We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Landhotel zur Grenze
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Isny im Allgaeu
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Me and my boyfriend have stayed at this hotel twice, first for one night during a European road trip in Autumn 08 and we loved this place so much we returned for three days in January this year.

The setting is perfect. The hotel is surrounded by gently undulating fields (meadow in the Autumn, blanketed with snow in the Winter) and forest, and the quaint provincial town of Isny is only a ten minute walk. It half an hour to the nearest ski slopes.

The hotel is furnished and decorated to a very high standard with great attention to detail in a rustic yet sophisticated chalet style - the hotel photos do not do it justice. The hospitality given by the hotel owners George and Hannalore is far superior to any other hotel I've ever stayed at, expect to wile away an hour at the bar with a large beer/ glass of the finest wine chatting to George and eating the delicious bar snacks while Hannalore conscientiously yet unintrusively tends to your every need.

The main event comes in the evening when George cooks up a Michelin star worthy 3 course dinner for a very modest price (around £25 inc wine). Locals and natives from further afield are obviously happy to travel to spend a night dining at the hotel. Don't even consider staying here without dining.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough and can't wait to return in 2010.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SofiaDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Landhotel zur Grenze
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank st_stefan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Für einen Kurzurlaub ist die "Grenze Spezial-Pauschale" mit Gourmet-Überraschungsmenü unse...
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hoschmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Wolfgang2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
Thank Christoph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer Nummer 1 jederzeit wieder
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HKinzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres sont confortables et bien décorées.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isny im Allgaeu
9.0 mi away
Berghotel Jagerhof
Berghotel Jagerhof
#1 of 5 in Isny im Allgaeu
76 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Hohe Linde
Hotel Hohe Linde
#4 of 5 in Isny im Allgaeu
29 reviews
8.8 mi away
Allgauer Terrassenhotel
Allgauer Terrassenhotel
#3 of 5 in Isny im Allgaeu
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
JUFA Hotel Wangen - Sport-Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#4 of 4 in Lindenberg
11 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baren
Hotel Restaurant Baren
#1 of 7 in Isny im Allgaeu
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel zur Grenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel zur Grenze

Address: Schanz 2 | Maierhöfen im Allgäu, 88167 Isny im Allgaeu, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Isny im Allgaeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Isny im Allgaeu
Price Range: $136 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Landhotel zur Grenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhotel Zur Grenze Germany/Isny Im Allgaeu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing