We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you get lucky!”
Review of Weinhaus Weiler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weinhaus Weiler
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oberwesel
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Sometimes you get lucky!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We had tried to find a room in Bacharach or St. Goar, but the stars were in our favor; we found the Weinhaus Weiler in Oberwesel instead and we were so glad we did! From the moment we arrived, our stay was magical. We had a spacious room with a beautiful river view that also overlooks the ancient Roman walls. We were concerned about the train noise, but the trains are very quiet. Stayed for 4 nights with the windows open and never heard them! Trudel and Klaus were warm and friendly innkeepers. The restaurant there is outstanding, as well. We loved our stay there and would very much recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ARTrav481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Weinhaus Weiler, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear ARTrav481,

we would like to thank you very much for your blessed statement here on TripAdvisor!
Our crew is very delighted about your friendly words - and so are we as well :-)

We agree with you: sometimes you get lucky. Needless to say that the chance to get lucky in the romantic city of Oberwesel is a little bit higher than in the rest of the world ;-)

So if you ever should hesitate with everyday live - come to Oberwesel again and get lucky again!

We are looking forward and hope to meet you again

Your Team of Hotel Restaurant Weinhaus Weiler Oberwesel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    17
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
83
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We abolutely love Oberwesel and decided to book here based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were certainly not disapointed. First, the location is great, right in the middle of town on the market square. There are banks, convenience stores, shopping and dining options within a 5 minute walking distance. The train station is a ten minute walk. The hotel is so cute, just full of charm. Our room was a decent size and spotlessly clean. We had no trouble getting wifi in the room. The beds are quite comfortable. The room came equiped with a very powerful fan- my husband requires a fan to sleep, so he was delighted by this. There was a large storage closet with a lot of hangers for our clothing. Our room overlooked the very close train tracks ( and the Rhein) but with the windows closed, we didn't hear any train noise or vibration. The windows had electric roll down blinds as well. The restaurant was TOP NOTCH! We ate there every night, and were thrilled with our meals. All were fresh and delicious. The service is fast and very friendly. Honestly, we didn't bother looking for another place to eat because this restaurant is so good. We met some very nice locals when we dined on the outside terrace. The wine is mostly excellent local varieties. It is available by the glass, bottle or half liter! Breakfast was better than most hotel offerings. They have a large variety of juices, fruit, breads and spreads. They also bring you sausages and soft boiled eggs. Each morning your table is set up for you with your name on it- a nice touch. The owners are very nice, helpful and knowledgable about the area. They have a large selection of tourist brochures available in the lobby. We are hoping to do another middle Rhein vacation soon. This will be our first choice in hotels. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in this very charming area of Germany. It is an excellent value and just absolutely charming.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very close to the train tracks. Ask for a city view if trains bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Weinhaus Weiler, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Lisa P,

first of all we would like to thank you very much for your lovely words!

It was a pleasure for us and our team to be your hospitable hosts in Oberwesel!

We hope to meet you again at the heart of the beautiful and romantic rhine!

Your Team of
Hotel Restaurant Weinhaus Weiler Oberwesel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Trudel and Klaus ensured that our stay was most enjoyable. Breakfasts were wonderfully varied and catered for all needs. Trudel even encouraged us to make rolls and take them with us for lunch with what we had not eaten. She is the perfect host, always available, always willing to discuss activities, places to visit and how to get there.(the best way is by boat - you go to see Lilly on the riverbank ticket office). And over 60s get a reduction on their fares!! As part of our "package" we had included in the price 2 evening meals in the restaurant (good hearty cooking by Klaus and team and served by very attentive waitresses), entry to the castle museum with cafe und kuchen included and a wine tasting evening at a premier local producer's winery.Much to do and see in the village and travel to nearby towns stress free. Overall excellent and if we visit the area again (very likely) we would go to no other hotel. It was a great first visit to the area made perfect by our hosts.

Room Tip: Our room was fine. Some had apparently been recently upgraded. Our shower was fantastic and we both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 600Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Weinhaus Weiler, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear 600 Roger an Sue,

first of all we would like to thank you for the perfect description of your impressions! Our Team is blessed by your words.

We love to host you again in our Hotel Restaurant Weinhaus Weiler here in Oberwesel. That is what we hope for and we are hopefully looking forward to meet you again.

With hospitable Greetings from Germany

your Team of Hotel Restaurant Weinhaus Weiler Oberwesel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I used this hotel as a one night stop-over and due to a mix-up with the online processes I had a confirmed reservation for a night they were closed. The friendly owners couldn't have dealt with it better and without hesitation provided me with a very nice room and breakfast.

I've read comments about the nearby railway line but I opened the windows and found the sound of the trains very relaxing and had a great nights sleep.

The breakfast was amazing, one of the best I've ever had and rather than a long explanation I've added a photo to the review.

The owners recommended a nearby restaurant which was very good but next time I would definitely like to try the hotel's own.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Weinhaus Weiler, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear dobbo47,

thank you very much for your amazing feedback!

We hope to meet you again in Hotel Restaurant Weinhaus Weiler Oberwesel.

Best regards and wishes from your Hopitality-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

the proprietors, trudel and klaus are excellent hosts, always ensuring their guests are
well accommodated.
they even provide a sandwich bag for the guests to make their own pack lunch.
location is superb with a short walk to the train station and ferries.
dinner at their restaurant is of high quality.
a much recommended B&B for those who are searching for location and quality.

Room Tip: best to pay a little extra for rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tango424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Weinhaus Weiler, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear tango424,

thank you very much for your very friendly words!

This is a large piece of motivation for our team and us, too. We know that it's not always common to create such a positive review. Due to your review we are delighted and hope to meet you once again in Oberwesel?!

With best regards from Oberwesel
Your Team of Hotel Restaurant Weinhaus Weiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in the tower suite in early September 2013 - with a toddler! The owners were wonderful - from our arrival and immediate availability of the suite to the crib already in place - it was just fantastic! The tower provided a fun and different room, and the terrace up top was utilized many times during our too-brief two night stay! We also had a wonderful meal here, one of the best of our trip. Breakfast was really great, as well. Completely recommend!

Room Tip: The tower suite is without a doubt the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Weinhaus Weiler, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear laurengeurtsen,

thank you very much for your warm words and your positive review here on TripAdvisor!

It was a pleasure for us to host you and your lovely family. We hope to meet you once again in our romantic City of Oberwesel!

We are looking forward to hear from you again!

With best regards your Team of Hotel Restaurant Weinhaus Weiler Oberwesel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just stayed for the second time and still excellent value for money. Not many rooms, but they are large and comfortable. Friendly service by the owner and staff. Good restaurant and menu. Located in Oberwesel close to the Rhine but away from the other over crowded tourist areas. Couple of nice wine bar / restaurants located close by in the town. Good for an overnight stay if travelling through Germany.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOGofBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Weinhaus Weiler, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear SOGofBrighton,

thank you very much for your magnificent Review here in TripAdvisor!

It was a pleasure for us to have you and we hope to meet up again. Maybe in Oberwesel?

If you should ever visit our lovely province again, we would be glad to host you again.

Your Team of Hotel Restaurant Weinhaus Weiler Oberwesel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberwesel
0.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
1.3 mi away
Landhotel Zum Kronprinzen
Landhotel Zum Kronprinzen
#3 of 5 in Oberwesel
27 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#3 of 9 in Bacharach
135 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rheinhotel St. Goar
Rheinhotel St. Goar
#1 of 14 in Sankt Goar
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Pfropfenzieher
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weinhaus Weiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weinhaus Weiler

Property: Weinhaus Weiler
Address: Marktplatz 4, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Oberwesel
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oberwesel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Weinhaus Weiler 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weinhaus Weiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinhaus Weiler Oberwesel
Weinhaus Weiler Germany/Oberwesel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing