We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderbar”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hinterzarten
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hinterzarten
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wunderbar”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our 3rd visit in as many years to this fabulous hotel...my previous reviews say everything and I'm glad that nothing as changed.
I would like to comment on a few days out we had in our car....The Rhine Falls, just over the border in Switzerland at Schaffhausen and about 90minutes from Hinterzarten, this was our first visit and is clearly signposted, what a fantastic sight, don't miss out on seeing this fantastic sight of nature, I'd give it 10 out of 10.
When you stay at this hotel you are given a guest card which enables free travel on trains and buses in the Black Forest region....we decided to have a day out at Baden Baden. To get there you need to catch the train to Freiburg then jump on a train to Offenburg, you change here for the train to Baden Baden, when you arrive at the station a bus will be outside no;201 or similar that will take you to the centrum of the city, its all free with your guest card, enjoy because it is a wonderful place to visit. You need to leave the hotel fairly early to enjoy plenty of time to look around.
Fancy a trip to Europa Park, a bit like Alton Towers. Take the train to Freiburg, then jump on a train to Offenburg, but jump off at Ringsheim, a bus will be waiting at the station to take you to the Park...enjoy your day, but once again leave the hotel fairly early.
If you need anymore info about the area or the hotel then please get in touch with me.
We shall be returning to this brilliant hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisGranthamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    23
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
120
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I can not praise this hotel enough, it was the best hotel we have ever stayed in and I have told all my family and friends about it. The management and the staff were exceptional. We celebrated our wedding anniversary there and we could not have found a better place. So any Brits visiting the Black Forest I can recommend this hotel whole heartily.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kc58LeedsYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the Schwarzwald at this spa hotel. During the day, we walked through the forest, took a day trip to the waterfall in Triberg and explored the cuckoo clock town. When we returned from our excursions, we immediately headed for the spa, swimming pool, sauna and hot tub. Afterwards, we feasted on a daily gourmet dinner at the outstanding hotel restaurant. Be certain to ask the sommelier to recommend one of the local wines from Baden. We plan to return in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our second trip to this hotel and I must say the attention to every little detail is faultless.
We just love this hotel and the owners and staff are always on hand to look after you.
The guest card given to you on arrival lets you travel on the local trains and buses for free, so you could have a day trip on the train to Basil in Switzerland or go north to Baden Baden.
At the time of leaving the owners were just finishing off installing an outdoor swimming pool which looked fantastic.
So to conclude...this hotel is a must for a break in the Black Forest region of Germany.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisGranthamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

If you want to spoil yourself while on a black forest holiday go no further than a few nights stay in this hotel. The rooms are huge, the service impeccable, great view, everything is there as you would need it including mud room for your ski gear or walking gear in summer. Take advantage of the half board where your breakfast is full compliment and dinner is 5 courses. The somalier will spoil you with a choice of wines to compliment your meals. Just fantastic. Music in the lounge after dinner. The spa is truly exquisite.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank only1kadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

As a splurge during our recent holiday to Germany, we decided to book this room for 3 nights (half board) and were amazed at the comforts provided. From the personal steam/sauna in the bathroom area, to the little sun patio off the bedroom, we felt very pampered. We were just steps away from the indoor pool and spa area of the hotel, which we used every afternoon as well. It was heavenly after busy days of touring. These spa rooms are on the very lower level though--- which is ground level at the back of the property--- so there is less privacy and view than the upper level balcony rooms might offer, if you are choosing with that consideration in mind.

The Bergfried Hotel is just outside of the busiest part of Hinterzarten, but is still part of the town, which means parking is at a premium, though its position is perfect for walks to the nearby hills, into town, or the train station. The design of the hotel with the pool and spa area in the lowest level, and the main floor of the hotel being slightly below ground level, makes full use of the available footage and every floor feels very spacious. There is a casual, but elegant, feel to the entire hotel and it hits a perfect note for the Black Forest location.

Dining tables were assigned according to the room number, and we enjoyed the cheery colour combinations of yellow and red throughout the dining room. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive with a wide array of cheeses, meats, yogurts, cereal, juices and fruits, and a personal cooked breakfast was available too if desired. Staff and owners alike were always very busy refreshing platters and pitchers, and making sure everything was spotless in the buffet area.

Choosing your dinner menu at breakfast from 3 different combinations was interesting, and we were always extremely pleased with the appetizers, soups, entrees and desserts. Assortments of Italian and French cheeses (respective of the menu themes) were comprehensive and interesting. The wine list, and the sommelier's advice, were excellent, and we enjoyed interesting Baden wines during our stay. Service was attentive and knowledgeable, and everyone was very patient with those of us who were English speaking guests---I believe we were the only ones during our stay.

As mentioned, most of the guests were over 50 years of age, and Hotel Bergfried is a very quiet property. For us this was perfect, and the location was great for exploring---- to Lake Titisee, Sankt Blasien, the waterfall near Todtnau, Freiburg for the marketplace and cathedral, and for the wonderful drive between Sankt Peter, Sankt Margen and Hinterzarten. Gorgeous countryside and forest! A wonderful hotel from which to enjoy them all.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very friendly, the owners seem to have a lot of involvement and are very active in hotel throughout the day. Check in was excellent, bags taken, fizzy local wine on the bar balcony. Room was good, very clean, comfortable with a nice balcony. English spoken but other than evening menu not written in hotel, we may have missed out on things in hotel guide. All inclusive price, perhaps a little expensive but a good 5 course meal in all. Breakfast good, eggs cooked to order. Spa area was large and quiet so could relax, enjoyed a sun bathe in the garden afterwards. Hinterzarte nice, a small place but with soe good little places to eat and drink. Took a walk to Lake Tittisee which was a good place to visit. Overall a nice hotel, very much had the feel that it was aimed at the older, German market however. For the price would perhaps choose somewhere different if doing it again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bristolkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinterzarten
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Adler
Parkhotel Adler
#1 of 16 in Hinterzarten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reppert
Hotel Reppert
#3 of 16 in Hinterzarten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thomahof
Hotel Thomahof
#7 of 16 in Hinterzarten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schwarzwaldhof
Hotel Schwarzwaldhof
#5 of 16 in Hinterzarten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.1 mi away
Treschers Schwarzwald Romantik Hotel
Treschers Schwarzwald Romantik H...
#2 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kesslermuehle
Hotel Kesslermuehle
#4 of 16 in Hinterzarten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel

Property: Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel
Address: Sickinger Strasse 28, 79856 Hinterzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hinterzarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hinterzarten
#2 Spa Hotel in Hinterzarten
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hinterzarten
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Hinterzarten
Hotel Class:4 star — Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel Hinterzarten, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing