We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stern Hotel Soller

Stern Hotel Soller
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stern Hotel Soller to your Saves list
Stern Hotel Soller
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muenchener Str. 54, 85737 Ismaning, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Ismaning
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Located in the suburbs of Munich, this hotel is a good choice.
It's only a 30 minutes ride from downtown with the S Bahn, and close to the airport as well. The hotel is located close to the S Bahn station, about 10-15 minutes walk.
Ismaning is a clean and safe village, very quiet at night.
There are multiple choices of restaurant at walking distance. ( I would recommend the Greek restaurant)
Staff in the hotel is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nicely appointed and super clean.
The coffee lounge with free drinks, coffee and snacks is a nice touch.
Breakfast is great as well.

The only negative aspect is the internet. The reception sells "I Cloud" cards at 10 Euros for 3 hours... Ridiculously expensive for such a limited time,and actually a rip off.
The wifi did not work in my room (signal too low) so I had to go in the lounge downstairs to work. Connecting to this I cloud is also a real pain since an account creation with password, e-mail address...is needed.Very frustrating in addition to the 10 Euros!

Without the internet issue, this hotel would certainly deserve the "excellent" note.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabbagetowntoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I just needed a place to stay for the night--I flew into Munich late and would be leaving early. This place was perfect: Just a few stops down the S-8 line, perfect room, and a more-than-adequate breakfast. Since I was late they just handed me a key and wifi code and settled everything else in the morning.

Room Tip: They assigned me a no-smoking room automatically--Thanks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The staff were so helpful, friendly and extremely efficient.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and nice balconies.
Breakfast was excellent, and constantly replenished.
There is a train station within walking distance (10 mins) which goes to Munich City Centre (20 mins). Plenty of bars and restaurants in the area.
A lovely place to wind down after an exhausting day sightseeing.
I would recommend staying here and I will definitley be returning.

Room Tip: 107 (2 or 3 persons)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHappy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights in February as my wife at business in Ismaning.
It was clean , confortable and very good value.
We found the staff helpful and the breakfast very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fyshtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I had to stay in Stern Hotel Soller at unlucky situation with the stopped flights from Munchen Airport - hotel was not far from the airport and relatively cheap, it had though any great reputation as bin extremely "nice place". I am very happy to chose that one - main reason to be happy (not the only however) - is very helpful receptionist - he was very open and helped me in the complicated situation may be even braking a rule or two - thanks to him, I manage to stay over with no problem and leave Munchen at the rented car 5 times cheaper compared to what I would do without support of the receptionist.

The room was rather big with flat screen and old time radio on the wall, breakfast reasonable and having parking on the hotel was also very helpful.

One strange thing is elevator - every time I used it my thought was it shall be the last one for the lift:) Otherwise the hotel is a good value for money and fits for the cost.

With the top bonus I had by great support from the staff and calm day (no flights and almost no traffic heard) - great place to stay overnight on the way to / from Munich airport.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VitPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ismaning
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Post Ismaning
Hotel Zur Post Ismaning
#3 of 13 in Ismaning
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof zur Muehle
Hotel-Gasthof zur Muehle
#1 of 13 in Ismaning
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Commundo Tagungshotel Ismaning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fischerwirt
Hotel Fischerwirt
#8 of 13 in Ismaning
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Erber
Hotel Garni Erber
#5 of 13 in Ismaning
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Garching
Ibis Muenchen Garching
#2 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stern Hotel Soller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stern Hotel Soller

Address: Muenchener Str. 54, 85737 Ismaning, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Ismaning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Ismaning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Stern Hotel Soller 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stern Hotel Soller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing