We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dull interior for a magnificent castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Waldeck
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Waldeck
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
259 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Dull interior for a magnificent castle”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The XII century Schloss Waldeck is set spectacularly on the hill towering 220 metres above the Edersee lake. From outside it looks truly impressive.

However, once inside you feel it’s like any other standard, bland hotel chain and the magic disappears. I cannot understand the logic that leads owners to so completely convert a splendid castle into a Novotel-look-alike: it is cheap, plain and unimaginative in most areas of the hotel.

The Schloss Waldeck does not have a separate bar which one would normally expect to find close to the reception. Instead, it has an area of the Altane restaurant separated off from the restaurant by a row of empty bottles (classy!...ehem).

The rooms are functional and spacious enough, the huge beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are fitted with those annoying shampoo/soap dispensers, a favourite arrangement of two star establishments. Basic toiletries were not replenished during our two night stay. The rooms are equipped with safety boxes, bathrobes and slippers are also provided.

We dined at the Altane restaurant (the Alte Turmuhr is closed off-season) and the food was absolutely awesome: delicious pumpkin soup, delicately prepared pork, very tasty beef in original sauce. The place also boasts and excellent selection of wines. It would help, though, if they had a menu in English particularly as it supposed to be a four star establishment.

Breakfast was very interesting and plentiful with a good selection of local dishes, cheeses, meats and salads. It is also served until 11am which is very civilised.

Staff are very helpful and friendly and were able to recommend interesting itineraries outside of the castle.

Overall, Schloss Waldeck does not provide good value for money and I would not recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the old part of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    58
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
104
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We selected this hotel for a special occasion. The hotel is perfectly integrated into the castle, you don't notice it from the outside. It has been recently renovated and makes a very good impression.

Make sure to checkin in time or let them know in advance if you need late checkin because the reception is closed otherwise and you won't be able to access without the key card.

Even the reception area gives you a hint of history. The whole hotel breathes middle age, better by far then any themed hotel. The staff is very helpful and friendly, the rooms are spacious, clean and warm.

The spa is small yet very nice and offers various treatments. Make sure to book those at least (!) one week in advance.

The breakfast was tasty and rich. Grab a table by the windows and enjoy the view!

Parking space is available next to the main entry, we had free WiFi included.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theshadowvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Despite having seen the internet photographs of the Hotel reception, I was still very impressed when we first walked in the entrance. A friendly greeting from the staff and a complimentary room upgrade set the tone for an all too short stay in this wonderful hotel.

The room was effectively a suite/apartment with a separate spacious living area. Two windows, one with a view across open countryside and the other with a partial view of the lake.

Breakfast is provided in the Restaurant Altane - good quality buffet style with plenty of choice. And....a spectacular view across the lake.

The Kaminzimmer provides a relaxing place to sit and enjoy complimentary afternoon tea/coffee.

We had been pre-warned by the hotel staff that the Restaurant Alte Turmuhr was closed for a seasonal break but you can dine in the Restaurant Altane instead. As our friends were taking us out for dinner, we didn't get an opportunity to try the restaurant on this trip (apart from breakfast).

The new part of the hotel has been sympathetically blended with the old part and there is a lift providing access to all floors.

Unfortunately the castle museum was closed during our visit - sounds like a good excuse for a return visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and will always remember. The location is great, atmosphere of the castle and its surroundings cant be better. Always go for the top floor and request the lake view room! You will love it, I am sure! Reception and room service are great, restaurant on the second floor was somehow too German for my taste, the café on the top floor is great and the lobby is stunning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maaze70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordale, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had been dreaming about staying in a Castle for a long time so when we planned our trip to Germany this year we found a castle to stay at and worked the rest of the holiday around it. What better way to celebrate Christmas than in a castle! The setting was gorgeous and the rooms were lovely, we had a double room overlooking the Edersee which had two levels. We were welcomed with some lovely biscuits and chocolates which was a nice touch. Being Christmas there was a set menu and unfortunately it wasn't to our taste but much to our delight the wonderful chef came up with an alternative that was absolutely delicious. The breakfast was also wonderful with heaps of variety, the hot white chocolate was very good! Although not many of the staff spoke English we managed to get by ok and they tried hard to accommodate us, one of the ladies in the restaurant was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Don't be surprised if the staff speaks German, not so much English to you. They are superb. The restaurant is fantastic. The parking is free. Rooms are small. The spa is relaxing, and comes with the room, except for extra treatments. Ask for room on the 5th floor overlooking the lake. Beware of the winds as they do clamor, but your castle will stay firmly planted. Take the tour, it's worth it. Our second time, and we have to come to enjoy the experience, unlike any other.

Room Tip: High floors are our favorite, overlooking the lake. Added bonus: Get up early in the morning and wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanPsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed two nights with two chums on our way back from Leipzig, we chose this location as we wished to visit the Eder Dam. This hotel is in an old castle on top of a hill, however the inside has been very carefully built. Result is the rooms are very modern and comfortable with terrific views over Edersee (or at least ours did - all three). You run the risk of getting lost each time you venture out of your room as there are numerous corridors and doors - possibly all part of it`s charm !
The breakfast buffet was well above average.
Parking was easy and there are at least two lifts.
We ate in the Restaurant twice, the food was excellent on both occasions, however the service on the second evening (different staff) was unfriendly and not very efficient.
Notwithstanding my comments, would stay here again as the positives outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoddyIghthamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldeck
0.3 mi away
Ringhotel Roggenland
Ringhotel Roggenland
#2 of 7 in Waldeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Wiesemann
Waldhotel Wiesemann
#4 of 7 in Waldeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
6.5 mi away
Maritim Hotel Bad Wildungen
Maritim Hotel Bad Wildungen
#2 of 11 in Bad Wildungen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BELVEDERE das BIO HOTEL am Edersee
6.6 mi away
Goebels Hotel Quellenhof
Goebels Hotel Quellenhof
#1 of 11 in Bad Wildungen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Ferienwohnungen Seeschlosschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Waldeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Waldeck

Property: Hotel Schloss Waldeck
Address: Schloss Waldeck 1, 34513 Waldeck, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Waldeck
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Waldeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schloss Waldeck 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Schloss Waldeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing