We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and well run historical inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Klassik Hotel am Tor
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Weiden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I were booked into this lovely establishment by our business colleagues who live on the outskirts of this beautiful, small town. Although we, unfortunately, had only one day and night to stay in Weiden, we were enchanted with our accommodations and with the environs of the town. Our room at the Klassik overlooked the main town square with a view to the attractive square and the tower clock and medieval church. We just fell in love with the entire place. We so enjoyed speaking with the lovely Michaela, the receptionist at the Klassik who was so fluent in English, and we were grateful because we are so not fluent in German. The establishment was very clean and efficient. The breakfast room is wonderful, with a very generous buffet, everything that you could want on the menu. We highly recommend this establishment when in Weiden or this area of Germany.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms over the historic town square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I have visited Weiden several times and always said we wanted to stay at the Klassik Hotel am Tor. Recently we finally had the chance and we stayed for 5 nights. The location was superb. I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the old town center and the beautiful park right outside the old wall. The room was modern, roomy and kept spotlessly clean.

Breakfast is served but there is no restaurant in the hotel. However, right outside the hotel doors there are numerous places for meals.

The only problem we experienced was our ground floor room looked into an area of hotel renovation. Starting at 8 am the noise was horrendous and any chance of "sleeping in" for a bit was ruined. Still, the hotel was a great place to stay and will gladly return someday.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TLSpurling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

A charming hotel partly incorporated into an old city wall. We paid a little more for a better room on the 2nd floor with a nice window overlooking the pedestrianized altstadt, which has a number of restaurants, sweet shops and cafes with outdoor seating. The hotel has no restaurant but there is a tiny, attractive bar and outdoor tables. Our room was exceedingly comfortable and accessible with both stairs and an elevator. There is a charming breakfast room with a variety of offerings, and there is some parking. We arrived at a good time and were able to park immediately outside the front door. The people behind the desk were quite friendly and helpful.

In all our trips to Bavaria this past fall my husband, who speaks some German, called to make arrangements and to get details of the accomodations, since in these older frequently updated hotels they can vary quite a bit. Most places do have people who speak English.

It's a lovely old city center with beautiful buildings, a very pleasant place to spend a day or two relaxing..

Room Tip: If possible, call the hotel and discuss various rooms to find what might best suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed in a "single" room for one night in January. The room was a bit small for those planning on staying more that one-two nights...for me it was fine. The hotel is in the heart of the town, and the back door opens right up to the town square. There are tons of shops and restaruants all around the hotel. The breakfast was the typical European/German buffett style breakfast--very good!

The room itself was plain but clean! I was in room 50. Water pressure was good and the room was tidy. The best part of the hotel was how close it was to the town center. Price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: VERY close to the heart of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Built right into the old Tor and wall, this hotel was a joy. I suspect every room is as unusual as ours - fit into the wall with one side looking out on to the platz and the other to the other side of town. The suite had a sitting room on one level (along with the bath) and the bedroom was up a "circular" stairway in the loft. Once you got used to the sloping roof in the bedroom every thing was great. Breakfast in hotel was good. There is a small bar and sitting area out on the platz. Parking was available in front or in the parking garage across the street. Enjoyed being able to stroll the market area (car free during the day) and pick a place to eat or drink and then stroll back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandriaGrandDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Klassik Hotel am Tor was the first hotel on the GPS for local amenities and boy are we glad we found it. It was a bit pricey but then we had the suite, with hot tub, and we showed up sans reservation.

The staff were excellent and the rooms are well renovated. Breakfast was a good german feast. Weidon turned out to be a fun little town/city to explore.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I was here for two weeks on a business trip and stayed here again with my colleagues. They completely renovated the old (not nearly as old as the 13th century Tower!) floor I recently stayed on and they made some terrific improvements. The room was large, with two beds, a big desk, refrigerator and a large flat screen tv!
The staff was very friendly, providing restaurant recommendations, helpful hints, and overall very pleasant.
The breakfast is very good. If you ask, they'll make you an omelet! It's not on the menu, but it is included!
They have limited parking in front of the hotel, but parking in the nearby garage is complimentary, you just need to have the hotel validate your ticket.
Also, while internet is not included, they do offer a substantial discount on internet access through T-Mobile.
They do have a bar which is open during the evening, but no lunch or dinner, just a very expansive, and delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usaflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theigl, Owner at Klassik Hotel am Tor, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

Dear usaflyer,

thank you for your nice review!

My family, employees and I are very happy the read your positive experience throughout your last stay.

We are always and constantly doing our very best to make every guests stay as comfortable as possible. It is good to read that we have great success in doing that.

Greetings from bavaria

Thomas Heigl
with family
and employees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weiden
0.1 mi away
Altstadt Hotel Braeuwirt
0.5 mi away
Hotel Admira
Hotel Admira
#3 of 7 in Weiden
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Post
Hotel Gasthof Post
#5 of 7 in Weiden
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Zur Heimat
Hotel Zur Heimat
#4 of 7 in Weiden
38 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Burg Wernberg
Hotel Burg Wernberg
#1 of 1 in Wernberg
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadtkrug
Hotel Stadtkrug
#6 of 7 in Weiden
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klassik Hotel am Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klassik Hotel am Tor

Address: Schloerplatz 1a, 92637 Weiden, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Weiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Weiden
Price Range: $105 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Klassik Hotel am Tor 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can always expect a warm welcome! In our romantic house in the heart of the old part of town directly alongside the lower gate on the historical market place with parking spaces and without the noise of traffic. On our doorstep: Restaurants, cafes and bars. Shopping and window shopping in the pedestrian zone. Weekend market and "Max Reger" town park. Art and culture, museums and art galleries. Unique in this historical location: Managed by the owner's family. Caring, friendly staff Bavarian homely hospitality. A traditional guest house since 1567 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Klassik Hotel am Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing