We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very classic castle”

Schwetzingen Castle (Schloss)
Book In Advance
More Info
$224.48*
and up
Heidelberg and Schwetzingen Castles Day Trip from Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“very classic castle”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a very classic German castle, but the star attraction are the extensive gardens. I recommend taking the guided tour, really quite informative. We were there in January, so didn't get the full effect, but still great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrainDoc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    108
    10
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
384 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Nice Palace, but the Gardens are Amazing!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

With my group we first toured the inside of the palace. We did have an English speaking guide (from England actually) so that was helpful to our group. Despite the fact that they tell you not to bring a camera into the palace because you are not allowed to take pictures (in fact you must lock up all your purses, cameras, etc. in one of their lockers), do still bring your smart phone or a small pocket camera with you as the guide suggested that we take pictures of the gardens through the palace windows. Regretfully both my camera and phone were locked up. While this summer palace is impressive, it is the gardens that steal the show at this attraction. They are quite breath-taking, and immense. I would allow a couple of hours just to see all the gardens if you can. We also ate lunch on the outside terrace, and the service and food were both good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Castle is there but go to see the gardens!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Tour of the castle is worth the price...but the combined ticket castle and garden is the way to go. Miles and miles of paths much symmetrically laid out "fake" roman ruins, mosque, and many statues. Got to the bath house...now that is a bath tub. Also must see the end of the world tunnel. Very beautiful and relaxing. Go early to enjoy the gardens and see as much as you can. Better to eat at one of the restaurants outside the gate - less expensive and very good

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KUNTZCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Gardens”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The gardens are extensive and very beautiful. You have the formal gardens with fountains, large lakes with Koi carp, ducks and swans and so special features such as the Mosque and its gardens, the bath house and the Roman tower. To see it all you need at least 2-3 hours, but longer would be better. It is certainly comparable, if not better that the gardens at Hampton Court or Versailles.

The gardens can be visited at any time independently, but to go inside the Schloss you need to be part of an organised tour.

There is a formal restaurant in one wing of the Schloss (accessible from the gardens) and a cafe for refreshments by the main entrance, but outside the Schloss, around the big square, there are numerous traditional German restaurants and bars.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Paul_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You have to see it to believe it”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a mini Versailles and the while the actual building is impressive the gardens are what impress you. Everything is meticulously maintained with glorious paths of trees and hedges all symmetrically laid out. Very beautiful and hard to explain the sense of peace you feel as you stroll the gardens. You don't want to rush this experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwetzingen Castle (Schloss) also viewed

 
Schwetzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Schwetzingen Castle (Schloss)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing