We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in spectacular location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Spielweg
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Muenstertal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in spectacular location”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was up hill and down dale to reach the Spielweg hotel, but worth it when you got there. We had a cosy room with a bathroom - quite plainly furnished but with all comforts - in the main building. We'd booked a special package from the Hotel's website so were looking forward to a 'cheese menu' featuring local cheeses, including one made on the premises. Unfortunately we picked a bit of a bad night as it was the owners' 25th wedding anniversary party in the next-door barn, so most of the staff were involved in that - leaving a slightly Fawlty Towers approach to service. However, very pleased to report that service was much better the following evening. The food was great and the dining room full of character. There was an Incredible spread in the breakfast room in the morning, featuring everything you could think of to eat and other things beside, Stock up and forget lunch! We didn't take advantage of the pool or spa, but were sure they would have been excellent, like everything else. A well-run family hotel. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aint_Momma_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    45
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
72
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountainview
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Very nice hotel, friendly, welcoming and place where you feel well

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying-birdîe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for three days this summer and really enjoyed ourselves. The dining experience whether it be breakfast or dinner were wonderful. Our room was in the main building and while very clean , wasn't as cozy as I would have liked. The next category of rooms in the newer building was quite a bit more expensive however.The staff works very hard here.Not sure how many English speaking guests they have , but we struggled with their directions that were accurate and did better with our GPS actually. The road approaching the hotel is very winding but incredibly picturesque. You feel like Heidi might come out at any given moment. It would be nice if they offered a welcome drink on the patio to settle your nerves after the ride. Lots of the other Romantic hotels are doing that it seems and it is a very nice idea.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a family establishment with a history dating back 125 years.
Family Fuchs is still today carrying on with enthusiasm , passion and good taste the running of their creation in this unique and most beautiful part of Central Europe.
Amidst delightful nature of rolling meadows and running streams, an old farmhouse, resembling the typical buildings of the area, has been converted to a top hotel with amenities of every type to please the most demanding guest.
There are newer buildings added to the old property that provide for larger double rooms and suites with or without verandas.
The room we stayed in was in one of the newer buildings. It was spacious, comfortable and very clean. Its best feature though was the extraordinary panorama that we enjoyed out of its full glazed facade.
The surprise at this amazing place comes at dinner time.
In the most attractive and cozy environment of the dinning room, with freshly cut flowers on the tables, the outstanding culinary delights prepared by Master Chef Karl-Josef Fuchs are served to the guests by delightful smiling ladies clad in local traditional costumes, while the whole dining experience is discretely and masterly orchestrated by the Lady of the House: Mrs. Sabine Fuchs.
Finally the breakfast buffet absolutely reflects the top quality preparations that come out of the kitchen in every occasion.
This is not just a hotel with good or bad rooms or with three or four stars.
This is a house with heart and soul. This is an admirable operation conducted by people with knowledge and passion for the job that they are doing and the result of their effort does show all around Spielweg hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views over the rolling hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pervanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Voeslau, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

To reach this place, leave the Karlsruhe-Basel autobahn in Bad Krozingen and climb out of the Rhine valley following the Munstertal, along an ever narrowing road through increasingly picturesque villages, past the wonderful Benedictine monastery of St Trudpert (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Trudpert's_Abbey) until the village of Obermunstertal, and there where the road seems to peter out and end (it doesn't) the Spielweg hotel and restaurant awaits.
The restaurant is famous for its local specialties, chef Fuchs takes particular pride in his selection of cheeses, and maintains a very knowledgeable wine list of Baden's modern top nectars such as Martin Wassmer's from nearby Bad Krozingen --worth a side trip by the way.
The rooms are as one may expect from a Romantik Hotel, clean, mostly large, comfortable and... romantic. The spa has an outdoors section, beautifully integrated into the rest of the grounds.

Room Tip: best rooms: suite 15, and "Sonnhalde" Suite 51
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at romantik hotel spielweg for 9 days. Everything is thoughtfully designed and implemented to one's comfort and enjoyment. The food is freshly prepared with local and organic ingredients. The facilities such as indoor and out door swimming pools, sauna, stream room, or outdoor relaxing area are so conveniently arranged in natural surroundings. Warm and friendly hosts and staff are always at your service. We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiY936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We had such a wonderful stay at Romantik Hotel Speilweg. We arrived early with 2 little ones (1 & 2) and were happily welcomed by the staff. They said we could check in early, which is great when you have 2 munchkins that need to nap. They also upgraded our room without extra charge and were stunned by how nice & huge it was. They provided 2 baby beds for free, complimentary mineral water, a huge balcony with wonderful views of the mountains, cd player with relaxing cds, spacious bathroom, bath robes. The charming hotel had so many personal touches like apples that welcome you at the reception, mineral water in the spa area, knick knacks on every square inch of the hotel, swing set & sandbox for the kids. We ate all of our meals (lunch, dinner & breakfast) at the hotel. Everything was scrumptious & def gourmet style. My favorite was the gulasch & noodles as well as the deer. The breakfast spread was one of the best German breakfasts I've every seen. They had everything you can imagine plus more! For example, cold cuts, gazillion types of breads, yogurts, egg salad, shrimp salad, salmon, frest fruit (even fig!), 5-6 diff cheeses, champagne, diff juices, etc. I felt like royalty. I also like the fact that they also do such a great job accomodating children. They have the biggest playroom, I've ever seen in a hotel. There are 2 rooms connected that look like you're in an attic and filled with so many toys, books & games so the little ones can be entertained for hours. We also used the babysitter and were happy with her services. The spa was fine- I was a little dissppointed to find that the steam room & sauna couldn't be turned on until 4PM. We both had massages at 1:30 so we had to wait to use the steam & sauna room. I was very impressed! I will def recommend to others. A great place for honeymooners, families with children. Maybe not for ppl that are looking for nightlife though. It's secluded which is great if you just want to have an intimate moment out in the mountains.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muenstertal
3.4 mi away
Waldhotel am Notschrei
Waldhotel am Notschrei
#1 of 9 in Todtnau
174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Landgasthaus Zur Linde
Landgasthaus Zur Linde
#2 of 3 in Muenstertal
46 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Schlehdorn
Hotel Schlehdorn
#2 of 16 in Feldberg
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
606 reviews
9.0 mi away
Schwarzmatt Hotel
Schwarzmatt Hotel
#2 of 23 in Badenweiler
87 reviews
16.4 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Spielweg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Spielweg

Property: Romantik Hotel Spielweg
Address: Spielweg 61, 79244 Muenstertal, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Muenstertal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Muenstertal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Spielweg 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Romantik Hotel Spielweg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Spielweg Muenstertal, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing