We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly but quality falls short of the price”
Review of Parkhotel Adler

Parkhotel Adler
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Hinterzarten
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $63
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Under the roof of the historical Black Forest building that dates back to 1639 you find the 2 restaurants belonging to the 5-star Boutique-Resort Parkhotel Adler. This beautiful hideaway is run by the same family since 1446 and belongs to the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". The rustic "Wirthus" which is opened daily as by midday offers a selection of typical local dishes The elegant fine dining restaurant "Marie Antoinette", opened daily as by 6 p.m.you are offers delicious refined dishes based on the Black Forest cuisine, seasonal menus and creative culinary highlights influenced by the nearby Swiss and French kitchen.
East Lothian, UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very friendly but quality falls short of the price”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by the waiting staff in the hotel's Wirtshus who had provided us with a really nice table.

A tiny glass of Kir Royale set us back €14 each although the wines by the glass were quite reasonably priced at €7-8 per 250ml.

The food was served promptly and with great courtesy. The quality was certainly reasonable but, given the premium on prices charged in the remainder of Hinterzarten, it should really be exceptional.

You are unlikely to be served a poor meal here but, on the other hand, you might still leave a bit disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JJfromtheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    25
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
taormina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“arrogance”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is newly rennovated. Nice room, verry nice bathroom. Top spa. Good beds. No balcony. Good breakfast.

The food in the restaurant is overpriced. So is the wine. One day (Ruhetag) the food was below the level of a 5* hotel. We made a complaint on a friendly way. By not toutching the starter (gummy frozen fish). That was not even noticed!

When we left the hotel, nobody asked us wheter we liked our stay. Strange, for a memeber of Small luxury Hotels of the World. Back home, we sent a mail. As expected, it was not answered.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank irisenkiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
326 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice patio and opulent food!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It's a mid-class restaurant, but as such it has a really nice menue - one can enjoy the typical south-german food with lots of meat and Spätzle or like :-) We LOVED it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“its a "small" leading hotel of the world. Grand classand great standards”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

part of the hotel list in the Mercedes Benz European delivery program.
Restaurants (2) are high class
rooms 5 stars
parking, fitness... you name it
their own park with deers!!!
Hotel George V in the black forest

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AKAMUKEKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely food, nice experience but at a price.”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We enjoyed our meal and thought the food was good quality and well prepared. The service was friendly but lacking a little knowledge about the food and wines.
The food was served with no explanation (but maybe this was to do with problems around translation) we asked for plain tap water and in the end were charged 8 euros for a bottle of water. The absence of a sommelier was very apparent and the 'matched wine package' was not matched to the food at all - the waitress tried to serve us a late harvest reisling with our cheese course - we ended up with an inappropriate red. The cheese course was disappointing with only soft cheeses, including one blue, one sheep and one goat cheese.
Nice food but missing some of the touches you would expect for a 100 euro per person meal.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basilbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkhotel Adler also viewed

Hinterzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Hinterzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg
Hinterzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Hinterzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg
Hinterzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Parkhotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing