We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little German restaurant!”

Ratskeller Gaststatte
Ranked #20 of 101 Restaurants in Weiden
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great little German restaurant!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had lunch here on a rainy afternoon...very cozy...great ambience and atmosphere and excellent service. The wine selection is pretty limited, but the food was great. We had an excellent goulash soup and salads.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gr8GatorGirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Good Meal, No Frills”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stopped in for dinner as the Ratskeller is right on the pedestrian mall through old town. The service was OK and the meal was good solid German food. The room is well worn but interesting. A good place to duck in for a meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bergbahnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this restaurant!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have eaten here twice and will definitely eat there again when we return to Germany. The first time was in June 2012 and enjoyed a delightful outdoor lunch. I had a pork cutlet with "wedding noodles" that were so good that I had to find some at the store to bring back to the States. My son had the goose and it was tender and succulent. My younger children cleaned their plates of sausages and french fries...and I have to say that I tasted their fries and found them to be the best I've ever tasted!

When we returned to Weiden we went directly to Ratskeller for dinner. The weather was cold but it was warm and cozy inside...very nice atmosphere. My son and daughter both had the duck, which was amazing. Remembering my son's lunch in June I ordered the goose and was not disappointed. The little children went for the sausages again.

The menu has at least a hundred choices, and they do have English language menus. The service is friendly and casual, keeping in mind that dining in Germany is never a rushed experience. German dining means lingering over your meal and enjoying great beer.

Writing this makes me want to go back there again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Huge selection”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The menu is extensive and there is an English version if you ask. My boyfriend has tried a few different dishes and said they have all been good. This is my favorite place for goulash. Yum!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Last Sunday (June 10, 2012): We were excited to find this German cuisine restaurant, the menu looked very inviting, we sat down outside and waited 45 minutes for our drinks and were told we need to wait more to be able to order, the attitude of this place was horrible. Sorry to see that:-(

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ratskeller Gaststatte also viewed

Weiden, Upper Palatinate
Weiden, Upper Palatinate
 
Weiden, Upper Palatinate
Weiden, Upper Palatinate
 

Been to Ratskeller Gaststatte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing