We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oct 14th 2012 with Crusader/Motts coach tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ochsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ochsen
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Certificate of Excellence
Oxkutzcab, Yucatan, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oct 14th 2012 with Crusader/Motts coach tour”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely hotel in a pretty village. Good plentiful tasty food. All the staff were friendly, helpful, well organised. Room was small but cosy and very clean. The highlight was Mein Host Armin's Extreme Bingo. Gosh ! we laughed !

Ideal place to stay if touring Black Forest & beautiful Alsace region.
Lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    39
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
30
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
brecon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here,food excellent,Precious the bar maid briliant,made the nights so much fun.
Only down side,room a little on the small size.No where to put luggage a shelf over the foot end of the single beds would be a great advantage.
Entertainment wonderful a really good few days,would definately come here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BreconEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Enjoyed our late-September break. Loved our room, even though the bathroom was extremely 'compact' - a little more space to move in there would have been welcome.
Staff were friendly and helpful - the owner especially.
Breakfast was good and plentiful and evening meals tasty, well-cooked and very generously portioned.
We had none of the fly problems mentioned in other reviews, possibly due this being later in the holiday season.
We would love to go there again, but have too many other places on our wish-to-visit list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witchat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I cannot believe some of the negative reviews here. We found the Hotel to be really great and full of character - not a soulless 'box' like so many modern hotels!

The flies ARE a problem, and we all got bitten badly, but this is a feature of the area, NOT the hotel. - Just take the right repellant with you!

The staff were really nice and very helpful. - Armin himself could do no more to help us. He is a very jolly, amusing 'larger than life' character, who really made us feel at home.

The great courtyard was ideal for drinks after the meals - and at very good prices compared to many places we have stayed at.

The meals were also very good. True, they were 'set meals' but alternatives were offered to people who did not like them. IMHO they were great value for the price paid!!! - and the food was plentiful - they were bringing round more of the meat to everyone that wanted more (despite there being loads to begin with!)

I read the comment about the chicken soup being made with the remains of the chicken being boiled up in the water. (quote 'I kid you not') - Surely this is how real chicken soup is made???? It does not have to come out of cans! On our stay it was VERY tasty!

One of our party did comment that her room was small (a single room) BUT we can only comment on the 2 rooms that our family had - these were of a good size and were spotless.

The 'en-suite' facilities were also fine - they were a little small and we had the wash basin in the bedroom itself, but this is a very old and historic building - built well before 'en suites'! They have done well to do what they have.

There is also a new swimming pool and sauna at the back. We did not have time to sample its deliights (I prefered the bar!) but people were having a great time in the pool - which has a sliding covered section so it can be used in all weathers

Overall a very nice stay as a base for the Black Forest and/or Strasborg. We will certainly stay again if in the area. (but will remember to bring the fly repellant this time!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank uplandswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Both my husband and I stayed at this hotel on a Crusader coach holidays August 2012. Room was large enough, clean and typically furnished. The bathroom was on of the smallest bathrooms I have ever seen in my life...more like a cupboard, no room to fully stand in the shower...and you had to step out of the bathroom to get to the toilet as the sink was in the way !!!
On the first night we were awoken by drunken youths shouting "wake up Englander" !!!!!....we hadn't noticed the mosquito's at this stage as we were so tired after a 19 hour journey to get there!! However, the noise continued through the night and the noise of boy racers and heavy traffic continued throughout our stay. Breakfast came and went, nothing to write home about. Returned to the hotel..tired after a full on day. Dinner was ok but served in the school dinners style.
Oh...the bar outside in the courtyard was always full of flies...I dont mean one or two flies, I'm talking HUNDREDS of Flies ALL the time..so much so, that to even think about having a beer there, you needed a beer mat to cover your drink !!!! and we were constantly swatting them. The staff seemd to think that this was normal and did nothing about it !
On the third night there....I heard the mosquitos...we were already covered in small red bumps . I saw them on the celing of our room....I killed 30 that night and 40 the next.
On the Friday, we left the hotel with far more than bad memories. My husband had been bitten over 100 times and I had been bitted over 200 times. To say that we were both ill was an understatement !!! we have been back now for just over a week and we are still both suffering...the bites are still visable and itchy.
AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Please do not stay at this hotel...there are no "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoannaL-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. Miniscule bedrooms, tho' exceptionally clean. Food was very uninteresting and unimaginative, but there were huge helpings, if that's what you want.
Armin's entertainment was hilarious - the best bit of the stay. The girl called Precious in the beer keller was lovely - friendly and helpful.
Wouldn't got to the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reydon, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst visiting the area. Armin (not sure if that's how he spelt his name), the Host was brilliant. He was obliging in every way & extremely amusing & very, very talented. He deserves to do well as his energy for running the business never ceased to amaze me, & when I found out that he'd got "A Tropical Paradise" in his back yard so that I could have a swim, I was gobsmacked! Hotel was very clean & staff (especially Prista?) the lady running the bar downstairs were all great. Room was a bit small & we could of done with a fan, but on the whole a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask how big it is!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kehl
0.1 mi away
Hotel Landgasthof Schwanen
2.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grieshabers Rebstock
2.9 mi away
Ates Hotel Garni
Ates Hotel Garni
#4 of 14 in Kehl
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#6 of 14 in Kehl
48 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Ritter Durbach
Hotel Ritter Durbach
#1 of 4 in Durbach
470 reviews
2.6 mi away
Europa
Europa
#5 of 14 in Kehl
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ochsen

Property: Hotel Ochsen
Address: Zirkelstrasse 33 | Kork, 77694 Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Kehl
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family rum historic half timbered hotel with cosy atmosphere. All rooms with shower/toilet/Tv/Tel/safe/hairdryer/wifi. Restaurant, cellar pub, beer garden, heated pool and sauna from Easter til end October (little supplement price) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ochsen Hotel Kork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing