We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super super super”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Wernigerode
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was really a nice surprise. We booked the hotel from home without really knowing that we actually had booked the hotel with half board. Probably our pleasant mistake. We arrived late and had pre warned the reception that we might not be in time for dinner and she said that she would fix a cold plate to be in our room. But we came at a time where the kitchen still was open and she immediatelt called the kitchen to arrange a dinner for us. The cold plate we got as a starter, and the rest of the dinner as the other guests on half board. Superb service.
The breakfast and dinner was very nice everyday and the head waiter, Rene, made us very comfortable. He guided us on local wines to the dinner and told us stories about the hotel and his life. Very interesting. But everybody made our stay extremely nice.
The SPA is nice but you need to book any treatment from home. The same day booking in almost impossible.
The hotel is right in the center of the town, which is very cosy with all the half timbered houses arounf you. The hotel is next to the town hall and we could overlook the town Hall square when we ate our breakfast or dinner through the big windows. The square has some very nice restaurants and coffee shops where you can get those big cakes, you often see on pictures.
The pedestrian street is connected to this square and has some nice shops, but don't expect shopping possibilities as in the big cities. But still there are plenty.
Just off the square you can take the "train" (car built as train) that can take you up the the castle which lies just above the city with a fantastic view over the area.
The town Wernigerode is next to the "mountains" and has a steamtrain with small tracks that can take you to the highest spot in these Harzen muntains. It takes 2 hours to the top with at couple of stops. It is a nice lite trainride that takes about 2 hours, and if there are visibility the view is supposed to be breathtaking. Unfortunately with had rain even though the sun was shining in the valley.
It takes 40 min to Goslar, where there is also a lot to see and we've heard that some of the other towns in teh neighbourhood are quite nice too. so those we will explore next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soundlite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 293 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have nothing negative to say about Gotisches Haus, it is simply one of the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Friendly and very serviceminded staff, excellent food (we had half board for 3 days) and a large, comfortable room and bathroom. Everything seemed clean and well kept and of course it helps that the surrounding town is absolute beautiful :-)
One thing to note: some of the rooms are quite a long walk away from the lobby and restaurant because the hotel spans three buildings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danishlady104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

tWe spend a second week at GH in August 2012. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

We took the half board option which is good value. All staff are friendly, well trained and very professional.

Rooms very good and very well cleaned and maintained.

Food very good. Wide selection, plenty of it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAMSouthwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Happily, our 2nd stay was as enjoyable as our first, and if anything, the hotel was even more enjoyable in winter: cosy, warm, spotlessly clean, relaxed and welcoming. Our room overlooked the street rather than the garden this time, and we were conscious of light traffic first thing in the morning, but that was a minor gripe. Breakfast was as fantastic (and filling) as previously, and the Saturday evening buffet was a great option after a busy day's sightseeing. Didn't want to leave...again!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room i.e. facing the garden, if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopefultraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here at same time 2 years ago, restaurant quality and choice were better then. Service not quite as slick. A table booking was forgotten and service then rushed. Rooms and overal appearance are good. The lobby area with real fire (albeit with only a small fire) is a welcome area to relax in.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoosaDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The room was absolutely adorable and very comfortable. Nice touches of mineral water and candy in the room along with robe and slippers. Bathroom very nice. It's in a good location in the center of town. Very nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodious329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Lovely hotel with staff quietly attending to details, little things like a glass of water on arrival at reception. Both for breakfast and appetisers for dinner the chef made little "amuse-bouche" of whatever came to hand and one could take as many as wanted. The room was large with ours having a view over an inner garden. There was free reception internet use. We had a half board package which gave 3 main course choices. The hotel is on the main pedestrianised square, so is quiet. Wernigerode is a good centre for the steam railway to the Harz and south, or main-line to Goslar or eastwards. Good shopping for a little town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DazedTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wernigerode hotels
0.2 mi away
Harzer Kultur- & Kongresshotel Wernigerode
0 mi away
Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch
Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch
#3 of 34 in Wernigerode
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altora
Hotel Altora
#6 of 34 in Wernigerode
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Schlossberg-Hotel
Schlossberg-Hotel
#9 of 34 in Wernigerode
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regiohotel & Restaurant Schanzenhaus Wernigerode
0.6 mi away
Wellnesshotel Jagdhaus
Wellnesshotel Jagdhaus
#16 of 34 in Wernigerode
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Charme Gothisches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Charme Gothisches Haus

Address: Marktplatz 2, 38855 Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wernigerode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wernigerode
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wernigerode
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wernigerode
Price Range: $145 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Travel Charme Gothisches Haus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you see the half-timbered facade of the listed building of the 4 star superior Travel Charme Gothisches Haus you instantly feel the magic of this hotel located directly at Wernigerode's historic market place. Longstanding tradition combined with innovation: from the very first moment you enter in the Travel Charme Gothisches Haus you are captured by a warm and light atmosphere. In the winter garden, the dark wood of the half-timbered building and its medieval forms and ornaments combine with the large glass dome to form an airy, light-filled room where you can enjoy your extended breakfast in the morning. The rooms, some of them historic, are individually designed with all conveniences of a high-class and modern hotel. "Die Stuben" restaurant offers a wide selection of culinary creations in a pleasant atmosphere full of light, colours and comfort. The "Winkeller 1360" is the right place for wine lovers: an impressive selection of wines embedded in a noble-rustic setting. Last but not least let yourself be pampered from head to toe at the PURIA Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travel Charme Gothisches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus Hotel Wernigerode
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus Wernigerode

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing