We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Wernigerode
Certificate of Excellence
Pula, Croatia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good weekend trip”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Weekend was very relaxing, location is very central (Marktplatz), breakfast choice is pretty good and hotel condition is excellent. Between 3 and 4 storey unfortunately no lift - problem / SPA fantastic but no pool./ Wifi in rooms 5 eur / hour - too expensive

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    55
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
156
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our stay for two nights was very relaxing, friendly staff, decent sized rooms . We ate in the hotel restaurant on the final night, the table was for 8pm but as we were having a drink before dinner we were infomed by the barman the table would not be ready until 8.30pm, but arriving at 8.30pm we were then told the table would not be ready until 9pm, at this point we complained to the manager, so were eventually seated but the main meal did not arrive until 10pm. We had hoped the manager would come and check later to see if all was well, but he did not. The hotel seems unable to feed the guests staying at the hotel so I would therefore highly reclommend the hotel itself but suggest you eat at the hotel next door which has an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The rooms are ok, not huge, but enough space - bathroom is very good. The style is more on the traditional side. Location is very central, the only disadvantage is the noise of the nearby church bells in the morning. The service is the weakest point - we had to carry our luggage to our room and it was a problem to get a late checkout by one hour (very unfriendly reaction). Very nice wellness area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian_Gaertner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

friendly staff, good wifi coverage, nice rooms, great location in town, breakfast choice is pretty good and hotel condition is excellent. dont miss the spa and spa services. reasonable prices and very good service there.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Friendly welcome. Super breakfast. Super room. Lovely dinner. Situated extremely good at the very center of the city. One of the best hotels my wife and I have stayed in for many years. We will certainly come again. Interesting surroundings and you can easily spend a week without getting tired of walking the 'same round' in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new part of the hotel facing the street. No traffic noise nor noise from bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlevald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamp-Lintfort, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A wonderful, friendly hotel with all the little things taken care of. The detail of this place was perfect. We were shown to our room, and given the history on the way about the old building and the new (which were joined together using a beautiful large glass roof). The shower was fantastic, bed very comfortable and the room nice and dark. The lobby and hotel bar were great - the staff (even down to the maintence guys) would say good morning or good evening.
Great place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catcat7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was really a nice surprise. We booked the hotel from home without really knowing that we actually had booked the hotel with half board. Probably our pleasant mistake. We arrived late and had pre warned the reception that we might not be in time for dinner and she said that she would fix a cold plate to be in our room. But we came at a time where the kitchen still was open and she immediatelt called the kitchen to arrange a dinner for us. The cold plate we got as a starter, and the rest of the dinner as the other guests on half board. Superb service.
The breakfast and dinner was very nice everyday and the head waiter, Rene, made us very comfortable. He guided us on local wines to the dinner and told us stories about the hotel and his life. Very interesting. But everybody made our stay extremely nice.
The SPA is nice but you need to book any treatment from home. The same day booking in almost impossible.
The hotel is right in the center of the town, which is very cosy with all the half timbered houses arounf you. The hotel is next to the town hall and we could overlook the town Hall square when we ate our breakfast or dinner through the big windows. The square has some very nice restaurants and coffee shops where you can get those big cakes, you often see on pictures.
The pedestrian street is connected to this square and has some nice shops, but don't expect shopping possibilities as in the big cities. But still there are plenty.
Just off the square you can take the "train" (car built as train) that can take you up the the castle which lies just above the city with a fantastic view over the area.
The town Wernigerode is next to the "mountains" and has a steamtrain with small tracks that can take you to the highest spot in these Harzen muntains. It takes 2 hours to the top with at couple of stops. It is a nice lite trainride that takes about 2 hours, and if there are visibility the view is supposed to be breathtaking. Unfortunately with had rain even though the sun was shining in the valley.
It takes 40 min to Goslar, where there is also a lot to see and we've heard that some of the other towns in teh neighbourhood are quite nice too. so those we will explore next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundlite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wernigerode hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altora
Hotel Altora
#3 of 34 in Wernigerode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harzer Kultur- & Kongresshotel Wernigerode
1.5 mi away
Hasseroeder Burghotel
Hasseroeder Burghotel
#6 of 34 in Wernigerode
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schanzenhaus
0.3 mi away
Schlossberg-Hotel
Schlossberg-Hotel
#8 of 34 in Wernigerode
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch
Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch
#4 of 34 in Wernigerode
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Charme Gothisches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Charme Gothisches Haus

Property: Travel Charme Gothisches Haus
Address: Marktplatz 2, 38855 Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wernigerode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wernigerode
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wernigerode
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wernigerode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Travel Charme Gothisches Haus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you see the half-timbered facade of the listed building of the 4 star superior Travel Charme Gothisches Haus you instantly feel the magic of this hotel located directly at Wernigerode's historic market place. Longstanding tradition combined with innovation: from the very first moment you enter in the Travel Charme Gothisches Haus you are captured by a warm and light atmosphere. In the winter garden, the dark wood of the half-timbered building and its medieval forms and ornaments combine with the large glass dome to form an airy, light-filled room where you can enjoy your extended breakfast in the morning. The rooms, some of them historic, are individually designed with all conveniences of a high-class and modern hotel. "Die Stuben" restaurant offers a wide selection of culinary creations in a pleasant atmosphere full of light, colours and comfort. The "Winkeller 1360" is the right place for wine lovers: an impressive selection of wines embedded in a noble-rustic setting. Last but not least let yourself be pampered from head to toe at the PURIA Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HRS, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Travel Charme Gothisches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus Hotel Wernigerode
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus Wernigerode

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing