We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gourmet hotel in beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Spielweg
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Muenstertal
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely gourmet hotel in beautiful area”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Further to good reviews on this site we choose this hotel and what a good choice! Perfect hotel for families with the outside playground and the huge play area in the hotel: our girls just want to go back to this hotel! The service is fantastic, nothing is too much; from the outside terrace to a bottle of sekt in the room. One of the main reasons why we choose this hotel were the good food reviews and indeed they were right! The hotel make its own cheese and meats and that on itself is worth the trip to this hotel. Dinner in the restaurant was great as well and breakfast was simply heaven! The rooms are in a traditional German manner and not our style, but the food and the child friendly atmosphere make up for that. Overall: looking forward to a next stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    45
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
45
71
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for 8 days. The location is perfect to get away from it all, but you may need a car if you wish to see more of the area without relying on buses/trains to get you around. Mr Carl Josef Fuchs, the hotel owner, is a world-renowned chef who prepares lovely dinners every night with fresh and original produce of the area. Kristin, the daughter, was extremely helpful in giving us tips on sights to see and things to do. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a more mature age group looking for peace and quiet, whilst having a vehicle to wander around when desired. The only downside was that there was no mobile reception in the hotel or rooms and wifi was very poor.

Room Tip: If you like hearing the sound of a small river flowing by go for the new wing, which is opposite the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taniaf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Don't expect an exciting night life or cosmopolitan action. Rather, this charming hotel run by the same family for over 100 years is set in the natural beauty of Southern Germany, surrounded by high hills (equivalent to Smokey Mountain high). Great local food prepared by professional team, indoor and outdoor pool, spa and miles of walking trails. The Fuchs family will immediately make you welcome and you will enjoy the quiet beauty surrounding you. You can be at several ski areas within 30 minute drive and some breathtaking views along the winding (but excellent) roads all through these mountains.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This old family heritage is amazing: traditional grace with the best of what the world can offer as hospitality. In the middle of the German mountains, woods and grace lands! The dishes of chef Franz-Jozef are a surprise as much as they are delight. No low budget lodging, but diamond value compared to the magnitude of 5 star hotels - really special :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We found this hotel as we wanted somewhere convenient to go hiking in the Black Forest. We were upgraded to the new wing and the rooms were spacious and clean. We had a lovely view overing the river which was a little loud during the night. The restaurant was fantastic! Local and in season items were on the menu. We even bought two jars of the home made baerlauch pesto which I regret not buying more of. The breakfast spread was fit for a king! Everything was available and tasty. They even had home made cakes. Service was efficient and accommodating. Definitely somewhere I will come back again!

Room Tip: Get the new wing if possible, but only if the roaring river doesn't annoy you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonjofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The place is great for lovers of good food! The chef is always prepared to walk the extra mile in order to satisfy customer needs. Breakfast buffet is outstanding and you easily spend more time then you actually have originally planned for. Local, bio products will give you a flavourful experience and their own cheese production is a big plus too. The spacious rooms some even with a little south-facing terrace and sitting area have got 80's flair but all is properly thought through and done with quality material and at the end it just gives you that warm feeling of being not only a guest but also being home and part of theirs for the time being. What was remarkable for me was the staff, friendly, efficient and very helpful at any time. All in all a really great experience and you will see me coming back for sure! Thank You!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank K E U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice and spacious rooms with good service. Conveniently located near Freiburg (30 min drive) and several hiking and tourist locations in the Black-Forest. We spend here a couple of days with friends from Asia and had our dinners near an open fire place. Great breakfast spread!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go-Ma-Tin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muenstertal
5.7 mi away
Waldhotel Bad Sulzburg
Waldhotel Bad Sulzburg
#2 of 2 in Sulzburg
109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Waldhotel am Notschrei
Waldhotel am Notschrei
#1 of 9 in Todtnau
167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Landgasthaus Zur Linde
Landgasthaus Zur Linde
#2 of 3 in Muenstertal
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
584 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alte Klostermuhle
Hotel Alte Klostermuhle
#3 of 3 in Muenstertal
17 reviews
4.9 mi away
Die Krone
Die Krone
#1 of 4 in Staufen
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Spielweg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Spielweg

Property: Romantik Hotel Spielweg
Address: Spielweg 61, 79244 Muenstertal, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Muenstertal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Muenstertal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Spielweg 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Romantik Hotel Spielweg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Spielweg Muenstertal, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing