We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most memorable hotel stay ever!”
Review of Hotel Ochsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ochsen
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The most memorable hotel stay ever!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel, & have to say it has been one of the most memorable hotel stays ever. The owner & host Armin, is one in a million. He is the cook, bingo caller, magician & musician/singer. He is absolutely hilarious. I would defy anyone saying that they didn't enjoy their stay at this hotel. The food may be basic, but it is freshly prepared & plentiful. The rooms are basic too, and not the biggest, but they are clean & comfortable & have everything you need. The staff are very helpful & pleasant, especially the barmaid, Precious. She always has a smile & warm welcome. It really is a great place to stay, and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    41
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
31
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
london uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

What a lovely hotel with an amazing owner. Very friendly staff room was good size meals were awsome , cannot fault. travelled in November so Nightime spent in Beer Keller. Bingo was the funniest entertainment ever.

Room Tip: Ask for room over the Beer Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

i've recently returned from a most enjoyable 5 day tour of the Black Forest based at this superb hotel. My compact single room contained a comfy bed and decent bathroom space although no tea/coffe making facilities, (as is norm on much of the Continent). Breakfast was typically Continental with choices of cerials, fresh fruit salad and bread rolls with a selection of cold meats, cheeses and jams. The evening meals were delicious and plentiful with 'seconds' being offered (and enthusiastically accepted). The owner, Armin, is a friendly, rather eccentric person, (really enjoyed his 'take' on bingo which yours truly won!) whilst Filipino barmaid Precious was so wonderful and helpful. This was my first trip with Crusader and I was suitably impressed. We had a diverse bunch of around 26 on this tour who were great fun to be with and also so caring, (I have a few problems with mobility, toes amputated through diabetes). I must also mention our driver, Ronnie who was so informative and helpful but with a dry and very funmny sense of humour). I have no hesitation in recommending the Ochsen and also Crusader Holidays and would certainly like to return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PaddersCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Just had a lovely 4 night stay with Crusader Holidays. Our second visit to the Ochsen Hotel. The food was once again simple but stunning. The room was small but adequate. The staff were delightful. Many thanks especially to Precious, and to Christine for making the stay very special. True the road is a bit noisy at times - but is there anywhere quiet within 10 k of Strasbourg, or London, or any metropolitan city ? Probably not

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxkutzcab, Yucatan, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely hotel in a pretty village. Good plentiful tasty food. All the staff were friendly, helpful, well organised. Room was small but cosy and very clean. The highlight was Mein Host Armin's Extreme Bingo. Gosh ! we laughed !

Ideal place to stay if touring Black Forest & beautiful Alsace region.
Lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here,food excellent,Precious the bar maid briliant,made the nights so much fun.
Only down side,room a little on the small size.No where to put luggage a shelf over the foot end of the single beds would be a great advantage.
Entertainment wonderful a really good few days,would definately come here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BreconEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Enjoyed our late-September break. Loved our room, even though the bathroom was extremely 'compact' - a little more space to move in there would have been welcome.
Staff were friendly and helpful - the owner especially.
Breakfast was good and plentiful and evening meals tasty, well-cooked and very generously portioned.
We had none of the fly problems mentioned in other reviews, possibly due this being later in the holiday season.
We would love to go there again, but have too many other places on our wish-to-visit list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witchat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kehl hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Landgasthof Schwanen
2.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grieshabers Rebstock
2.9 mi away
Ates Hotel Garni
Ates Hotel Garni
#4 of 14 in Kehl
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#5 of 14 in Kehl
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Krone Odelshofen Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#11 of 14 in Kehl
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ochsen

Property: Hotel Ochsen
Address: Zirkelstr. 33 | Kork, 77694 Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Kehl
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family rum historic half timbered hotel with cosy atmosphere. All rooms with shower/toilet/Tv/Tel/safe/hairdryer/wifi. Restaurant, cellar pub, beer garden, heated pool and sauna from Easter til end October (little supplement price) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ochsen Hotel Kork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing