We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what it is”
Review of Hotel Reppert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Reppert
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Hinterzarten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We went to Hotel Reppert mainly because of their Spa which seemed great on their website.

Once we got there however, we were very disappointed: First of all the Spa has the atmosphere of a public swimming pool and certainly not of a luxurious place to relax (e.g. old plastic curtains, cold looking white tile floors, cheap furniture) . The entire hotel was probably designed 20 years ago and nothing has been done since. The water in most pools was so cold that people weren't using them at all. Some parts of the facility were broken or didn't work the way they should have. Some things which they advertised, like under water music, weren't even there, the staff had never heard about it.

Our room was spacious and much nicer than the spa. However , the ceiling lamp was hanging loosely, cables were coming out of other parts of the ceiling and some lights had neon light bulbs in them (romantic, I know!). Here as well, everything (including the towels) seemed to be pretty old.

On the positive side, the staff were really friendly and the food was excellent. Overall however, the hotel does by no means justify the prices they are charging and the hotel's advertisements are extremely misleading.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WLSMKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2009

We have booked this hotel mainly because of the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. We wanted to have a short spa-vacation, and didn't want to drive far. So blackwood forest seemed to be the best choice.
To tell the truth, we were pretty disappointed with the hotel. Generally, we got what we wanted, but I won't recommend this hotel to a friend, and we definitely won't stay there another time. That were the small things, that were sometimes annoying, and definitely not expected from family run 4 star hotel.
Some examples: the room was huge, actually there were two rooms, so probably very suitable for family with children. However, the room was just very functional, no personal touch at all. Not what I expect from a family run hotel in black wood forest. The same with the bathroom, it was definitely new renovated, everything was new and clean, but just bold and cold. No bathroom amenities, just a bigger bottle of liquid soap, like in 2 star airport hotels. Not a flower or something. The terrace was lovely however.
Breakfast: not really plentyful and not really healthy, and, very surprising, almost no regional products, which you can expect in this area. We only once got some blackforest ham for breakfast. Mostly you had eggs, but nor freshly made, just some cooked eggs and scrambled eggs made from the egg concentrate. Some fatty sausage, one sort of sliced cheese and the cheese plate, which was obviosly left from dinner the day before. Juices all ready-made, no freshly pressed, the same with jogurt. No fish. The only good thing was bread, which was always very fresh and tasty.
The dinner however was pretty good. Food not very inventive but good cooked and fresh.
The service: unequal. Some days we hade nice service, very freindly and quick. Some days, absolutely not appropriate. One example. I wanted to have a lunch snack on the hotel terrace, since it was a lovely day. The terrace was pretty occupied, no service lady in sight. After I was sitting for 15 minutes altready, the waitress came. I have ordered my drink, assuming I'll get it first, and some snack to eat. After another 20 minutes(I actually wanted to leave already) the lady came with my meal, but no drink. Since she had some other plates to carry I thought, the drinks were coming next. Well, I have finished my meal, still no drink. After the lady came to clean the table I have asked about my drink. She boldly answered she had forgotten it, and if I still want to have it. No word of excuse or something of the kind. And I was definitely not the only person experiencing such a service. I have seen another couple who has already finished their cake before the coffee came. Another day my husband has ordered a cocktail, which they had on a menu. But it seemed, that was really something special, since we had to wait for 20 minutes in an empty bar, till we got the drinks and the staff seemed somehow embarassed. Generally, we had an impression, this hotel is more suitable for older people ( most of the guests were on the 70th age range).
The only good thing about the hotel was the spa. Some rooms a little bit worn out, and not always very clean, but the treatments and facials were really nice. The spa staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My Wife and I have enjoyed many summer holidays in the Bayern part of Germany and it was with some trepidation that we set out to try another area for our holiday this year, namely the 'Swartzwald'. We need not have worried. The Hotel is situated in a small and very pleasant town with every facility and the surrounding countrside made for excellant walking, which is our main interest. It is of medium size and we have to say, it is one of the nicest Hotels that we have stayed in. The Owners and their Staff were most welcoming, the room was both spacious and well furnished and indeed, most comfortable and clean. The Restaurant was excellant with great care taken to cater for every taste. The leisure facilities were excellant and we enjoyed them immensely. One aspect that we really appreciated was the peace and quiet of our room. We also very much appreciated the friendly greetings of the other residents, of many Nationalities. For anyone who is stressed out in this mad, mad world, the Reppert must be a haven where a week or so of being cosseted, without ostentation, will bring a complete recovery. Our Thanks to the Family Reppert for a most wonderful holiday. We shall return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bartiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed 5 nights in August 2008. Lovely room. Very good food. Excellent friendly staff. Leisure facilities are very good. Nice informal atmosphere. Resident owners make sure everything runs well. A great base for a walking holiday or just for relaxation in friendly luxury.
We shall try to visit often now that we have found this lovely base in the Black Forest.
Anne and John, Cambridge UK

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Anne_John22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

My wife and I stayed here Jan 2000, a halfway point between visiting all the remaining relatives in Ebingen and Inzlingen. Service and food were first class. Massage relieved all stress accumulated during the drive. Stayed 4 nights and we were sad to leave. Their spa facilities were excellent. Management and staff without fault. We loved the different pools and steam room.
I am not a big fan of venison, but I had it here and have to say that I am a convert. I will return here that next time I am traveling through.

  • Stayed: January 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exschwarzwalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

My friend and I stayed in June in this lovely hotel-situated in the very heart of the cosy village of Hinterzarten. A colleague told us from this wonderful area and the Reppert. We stayed 6 nights and it was the longest stay of our tour through 4 european countries. Service was outstanding as well as the gourmet food. Even there is no à la carte dining we had a really nice choice of differnet maincourses, hors d'oeuvres soups and desserts every evening. Everything is freshly prepared.Lunch is poosible also, we had it every day in the pool area. The Reppert Spa is one of the finest ever seen.:three pools , including open air and even a real salt water pool, as well as two jacuzzis, 5 different steam-rooms and saunas roman or oriental style, and a choice of treatments one cannot immagine. From Lomi Lomi to aboriginal dream massage to Pantai Luar and the real ancient Thai Massage an many other oriental treatments as well as the beauty Parlour with the usual fare of facials and peelings but also Ayurveda and Thalasso as its best. The Sportsmassag of Mrs Rudigier was world class, never expected in the Black Forest. The hotel is family owned and run by the same family since more than 70 years. The quality of everyithing was really top. One day we had a very nice tour with Thomas Reppert to the
Kaiserstuhl area. We tasted wine and Thomas prepared lunch
picknick style in the middle of the vinards. This was great. Next year we will return to the Reppert.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Coolgloby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Das Zimmer 44 hat uns sehr gefallen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jürg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinterzarten
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Adler
Parkhotel Adler
#1 of 16 in Hinterzarten
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thomahof
Hotel Thomahof
#5 of 16 in Hinterzarten
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kesslermuehle
Hotel Kesslermuehle
#4 of 16 in Hinterzarten
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen
1.6 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#3 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reppert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reppert

Address: Adlerweg 21-23, 79856 Hinterzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hinterzarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hinterzarten
#3 Spa Hotel in Hinterzarten
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hinterzarten
Price Range: $325 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reppert 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Reppert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reppert Hotel Hinterzarten
Hotel Reppert Hinterzarten, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing