We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from it all”

Landhaus Muehle Schluchsee
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landhaus Muehle Schluchsee
Ranked #9 of 20 Schluchsee B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for a week at this beautiful b&b. The whole place was so tastefully decorated and even though we had the simplest room, the bathroom was very 'chic hotel' with a huge shower.
Katja spoke good English, which helped us greatly and Rolf made some delicious food, especially his schnitzel and tiramisu: it was heavenly!

There were various large family groups while we were staying. We could hear them late at night socialising, making the most of the b&b's outside space and communual areas. Although this did not bother us as we were on holiday and had no reason to be up early the next day, I can see how it may bother other guests. If we had a room on the other side of the house, we would have been unlikley to hear any noise at all.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Landhaus Muehle very much and would recommend it to others. The hosts were friendly and accommodating and we had a relaxing stay. Schluchsee as a location is a peaceful town. As a place to explore the Black Forest, it is not very central. However, if you're looking for long walks direct from your door, or a place from where you can visit Switzerland as well as the forest, then it's ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee27Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Landhaus Muehle Schluchsee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

We found the Landhaus Muehle perfect for a family get-away in the Black Forest. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the small Schuchsee train station and town center, It is on a dead-end street and extremely quiet and peaceful. We were personally greeted by Ms Nowak and Mr Pochert upon arrival, even though it was 10 pm. Ms. Nowak speaks some English and was more comfortable than Mr Pochert in communicating with the English-only members of the family. Both were very gracious. Ms Nowak also helped with tourism suggestions.
The "family room " (numbers 11 and 12) was ideal - a small separate bedroom and half-bath for two children, with a larger bedroom, sitting area and full bath for the adults. It does not, however, have a balcony or lake view. Although wifi was theoretically only available in the lower levels of the hotel, it did reach up to our room. The room was beautifully decorated and well-arranged. Fresh flowers appeared on the desk on the second day. There was good lighting for reading. Amenities were the basics: shampoo, shower gel, lotion.
Outside the front door of the hotel is a charming terrace with tables and umbrellas; breakfast and dinner are served there in good weather. The breakfast buffet was modest but sufficient: a selection of cold meats, smoked salmon, several kinds of cheese, four kinds of cold cereal including muesli, yogurt, boiled eggs, fresh fruit salad, freshly baked rolls and bread. Dinner is offered only by advance order with the inn-keepers; they are happy to accommodate dietary restrictions. The kitchen specializes in local produce and regional items.
A short walk downhill from the hotel is a nice playground for children.
There is also a tiny spa/sauna with massage available, although we did not use this service.
There is no smoking anywhere in the hotel, but some guests were seen smoking in the parking lot and on the lawn.
One thing to be aware of - they do not take credit cards although they would accept a German euro debit card (but not, apparently, a French or other EU euro card). There is an ATM in the town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gtd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful place. Our upper floor room was spacious and had picturesque pastoral view. Our hosts were very friendly and ready to help. Food was very good with variety on every day. There're a lot of things to do : walking tours, lake tours, spas around or simply relax on sunbed in hotel's garden.We'd be happy to come here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stasdim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Already upon arrival in the parking area, we were greeted personally and guided to our room. We had a smaller room just below the roof, and it had all the space we needed. The bathroom was surprisingly large. All very clean, very quiet, new and friendly. And we slept like babies.
Katja and Rolf, the host couple, made us feel very welcome and provided good advice for a successful stay. The food was also excellent, both the breakfast and the dinner menu. Ask for tomato soup and be delighted.
On a tight budget, I would probably choose a cheaper place for 60% of the price and 70% of the fun. If you can spend a little more, then this is the place to go for a relaxing holiday where everything is the way you want it.

Minor things which could have improved our experience would be WLAN access in all parts of the building and credit card acceptance - cash payment required us to withdraw money downtown with an international credit card at a big service charge.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saardansker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights at the Landhaus Schluchsee and would love to return for a longer stay. Our hosts were gracious and very helpful. My wife and I are active travelers and from our arrival we were directed to the best trails and hikes around. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner on the outdoor patio capped with the best tiramisu in the world. We enjoyed the walk into town and the privacy that the location provides. The grounds are very relaxing and there is even a stream running right through the property. A great escape.

We had an upper level room with balcony and it was spacious and clean. Other rooms were open so I was able to see that many of the rooms looked large and comfortable.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LesterJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Our family of four spent a glorious night in this boutique hotel set in a 500 year-old chalet on the outskirts of the tiny Black Forest village of Schluchsee! It had everything we were looking for: a friendly host, a delicious meal, a lovely view, and a comfortable bedroom and ensuite bathroom. Everything in the place was of the highest quality, designed with both comfort and style in mind.

We ate supper in the cosy dining room downstairs, tucked away in a booth. We had delicate white asparagus soup and a schnitzel nothing like the thick, oily stuff they serve in some restaurants. This one had paper-thin breading and was exceedingly tender. We chose the wine that our server recommended, a local rosé, and we were not disappointed. There were lovely touches for the children too: cold cocoa served in large cups and saucers, and silky-smooth ice cream smothered in a fresh mountain berry sauce.

Our room was spacious, and our two children, 4 and 6, had a very comfortable double bed to sleep in. Our king-sized bed was a real treat, and we all slept like babies with a cool country breeze wafting in through the windows. In honour of my birthday, I took advantage of a soak in the Roman-style bathtub, enjoying a glass of sparkling wine in such a nicely appointed setting.

The breakfast buffet at this hotel was the best we had during our entire three-week trip with stops in seven different hotels. The pastries were flaky, the eggs were fresh, and there were many choices of thinly-sliced cold cuts. The four of us were in heaven.

The Landhaus Muehle is a lovely spot; one we'd visit again, not doubt about it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stefanrexroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schluchsee hotels
0.4 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
1.1 mi away
Seehotel Hubertus
Seehotel Hubertus
#5 of 12 in Schluchsee
141 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
#3 of 12 in Schluchsee
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Flora
Parkhotel Flora
#2 of 12 in Schluchsee
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schiff Schluchsee
Hotel Schiff Schluchsee
#6 of 12 in Schluchsee
68 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof Hirschen
Hotel-Gasthof Hirschen
#4 of 12 in Schluchsee
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Muehle Schluchsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Muehle Schluchsee

Address: Unterer Muehlenweg 13, 79859 Schluchsee, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schluchsee
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Schluchsee
Price Range: $195 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Landhaus Muehle Schluchsee 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Landhaus Muehle Schluchsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing