We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location outside of Schloss”

Schwetzinger Brauhaus zum Ritter
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Schwetzingen
Price range: $7 - $38
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Brew Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Without description
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great location outside of Schloss”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

On a prime corner on a broad boulevard just opposite the Schwetzingen Schloss, this restaurant offers a very comfortable outside dining experience on a on a large outdoor cafe. Food was good and beer excellent. You can linger and relax in a peaceful setting. They brew their own highly rated beer. Can't miss!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Perry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    113
    42
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good traditional food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Service was indifferent to say the least.
We sat down outside for lunch ,waited patiently for a waiter,fifteen minutes passed then a waiter noticed us came over took our order then came back five minutes later to ask what we ordered as he did not write it down and had forgotten it!
Our drinks arrived shortly after and our food arrived pretty quickly
It was well presented,a good portion size,
The in attentive waiter averted eye contact at every opportunity whilst we sat patiently waiting to settle the bill ,a couple close by said this waiter in particular was rude and really seemed to not want to be or wait on anyone .
after ten minutes I stood up and called a waiter over from ten tables away and said we want to pay now plea bring our bill over now
Our bill came over straight away
This may well not be the normal standard of service that's offered but we will not visit again despite staying locally annually

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Syracusey2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital Region
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beer, delicious food and friendly/ attentive service”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We came here to eat after a wonderful 3 hour visit with family to Schloss Schwetzingen. We were 2 grandparents, 2 parents, and 5 (precious) grandchildren - 9 hungry travelers. It was a bit breezy outside, so we went inside to be seated - we were in-between the lunch and dinner times with only a few other couples. In short order, we assisted the staff with putting tables together for a family dinner. Grandpa & I were visiting and couldn't wait for REAL German dark beer - it was everything the resident family had said it was. The wait staff were wonderful with the children, providing them with small coloring books. The food was delicious, hot and prepared exactly as requested. We agree with the other review about the potato salad and the Texas Burger, and my veal was extraordinary. Desserts all around, pictures, with an impromptu history about the restaurant and the brewery operation completed our German eating experience. If there was a higher rating for anything, we would give it to the staff. We understand it was a quiet time period, but we were given the feeling that we had been invited into their home to share our family meal with them. Two family groups went visiting the resident family members at other times in the past year, and each family group enjoyed the same great food, beer and service. They are a true example of the historical European innkeepers whose philosophy underscores "old world elegance and service " to visitors.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
312 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“So-so food, world-class beer: Prost!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stumbled on this place more or less by chance after visiting the gardens of Schloss Schwetzingen. The locals told me that this restaurant happens to be one of the well-known breweries in this area including the famous city of Heidelberg, so the expectations were set high.

While the service on the pavement was effective, the food was less than satisfactory. The herring (Matjesfilets nach Hausfrauen-Art) was full of bones with a rancid sauce and burnt potatoes. The local 'pizza' (Flammkuchen) was OK, but rather salty. Much better was the Apfelstrudel that we had for dessert.

In contrast with the average food, the beer, both the blond (Heller Ritter) as well as the dark beer (Schwarzer Ritter) were very tasty with a long aftertaste. Definitely one of the best beers I know and a reference for the time being.

In a word: Prost!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Venneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Solid German food, great draft beer”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Went to Zum Ritter twice while in Heidelberg for 3 days. Good solid German food, but great beer! Had the draft dunkle (dark) beer and the pils...both were excellent. the Potato salad was delicious and sitting outside on a beautiful summer evening was a wonderful way to complete my stay!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bongomoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwetzinger Brauhaus zum Ritter also viewed

Schwetzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Schwetzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Schwetzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Schwetzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Schwetzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Schwetzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Schwetzinger Brauhaus zum Ritter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing