly guests from an organised tour. After queuing a bit we try to sit by the window. The table is still dirty with used items from a previous guest. A waitress (we saw two, this was the younger) arrives and kind of removes the dirty mugs. Then - attention here - she does not remove the clearly dirty paper mat, she just puts clean mugs on it. Hello! Never heard about hygiene? (We should send the hotel inspector...) So I wait until she finishes, then I go to another free table, get some clean mats (I hope those ones were clean, guys!) and replace the dirty ones myself. The breakfast buffet is messy with food scattered a bit all over. I have a quick look at the scrambled eggs and decide that they do not look fresh enough to me.
Day two: We decide to have breakfast very early to avoid all those guests from the organised tours which we think are still around. Indeed we are the very first guests to have breakfast. And surprise!! Since the previous day nobody has bothered cleaning the breakfast buffet. The same food scattered in the very same place, the same sad, cold and disgusting scrambled eggs sitting in precisely the same position as the day before (and probably the day before as well). Absolutely disgusting.

CHECK OUT
Here I think, someone will ask me whether I enjoyed my stay and I will share with this person my opinion. But no, nobody cares! No one will ask you anything! Your feedback is not sought after.

Well then dear fellow travellers, I am so glad that we have Trip Advisor!

Room Tip: Avoid the suites which are a waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Little-Fruit-Bat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here in a new suite on a trip back to UK fom Italy. Very modern decoration, very clean with fantastic lake views. Breakfast every thing you could wish for. We ate both nights in restaurant and found the food to be good and great service from waitress/waiter. One thing that would make it perfect would be coffee making facilities in the room. Meersburg is a lovely town, well worth a visit. Ideal base for ferry trips to other towns on the lake.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

So, I literally Googled "best towns in Germany" and saw people talking about Meersburg -- never heard of it before, but was planning a driving trip through Southern Germany, Austria and Switzerland -- and decided to stay two days at the Hotel Zum Schiff.

I'll just sum it up and say that Meersburg was the hightlight of our two-week trip. Our room, a suite, was spectacular: almost completely new and modern with gorgeous furnishings, tech gadgets, spectacular bath, flat-screen TV, and a huge enclosed balcony overlooking the Bodensee. The breakfast was great (not amazing, but very good, with extra points for the luxe dining room overlooking the lake).

All I can say is, "Visit Meersburg!" What an amazing medieval town! The cutest little storybook town - the kind of place I LOVE to visit when I'm in Europe. Hilly streets, half-timbered buildings, adorable shops, inviting restaurants, and of course the spooky, ancient castle atop the hill that we explored, just about the only ones there... such an adventure!

We absolutely loved it here, and were so happy at the Hotel Sum Schiff. Great staff, great amenties, great views, great location.... just an excellent experience all-around.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite - these rooms are huge, new, and spectacularly appointed! Absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagotripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessel-Lo
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked one of the suites, great value for money, great views from the room on the bodensee, very nice and spacious private terrace. Food in the restaurant is ok, nothing more, but again a great view. Excelently located on the lakeside walk. Very good service, private parking in hotel (necessary in meersburg). Great place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickKessel_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meersburg (Bodensee) hotels
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Residenz am See
Romantik Hotel Residenz am See
#2 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 3 Stuben
Hotel Restaurant 3 Stuben
#6 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Seeschau am Bodensee
Hotel Villa Seeschau am Bodensee
#5 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#9 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Buchberg
Hotel Buchberg
#13 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seepromenade
Seepromenade
#8 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Schiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Schiff

Property: Hotel zum Schiff
Address: Bismarckplatz 5, 88709 Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Meersburg (Bodensee)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Meersburg (Bodensee)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel zum Schiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel zum Schiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing