We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for one night”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Weil am Rhein
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is abeam a shopping center and 1min away from Rhein River (walking distance). A few nice restaurants are also located around the hotel. From Basel City you have to take once a tram and a bus. The bus stop is across the street. The breakfast was great. Fresh eggs, joghurts, juice, bred, toast and much more. A taxi costs you 25.- Euro from the hotel to the airport. If you take a taxi from the airport, it will cost you 50.- Euro!!!
The room I had smells (cigarette smoke) and it was very old. Looks like an old 1.5 bedroom appartment equipped with a citchen. The room was more or less clean. Unfortunately I was not able to change the room, because the hotel was completely booked...
The staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: I can recommend a stay in this hotel, but make sure you get a nice room..! The Maximilian and the Ho...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eathealthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maximilian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 94 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stopped here while driving from Switzerland to northern Germany. The hotel is actually part of a rather sizeable shopping centre which meant plenty of parking and a lot of restaurant choices. We had a family room that was enormous, with a kitchenette.Our kids loved having space to run around the room and the gummi bears on the beds were a big hit. The hotel is a bit hard to find from inside the shopping center, and it seems like the different floors are a bit of a maze, with it not being quite possible to get to the hotel or the floor of your room from certain lifts.

The parking lot lifts are terribly slow and inefficient, with only a call button, so when the lift stops it could be going up or down, but get in and press your floor anyway, as another won't be coming for quite some time.

Room Tip: The family room was very big, not much view, but excellent for a couple and 2 children.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNTNiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We selpt at this hotel for 1 night because we had an early flight from Basel airport. The girls at the reception were very friendly and made us packaged breakfast for our early checkout. the room was cosy and nicely furnished.

Room Tip: The rooms are in different floors and not always easy to find.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Because I travel a lot to Weil am Rhein for a business, I had the pleasure to "test" most of hotels in the city. Unfortunately Hotel Maximilian was the worst one there. Room quality corresponds to the price category, unfortunately blankets are too short so I couldn't sleep well because of the cold. Also breakfast was below average - very limited selection without any fruits or vegetable.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank ilvios_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

friendly priced hotel for a stay just before/after Swiss border. Nothing bad and nothing very good. Beds, bathroom, TV, breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Free parking in parking garage of shopping center. Strange location, with strange atmosphere and not easy to find. Good alternative to expensive poor service Ott's hotel where I also stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We ended up here in the middle of the night on our way to Switzerland as we had problems with the access codes for another (cheap) hotel we booked. They were very helpfull and even did give as good rate despite we had no alterantive. Nice breakfast and good service, big clean rooms, but we did miss an airco as it was rather hot that night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVCBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We visited this hotel when travelling to Italy. It has spacious rooms, friendly staff and an ok breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weil am Rhein
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dreilanderbrucke
Hotel Dreilanderbrucke
#3 of 12 in Weil am Rhein
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Basel/Weil am Rhein
B&B Hotel Basel/Weil am Rhein
#4 of 12 in Weil am Rhein
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carathotel Basel
Carathotel Basel
#2 of 12 in Weil am Rhein
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Go2Bed
Hotel Go2Bed
#1 of 12 in Weil am Rhein
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ott's Hotel Leopoldshohe
Ott's Hotel Leopoldshohe
#5 of 12 in Weil am Rhein
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Villa K Basel Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Address: Hauptstr. 435, 79576 Weil am Rhein, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Weil am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Weil am Rhein
Price Range: $71 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maximilian 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing