We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More then expected”
Review of Hotel Hirsch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hirsch
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Orillia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“More then expected”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

After a long drive from Tuscany(Italy) we arrived in Kehl-Kork a small town near Strasbourg and Offenburg. A very pleasant surprise indeed. Fast check in, friendly service and a "Parrot".....
The hotel has a few "out" buildings located within minutes walking distance and these as well as the other accommodations were surprisingly new, clean and comfortable. The 2 part dining room served great food and drinks, service was superb. Breakfast was served between 6.30 and 10.00 am and was also plentiful incl. boiled eggs. The hotel has wireless internet, laundry service, free parking, LCD sat. TV. elevator (in the main building) Don't forget to take a walk through this charming village and the surrounding woods and visit the residence parrot (who goes home with the chef at night)
If I have any suggestion for improvement , it would be to turn the charming railway car attached to the front of the hotel from a smoking room into a bar

Room Tip: Request a romm in the main building, third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingdutchman951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
20
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here recently as part of a group. Some of the staff were lovely and others a bit brusque. No lounge as such, so evenings were spent in the restaurant. Stayed in a single room which was a bit dated and the bed a bit saggy. Managed to sleep well nevertheless, and the quiet location is a bonus. You need patience when awaiting hot water to the shower!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymru63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Gat, Israel
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is located in the village of Kork, near the local railway station, from where you can travel to Offenburg (about 15 minutes). It offers spacious comfortable rooms with clean forniture and bathroom. LOcated near the local wood where you can stretch your legs and enjoy the beautiful scenery. The service is great, with the personal being very helpful and nice. The ffod was tasty and there was plenty of it. There is no mini-bar in the rooms but this isn't a problem because there's a fridge on the reception where you can leave all of your products and get them back the moment you wish. In general, we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We are a Australian couple travelling around Europe for 6 months, staying at the Hirsch hotel for 7 days in the middle of a very hot summer in Germany.
The hotel is small and personal, this is the time to spend with the locals learning about the German culture, we were having sing-a-longs in the evenings after dinner in the restaurant and enjoying lovely food and local wines, the staff are very friendly and made us feel so welcome and at home, at least 3 staff spoke English.
The room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful balcony.
This is a ideal location for taking short drives along the Rhine and walking though the corn fields and wheat crops...hop skip and a jump and your in Strasbourg and coming home to the Hirsh hotel after a hectic day in Strasbourg is shear delight.
The only negative was no air conditioning on the very hot days, the manager went out and purchased a fan for us and we were grateful for the consideration and did make it more pleasant.
Breakfast was plentiful and replenished.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a nice quiet break in the country.
Thank you to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulinaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

very friendly staff, nice snd neat rooms, exceptional food!
Tricky location as similar hotek is very nearby so you csn get misleaded by gps and taxi may not reach you place as well. If you go there just for dinner pls try their steak.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magda0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bru
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stay at this hotel regularly and I must say the service is excellent! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food at the restaurant is superb! Ask to speak with the chef and he will explain in detail where he gets his indgredients from and how he prepares his dishes. He always ready to cater to your individual wishes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights. I was slightly disappointed with the room as it was dark and had seen better days. It was quite clean althought the table area and shelves in wardrobe were very dusty. The bed was comfortable but our window overlooked the entrance and that was quite noisy at night.
We were part of a coach tour so breakfast and dinner were in a function room. The food was edible but not very exciting.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was no lounge just two small seating areas in reception so after dinner it was difficult to find anywhere to sit and relax. There was a lovely outside area but most evenings were too chilly for sitting outside.
There is an old train/tram carriage for sitting in but smokers were allowed in there and it became suffocating in there ( small space and lots of smokers)
The village was attractive and well worth a look round.
I would like to stay there as guest travelling under own staem to compare rooms and food if not a coach party member.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youngatheartUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kehl hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grieshabers Rebstock
0.4 mi away
Hotel Landgasthof Schwanen
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#11 of 14 in Kehl
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ates Hotel Garni
Ates Hotel Garni
#4 of 14 in Kehl
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ochsen
Hotel Ochsen
#2 of 14 in Kehl
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Europa
Europa
#6 of 14 in Kehl
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirsch

Property: Hotel Hirsch
Address: Gerbereistr. 20, 77694 Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Kehl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirsch 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing