We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Husband Sister and two daughters trip to germant 1991 i believe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oberwesel
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Husband Sister and two daughters trip to germant 1991 i believe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

Wonderful restaurant and loved the rooms and view. The road across or bridge was a little scary Us girls walked across

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    56
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
178
371
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

The Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg has been reviewed at length here. We concur with all the praise. The place is delightful. We enjoyed the room, the view, the food, the setting and the staff. Thumbs up for all.

On arrival we warmed up in the library with hot chocolate and cakes, a great way to start. We were lucky enough to get the table for 2 next to the fire place, but any space in the several rooms that make up the informal "bar", for lack of a better word, are charming.

Dinner gets some mixed reviews here. Ours was excellent. The dining room was full, so confirm a reservation in advance. It is not cheap, but the prices are reasonable for the setting and the high quality of the food and service.

We asked for, and received, a room with a river view. It also had a balcony. Even on a cold January day it was fun, for a few minutes, to sit out on that balcony. The views around the castle all are spectacular, so if your stay does not include a river view, 1) you might get a nice view anyway (just a guess) and 2) there are places on the property you can go for great views of the river.

There is a short, steep hill from the parking lot to the desk. If you can walk, you can navigage the hill. If, like my wife, your mobility is limited, the hotel will help you out. So long as you arrive and depart at the designated hours, the porter will pick you, and your luggage, up in a golf cart and transport you to the front desk. (He will pick up your luggage even if you can walk just fine...he shows up very promptly if asked.). I would not recommend this hotel for a person who has severe mobility limitations (cannot get out of a wheel chair, for example), but for someone you uses an aid like a cane and needs some help with the rough spots like the hill and a few steps inside, it is just fine. If you anticipate needing help, an e mail to the hotel will bring a prompt response with all the details (very easy, just know the hours).

For those who are fully mobil, there are pleasant walks to be had starting and ending at the hotel, for as long or as short as you like.

We only stayed here one night, but hope to return. Distances are short in the middle Rhine and Oberwesel is centrally located in that area. I have no experience with the many other hotels in the region, but we would probably just stay here for several days as a base for the area from Mainz to Koblenz.

The hotel is quiet, as is the area generally. If you want what the middle Rhine has to offer, this hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

I just laughed as we drove towards the Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg.
"We're really staying here?" I asked my husband. I couldn't believe I was actually staying in a castle. We pulled in at night so all we saw was the huge castle at the top of the hill. Yes, we lugged our suitcases up a hill, but I welcomed the exercise challenge! (They also have staff with golf carts to assist if necessary.)

The family member at the front welcomed us and then said, "We have prepared a lovely vegan meal for you at your request." Yes, as a vegan, I knew dining in Germany would propose a challenge, but Schoenburg had prepared an entirely separate vegan meal just for me (complete with a printed menu). Already, I felt like royalty. One night I enjoyed grilled eggplant steaks along with soup, salad and dessert. The next night I enjoyed grilled veggies over pasta. I was most satisfied.

This location is perfect if you are spending a few days along the Rhine and want a central point to see one of the most picturesque areas along the River. We took a boat cruise and enjoyed runs along the Rhine. We even ran up the 1200m hill to the castle and enjoyed some of the hiking trails around the castle. The area churches were beautiful, as were the various towns surrounding Oberwesel.

Our room was spacious and included a large tub, bubble bath, shower and door to our balcony overlooking the Rhine. It also featured a separate room that opened to a courtyard (perfect for kids).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tritobefunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed here from 4-7 October after destroying our livers at Oktoberfest in Munich. First of all, Oberwesel is a quaint little town on the Rhine; it's certainly not as charming as Bacharah but it has its share of historical buildings and landmarks. Castle Schoenburg is in a perfect spot, sitting above the town, to gaze out over the Rhine and the town.
Getting to the castle, which sits atop a hill, isn't too hard; a cab ride costs 7 Euros or you can walk it which still isn't very taxing. When you get to the castle you immediately feel like you stepped back in time (cars and the castle elevator are easily ignored). The fireplace in the lounge area is great to dry off in front of with a glass of beer (it rained a lot while we were there), the restaurant has tapestries hung all over the walls, and everywhere there is some little artifact to peruse while you walk around the castle interior. It's more like a museum.
We stayed in the Tower Room and were not disappointed. A bottle of sherry welcomed us and we had a couple small glasses out on the porch which overlooks much of the valley (and the castle). Free wi-fi, a bowl of fresh fruit, and a cleverly hidden wall safe were other amenities that were appreciated.
If the hotel has a downside, it's got to be the food. We bought 2 spots on the Riesling Wine tour (which was excellent) and it came with a multi-course dinner. A lot of what was served felt somewhat pretentious and chosen more for the exotic ingredients and look than for the taste. The breakfast, however, was excellent. The Emmer beer they carry there is also outstanding. Give it a try.

Overall: I would absolutely stay at Castle Schoenburg again. The cost was high but well worth it. If you've ever wanted to stay in a castle then this has to be at the top of the list.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yojimbo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

This was the priciest hotel my new husband and I have stayed at, but we found it far worth it. We splurged a little for a room w/ a balcony instead of a bathtub, and although it rained the first day we were there, it was dry by night and in the early morning the castle is surrounded by a dense fog, and looks unreal! We chose to have dinner here at the 25-seat restaurant, because the town was a steep drive down the hill, and this too was one of the more expensive meals we have had, but it was Soooo good. Even my husband who is not-at-all-into gourmet for the most part was amazed and could recognize the impecable quality. Price for room: 195 Euro, 5 course dinner was 49 Euro each.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly_and_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

From the moment we parked our car and walked up the cobblestone path to the castle we knew that we were going to be in for a very unique experience!

The castle is perched on top of a hill overlooking the Rhine river and valley and the town of Oberwesel. One drives a couple switchbacks and mountain side to get to the castle, parks in a parking lot away from the castle and walks about 10 minutes uphill to the castle entrance.

The castle itself if in good condition and is decorated just like one would imagine a medieval castle to look like! The rooms are scattered around the castle but centered mostly in the tower. My parents got a secluded room that connected to the library which was away from everything. It was quite spacious and had a view of the courtyard. Our room was in the tower area and was much smaller but had a view of the Rhine river.

The room is very detailed with art and was well decorated with relics of the past. My only complaint is that there was very poor circulation in the room. When we were there it was a little hot and the windows only opened so much. It was quite stifling to sleep at night even with the fan that they provided. We had to leave the window open while we were out and accidentally left the light on. When we returned, the ceiling was literally moving (we had quite an assortment of bugs swarming around the entire ceiling!) Just a word of caution, the area is full of vineyards, therefore lots of bugs (keep the lights off!) :) The staff member we found was very kind to bring a vacuum into a room and vacuum up all the bugs!

The breakfast was included and consisted of a good assortment of breads, cheeses, cold cuts, smoked salmon and tuna and hard-boiled egg in tomato sauce. The food was very good quality.

The castle is located in a good section of the Castle road (far enough in that you've already seen a few castles on the way, close enough that you can go back to them if you missed them and good distance from the castles further ahead, but still close enough to return for the evening). There is a small town below the castle which has quaint shops and many places to eat.

For anyone traveling in this area, I would HIGHLY recommend for you to make a stop here. The hotel is a completely different feel from the typical hotels; stay in the place brings you back to the time of kings and queens. Quite the unique experience!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kryssie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

Our 3 night stay at the Schoenburg Castle was a dream. Our family had rooms #11 and #12 which overlook the Rhein. These are exquisitely appointed. Obviously a designer was given carte blanche and told that no expense would be spared. We spent 1 day simply exploring the entire castle and grounds. The staff are fluent in English and quite professional. My only warning is for those who might have difficulty walking the cobblestones up to the castle. It's a steep ascent for anyone with a hip, knee...condition. The hotel can and will take people up and down on request. Just realize that this could take a few moments if there are other people ahead of you checking in or out, etc. The breakfasts are delicious and beautiful especially since you won't have to clean up all the variety of dishes used. We did eat dinner at the hotel just for the experience. I wouldn't do that again simply because the cost was NOT worthy of the meal. Truly a dream experience and we will return again and again!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberwesel
8.4 mi away
Burg Reichenstein
Burg Reichenstein
#1 of 1 in Trechtingshausen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.8 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels
11.1 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#2 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Weinhaus Weiler
Weinhaus Weiler
#2 of 6 in Oberwesel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Zum Kronprinzen
Landhotel Zum Kronprinzen
#3 of 6 in Oberwesel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Property: Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Address: Schoenburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Oberwesel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oberwesel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Oberwesel
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg Germany/Oberwesel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing