We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - Maximising the potential of the setting”
Review of Seehotel Hubertus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seehotel Hubertus
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Schluchsee
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience - Maximising the potential of the setting”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Location - Blew me away, utterly beautiful watching the sun set behind the lake and the forest surrounding you on the other side.
Architecture and Decor - Incredible building with great history. Tasteful, clean and luxurious decor that made me feel very comfortable. Of all the 5 places we stayed on this trip the Seehotel made me feel the most relaxed.
Service - Attentive, polite and interested from the outset.
Food - The best steak I had during two weeks in Belgium, Germany and Austria. The food was refined, perfectly seasoned and made with great tasting fresh ingredients.

A great stay and all too brief - this was a business trip but my girlfriend is already on my back to return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    24
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
24
85
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The views from our beautifully furnished, spacious room were lovely, especially with fall foliage. At the owner's suggestion, we walked into town through the woods and back along the lake. We relaxed in the spotless spa facilities and ate delicious meals in the restaurant. (Another bonus of fall was venison season.) What a truly relaxing and memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearLillyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerzel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Really nice place, located next to a big lake. Very friendly personel. Large and clean rooms. Nice breakfast.Young owners who want to please their customers. Good explanation about exit possibilities, walks, ... Dog friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater Corners, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The word 'fantastic' was used very often as we began our stay at SEEHOTEL HUBERTUS. We've never had such a warm greeting by a hotel's owner. We were greeted as our taxi pulled up infront of the hotel. Our bags were taken in for us. We didn't have to carry a thing. Then our host/owner took us on a delightful tour of the hotel. We were totally impressed! When he showed us our room we were again surprised to find so much more than we expected. Our room had very high ceilings and windows on two sides overlooking Lake Schluchsee. The views through the windows were a match for any local postcard and our enormous exterior balcony ( furnished with a couch, chairs and coffee table) provided the perfect spot for watching the sunsets over the lake. As part of the tour we were also shown the quiet reading room, the spa areas, the breakfast room with indoor and outdoor dining areas. Every table had a spectacular view of the lake. The breakfast staff brought a smile to our faces as they provided warm and friendly service daily. The breakfast food choices were plentiful and perfectly arranged and prepared. For evening meals, hotel guests had a reserved table with the very best views. We ate almost every night in the hotels dining room, except Wednesday night when the dining room is closed. The meals were 'fantastic'...artfully prepared and served by very friendly waiters ...at our own chosen pace. An outstanding wine selection was also available. We selected several excellent local wines which were delightful with our meal. One of our favorite hotel 'extras' was the "Hochschwarzwald Card"...it allowed us free boat trips around the lake aboard the St. Nickolas and also free train travel from Seebrugg all the way to Freiburg. The train station is a mere 300 yards away and the boat makes a special stop right at the hotels dock. Both the train and the boat run hourly all day long. What a bonus that card was! It also provided boat tours and activities in other towns from Seebrugg to Freiburg. We filled our days traveling to Freiburg daily and stopping at other cites along the way. Combining the luxurios hotel, the extremely competent and friendly staff...and the "Hochschwarzwald Card"...we had the most fantastic vacation ever. It ranks in our top five vacations...the hotel is our number one choice! Special thanks to the family Dykast...what a 'fantastic' hotel. If you're looking for a great vacation, choose the "Seehotel Hubertus"...you'll have a 'fantastic' time.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a balcony. We got a 'huge' balcony with spectacular views. If avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Managed by a young couple, outstanding location, unbelievable view, beutiful people, wonderful bedrooms..... Thi is the place. We went with our two kids, 9 and 5, they loved this place. Close to the ski lift, private parking. Don't hesitate a second to stay here. We had a beutiful christmas 2011 days at the Hubertus

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank madlvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our last night on our two week driving trip of the Black Forest was spent at the Hubertus and it was delightful. From our arrival we were treated like special guests and made feel very welcome. The room itself was huge with beautiful views of the lake (even from the toilet)! It was comfortable, the perfect temperature (never a given in Germany I have discovered) and we thoroughly enjoyed. It was a shame we couldn't have stayed an extra night or two.

The hotel itself is out of Schluchsee - about a five minute drive, which isn't a problem if you have a car or don't mind a 2-3km walk - there is a nice walking track the whole way into town. The hotel itself is quite remote but in a romantic way.

Our biggest complaint is that the night we were there (a Wednesday) the restaurant wasn't opened - which we were really disappointed in as we would have loved to have dined there with the gorgeous views over the lake as the sun set. We did enjoy drinks out on the terrace (our own drinks, not sure the bar was opened) and that was lovely. But to have to drive into the village to eat (and then we didn't find anywhere all that great to eat anyway) was a huge disappointment to us. I kept saying to my husband how much I had wanted to eat at the hotel restaurant as it would have been one of the highlights of our trip I'm sure - with the views and all. There was a small pizza place down by the train station, but I am not sure if it was opened for dinner or not.

The included breakfast the next morning was lovely - with a great selection to choose from - and we got to sit out on that lovely terrace and enjoy the view with some good food.

I would highly recommend this place and would definately stay there again, but I would be checking to see if the restaurant was opened on the nights I planned to stay next time - can you tell how disappointed I was???

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We've just come back from a 3 night stay at the Seehotel Hubertus at beautiful Schlugsee in the black forest in Germany. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner in the most friendly way. He took us on a small tour of the hotel and gave us a the feeling we were guests with a name and not just a room number. He was always ready to help which was great! The hotel is located on the beautiful lake and has a large terrace where you can enjoy the sunset. Afterwards we ate in the restaurant which also has a stunning view of the lake. The food was really great, we tried something new every day. They served fresh fish, tender meet, pasta and also the starters as well as the deserts were tasty and well prepared. Thanks to the chefs in the kitchen! There was a great selection of wines, our favorite was a 2009 Riesling wine. In the morning there was the breakfast buffet with fresh bread and croissants, fresh juices and so much more. Krystyna would greet us with the largest smile. A great way to start the day. Also the people who served dinner were amazingly friendly. They always had a smile on their face and were ready to help. They all seemed to be a reflection of the hotel policy: friendliness, personalised service and quality. We had a large room which overlooked the lake and it was very clean. Another perk was that with a minimum of a three night stay you get a card which gives you access to 50 freebies. A free boat ride across the lake, some free train rides and a lot more. The owner will gladly explain this to you. Great was also the fact that you can hike into the woods from the hotel. My conclusion is that this was a really great stay in a beautiful hotel where the owner has real passion for what he does, and it shows. Thank you very much!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schluchsee hotels
1.3 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
3.3 mi away
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
#2 of 12 in Schluchsee
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parkhotel Flora
Parkhotel Flora
#3 of 12 in Schluchsee
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schiff Schluchsee
Hotel Schiff Schluchsee
#6 of 12 in Schluchsee
64 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wochner's Hotel Sternen
Wochner's Hotel Sternen
#8 of 12 in Schluchsee
30 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof Hirschen
Hotel-Gasthof Hirschen
#5 of 12 in Schluchsee
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Hubertus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Hubertus

Property: Seehotel Hubertus
Address: Seebrugg 16, 79859 Schluchsee, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schluchsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Schluchsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Hubertus 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HRS, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Seehotel Hubertus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing