We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Alte Post
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wangen
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Classy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed 2 nights B&B. They didn't offer dinner unless, apparently, you booked half board from the outset. Not a big deal, as there are lots of resaurants nearby (we ate at the Mohren Post - 5*).

Receptionist was very helpful leading the way to the parking garage which is a couple of streets away (note - the garage can't really accommodate vehicles higher than the average car). There's free overnight parking in front of the hotel - 5 or 6 spaces 8pm-9am.

Room was good and spacious, with a separate seating area, big comfy bed, big bathroom with shower over bath. Very fast wi-fi (11mb / 1 mb) included. Got a good night's sleep, though the church bells kicked off around 7am (maybe unusual - this was Whitsun).

Good breakfast - big selection of rolls, cheeses, hams plus eggs.

Wangen is a lovely old town - I took an hour or so before breakfast each morning to wander round and take photos before it became busy.

I'd recommend the Alte Post, and would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarsach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
12
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is classic style for the area and speaks of an earlier time. It is very comfortable and charming. The room was large and the beds very cozy. The breakfast was excellent and they made us a take away lunch that was delicious. The hotel fits nicely into the center of the village, an easy walk to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
200 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I needed a 1 nite stop driving from Austria to France and selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. We had a large corner room and very nicely remodeled and large bathroom. The décor was very bright shades of orange but we quickly got used to it! Breakfast was delicious and for 5euros, quite a steal. The staff was very helpful with parking and actually carrying our bags up 2 flights of stairs. We enjoyed the town and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I traveled here for work and our group was supposed to stay here for a week. After day one, we moved to Lindau which is WELL worth the 20 minute drive. While the staff at Alte Poste was very friendly and helpful, the hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. Everything about it is old - the building, the decor, the beds, the showers, everything. The walls are paper thin and sleeping well here is probably not going to happen. I would recommend to find another place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpartyGirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2005

old and tired, thats the hotel not me9i,m just tired). We stumbled upon this fantastic village around 7pm travelling south from Northern Germany to the Italian lakes. What a relief when we got off the autobahn again but this time fell in to a village that time forgot, truely a must if you are passing. Unfortunately time also forgot to update the hotel, yes I am use to a 4 or 5 star, when this is not much more than a b&b, but yes it was spotlessly clean just dated, my wife hated the room I travel a lot more on business around Europe so it did not shock me. breakfast was basic but who cares for 77euros inclusive, we did in a strange way enjoy it, but mailny again because of location location location. by the way if you plan to be out after 10pm they lock up and give you a key to the front door.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oberwirt
Hotel Oberwirt
#5 of 11 in Wangen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
4.5 mi away
Landhotel Mohren
Landhotel Mohren
#4 of 11 in Wangen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mohren Post
Hotel Mohren Post
#8 of 11 in Wangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
JUFA Hotel Wangen - Sport-Resort
72.7 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant die Linde
6.0 mi away
Hotel Waldsee
Hotel Waldsee
#1 of 4 in Lindenberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Alte Post

Property: Romantik Hotel Alte Post
Address: Postplatz 2, 88239 Wangen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Wangen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wangen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantik Hotel Alte Post 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Romantik Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing