We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crusader trip to Black Forest”
Review of Hotel Ochsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ochsen
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Certificate of Excellence
Reydon, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crusader trip to Black Forest”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst visiting the area. Armin (not sure if that's how he spelt his name), the Host was brilliant. He was obliging in every way & extremely amusing & very, very talented. He deserves to do well as his energy for running the business never ceased to amaze me, & when I found out that he'd got "A Tropical Paradise" in his back yard so that I could have a swim, I was gobsmacked! Hotel was very clean & staff (especially Prista?) the lady running the bar downstairs were all great. Room was a bit small & we could of done with a fan, but on the whole a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask how big it is!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    40
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
31
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Sorry it is late with this review we visited Hotel Ochsen in November last year everything about the hotel was excellent, the food was great and very plentiful the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only down side is with the outside area and all the flies,but I will still go back soon

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golden027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have just returned from my 4th New Year visit to this hotel in the last 9 years and have already booked for next year! Armin and his staff are EXCELLENT and always ready to help. You are treated as friends rather than guests and the New Year's Eve festivities are not to be missed............ The 7 course meal is AMAZING!
Armin has a wonderful sense of humour and his Bingo calling is "unique"!!! His staff are all very friendly and make you feel at home.
Kevin runs the "Cellar Bar" and is always smiling. (This is a photograph of me with Kevin, taken the night before I left). "Hello Kevin.............See you in December"!

Pat

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My grand daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip here with Travelsphere.

We were made most welcome and the fact that we did not eat pork was no problem. In fact the food was plentiful and we were pressed with stolen, mince pies and biscuits all home made. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72yroldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The stay in this hotel was wonderful. Our party of sixteen enjoyed it, the host and the staff were brilliant. The visit was organised by Crusader Holidays regrettably it was one of the last holidays they were to put on as they have now gone into administration. But never the less the food was good and the entertainment on the Saturday night by the owner complete with his Chef's outfit made the evening, we enjoyed good beer and dancing, a great time was had by all. We would love to go back again and would recommend a stay there to anybody. Thank you to all the staff at the Hotel Ochsen.

Room Tip: Our room was Brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This hotel was part of a package organised by Welch's Travel in Doncaster/Upton in the middle of November 2011 The package was all inclusive including drinks from 6.00pm until 11.00pm. The quality of the beer and drinks is first class (none of your cheap beer stuff). The owners are very helpful and fortunately for us there was a German wedding reception booked in over the weekend. The two nights of partying did wondners for the Anglo/German relations. The food is plain cooking, a meat, a veg, and chips but there is plenty of it. The soups we had for starters were excellent and obviously home made. If you are lucky the owner wil entertain you with a disco, a sing-a-long or a special kind of bingo I have never played before of since. (Think of Les Dawson playing the piano and you will have some kind of idea) I have never laughed for so long, so hard, on so much free beer. The rooms are small but it is an old building so that is to be expected. They are clean and comfortable although the toilet area is a little narrow. We are definately going back next year for a long weekend in the hope that our experience is repeated.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaz0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary8
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights with Travelsphere and loved every minute. The staff and the Hotel Owner make the Hotel stay a real experience.
We had a family room as there were three of us and this consisted of a main bedroom and an adjoining room . We had loads of space and the room was lovely. I remembered to take a travel kettle so we could have a cuppa in the morning.
The food was lovely , we had paid for the inclusive evening meal and the staff worked hard to serve us altogether in one group with big smiles and were so helpful.
My daughter every evening paid 2 euros to connect to the Hotel wi-fi so she could keep in contact with her friends on her notebook.
In the evneing we sat in the Courtyard drinking bier and schnapps ! Watch out for the mossies tho !
If you stay here you must play 'Euro Million' Bingo hosted by the Hotel Owner ...have never laughed so much in my life !

A great family run hotel in a pretty little town.
Can't speak more highly of our tour manager MC and our driver Russell , they could not have been more helpful or informative.

Room Tip: Remember to take a travel kettle , european hotels do not provide them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cary8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kehl
0.1 mi away
Hotel Landgasthof Schwanen
2.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grieshabers Rebstock
0.7 mi away
Krone Odelshofen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ates Hotel Garni
Ates Hotel Garni
#4 of 14 in Kehl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#5 of 14 in Kehl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Ritter Durbach
Hotel Ritter Durbach
#1 of 4 in Durbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ochsen

Property: Hotel Ochsen
Address: Zirkelstr. 33 | Kork, 77694 Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Kehl
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family rum historic half timbered hotel with cosy atmosphere. All rooms with shower/toilet/Tv/Tel/safe/hairdryer/wifi. Restaurant, cellar pub, beer garden, heated pool and sauna from Easter til end October (little supplement price) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ochsen Hotel Kork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing