We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funny pillows” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ochsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ochsen
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Funny pillows”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Pillow were large square and very soft. Harder pillows are available from reception. Very pretty hotel with interesting history. Happy hour from 6pm to 7pm each evening in delightful cellar bar. Food at dinner was rather unexciting but was perfectly adequate and pleasant. Breakfast was usual continental self service. Hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from railway station with trains to Strasburg and Black Forest.
We travelled with Treyn Rail, Unfortunately the organisation and service of this company left much to be desired but was redeemed slightly by the choice of this hotel and it's pleasant staff.

Room Tip: We were given a 'family' room (1 double +1 single) at front of hotel. Fellow guests complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    39
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
29
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were staying in Strasbourg and were craving German food. Could not find a German restaurant in Strasbourg. So we drove just 20 minutes to Kehl-Kork and found Hotel Restaurant Ochsen. The atmosphere was quite charming and along with the delicious beer, food, and service... made for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahoe1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed as part of Crusader tour. Hotel particularly appeals to tour groups as it is so convenient for German border and Strasbourg. Was allocated single room at rear of annexe across road. Unfortunately this faced the church clock tower which struck very loudly every 15 minutes through the night and prevented sleep on first and second night, after which I was too tired to notice! Other rooms in annexe and hotel are not affected by this and I was just unlucky. Good sized bedroom with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, spotlessly clean. Bathroom very cramped. Towels rather thin but changed regularly. Food basic but OK. Continental breakfast (cheese, cold meats etc.) plus boiled eggs. Substantial and tasty three-course dinners. Family run hotel and all staff very friendly and helpful. Armin, the proprietor, multi-tasks as chef and entertainer and is a real character. The Filipino barmaid, who has been there 11 years, is also a great asset as she smiles the whole time and is very cheery with everyone. Some dancing on our last night and a great deal of fellowship and fun. Village is not large but sports a supermarket and 2/3 bars and restaurants. Enjoyed the trip and the stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the rear rooms in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkipperP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just returned from a festive break visiting the Christmas markets of the Black Forest and stopping at the Hotel Ochesn in Kork - and what a delight and wonderful experience we have had. We travelled with Treyn Rail Holidays using the Eurostar and what a fabulous company they are - so efficient. Everything is organised in advance for you together with a Courier who comes with you on the trip. The hotel was very homely and welcoming being all decorated up for the christmas period. The staff excellent with nothing too much trouble. The rooms however being a little on the small side were however very snug and extremely clean. Food - well we have never eaten so much. Seconds were always offered on each course and the variety exceptional and first class.
Our excursions included a visit to Freiburg where we visited our first christmas market and Gengenback again for another christmas market together with the opening of the Advent calendar at the Town Hall. Our favourite however was Strasbourg and what an experience to delight both the eyes and the nose. It is without doubt one of the best markets we have ever been to (and we have been to a lot over the years) The decorations were out of this world on the outside of all the buildings and shops illuminating them all with such a variety while all the stalls twinkled with fairy lights. This together with the smell of gluhwein really gave it the wonderful seasonal atmosphere of christmas that everyone should experience. Altogether there were 6 markets in Strasbourg and we did 5 so I think we did pretty well. On our day trip to Titisee we were all overjoyed to encounter snow - lots of it. In fact it made our holiday perfect having a trip round the lake in a horse-drawn carriage was magical. We sang christmas songs and carols all the way round.
So if you want to give yourself a pre-christmas treat in the coming years do go on this holiday with Treyn. It will really put you in the TRUE christmas spirit mood. Its very good value for money all round and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antiguawantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel whilst visiting the Christmas Markets in the area. The hotel is charming and full of character. I had booked a twin room but upon arrival we were offered 2 single rooms next to each other, which worked very well. My room was a little on the snug side but was wonderfully comfortable and very clean. My daughter's room was larger with a spacious bathroom. Food was plentiful if a little basic, we had no complaints. The service really made this holiday - from our coach driver Ronnie (he is so funny) to the host Armin who is a great muti-tasker! and not forgetting Precious who is possibly the most lovely barmaid I have ever met. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 122 is a large single on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betsybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I too have only just returned from a three night stay at the hotel. The hotel owner Armin is so friendly. As others have already said, he is so entertaining, a natural. I laughed so much along with everyone else... If he gave up the hotel, he would easily outshine 99% of all the comedians and double acts on television.
The free bar was more than plentiful. There were no half measures, watered down beer, or cheap imitations. It's all the real McCoy. As fast as you drink your last drop, the staff are round to replace it. Precious the bar maid is absolutely wonderful. So helpful and the total life and soul of any party. What a complete little gem she is.
As others have said. The rooms are basic, but clean. The beds are lovely and comfortable. Food is freshly cooked and there are always three courses. For the price we paid, and the service, food, and drink we received, I don't think anyone could ever complain. It's not the Ritz, but then , would you ever have such wonderful personal caring service like you get here ( plus a free bar) ????
NO. You wouldn't. So I would recommend this 100% and I for one will be returning next year, along with 5 others for definate !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel, & have to say it has been one of the most memorable hotel stays ever. The owner & host Armin, is one in a million. He is the cook, bingo caller, magician & musician/singer. He is absolutely hilarious. I would defy anyone saying that they didn't enjoy their stay at this hotel. The food may be basic, but it is freshly prepared & plentiful. The rooms are basic too, and not the biggest, but they are clean & comfortable & have everything you need. The staff are very helpful & pleasant, especially the barmaid, Precious. She always has a smile & warm welcome. It really is a great place to stay, and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kehl hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grieshabers Rebstock
0.1 mi away
Hotel Landgasthof Schwanen
2.9 mi away
Ates Hotel Garni
Ates Hotel Garni
#4 of 14 in Kehl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Europa
Europa
#5 of 14 in Kehl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#6 of 14 in Kehl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#11 of 14 in Kehl
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ochsen

Property: Hotel Ochsen
Address: Zirkelstrasse 33 | Kork, 77694 Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Kehl
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family rum historic half timbered hotel with cosy atmosphere. All rooms with shower/toilet/Tv/Tel/safe/hairdryer/wifi. Restaurant, cellar pub, beer garden, heated pool and sauna from Easter til end October (little supplement price) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ochsen Hotel Kork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing