We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views in Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Waldeck
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Waldeck
Certificate of Excellence
Grafenwohr, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views in Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the castle and absolutely loved it! Just be aware that the area is more of a summer activity area. It is perfect for winter time if you just want to relax, enjoy the services of the spa, and maybe get some hiking in. The spa had a big selection in different services they could do, we both had a full body massage which was wonderful. They have a wet/dry sauna that you can go into at any time as well. As others have said, it is definitely a modernized castle on the inside with the rooms an adequate size with large windows to take in the view, and what I was more surprised by was the heated floor in the bathroom. The bed was great and slept in quite a bit. The restaurant had a small variety of dishes for dinner, with the prices being slightly more than what it was worth to me, but the dishes were very tasty. The breakfast had quite the selection with some hot items, granola and yogurt, fruit and cold cuts and cheeses. Definitely enjoyed our time there, though I do wish we had gotten there when more of the shops were open and more activities around the lake- but still enjoyed the time nonetheless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMelHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    60
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
108
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Other reviewers have noted the fantastic view from this castle hotel, and the fact that it's updated. There is nothing castle-like about the rooms, which are modest in size with white walls. However, the rooms are very stylish, with very new bathroom fixtures and clean, contemporary lines in all the furniture. The entrance is still castle-like and there is a castle museum that provides some history for the place as well as descriptions of a wide variety of torture implements and their historical uses. The restaurant was spectacular, with, again, views of the Edersee far below and a delicious menu. Breakfast was also wonderful in the same restaurant. We stayed only one night and I wish we had had more time because there were many amenities offered that we did not experience, including the spa and the funicular down to the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutofKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Anyone, family, couples will love the views from this wonderful hotel. Although it has obviously been modernised, they have also managed to keep the charecter of the castle. The views of the lake are absolutely awesome. We walked around in early evening when the mist was just settling on the edges of the lake. The sunset was also an added bonus. we awoke to the mist that covered the valley [soon cleared] Breakfast was agian perfect with another view of the lake. After a long drive we didn't wait for the restaurant to open teh first night but went into the village where there was a good choice of eateries. If you stay you need to have a walk around the lake and dam as well. A thoroughly good value for money, and well run hotel

Room Tip: Both the rooms we had were great, but the one with the lake view had the edge. The hotel is quiet so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's a Castle!! Some walking from the parking area.Small town within waking distance. Up hill. Restaurant has a small dinner menu, Rooms were very clean and modern. The bathroom floors were even heated.There is no air conditioning.The Window in our room opened wide and let in a nice breeze. There are no screens on the windows but we didn't seem to have any issue with insects.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSNNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Amazing entrance, gives the real castle feel, but you can tell it's had some amazing renovations done. Room was very welcoming, neat and provided incredible views. Everything was so neat about this place. Very much enjoyed the restaurant too, eating by the lake view was fantastic. If you want to experience a castle in a classy hotel, this is the way to go. Went here with my brother on a roadtrip around Germany. Cost a few pennies, but if you can make it out to Waldeck, it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a first class restored castle hotel with an excellent restaurant and a small museum on site. Unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked druing our stay but there are plenty of restaurants in the nearby town which is an easy walk from the castle. The breakfast was quite good and included in the room rate. The rooms were very modern however as is the German way there are no screens on the windows so during the night a lot of flying insects entered the bathroom through a small open window. There was a small spa in the hotel that was free for the guests which was not crowded and quite modern.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake are nicer but it is difficult to figure out from the booking form whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at the Schloss Waldeck in February to celebrate my husband's birthday- He's always wanted to sleep in a castle, and loved it!

We opted for a standard room, and it was very nicely done. There were some castle elements- exposed beams and a window alcove in our room- but the castle interior has been renovated, so our room didn't overtly "feel" like a castle. That being said, all the other features of the hotel make up for that- the restaurant, the lobby, the bar, and the hallways.

The views of the lake were great- and we could see parts of the countryside and the castle from every window. The free breakfast was plentiful, with a wide variety of choices- and because we stayed in the winter, the price per night was very reasonable.

The town of Waldeck is pretty sleepy though in the middle of winter- and we were disappointed that the grocery store closes early on Saturday (and is completely closed on Sunday). There's not a ton to do in the area except drive from little town to little town- but it's perfect for relaxing. We would recommend going to see Fritzlar if you are in the area!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justbeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldeck
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Wiesemann
Waldhotel Wiesemann
#4 of 7 in Waldeck
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ringhotel Roggenland
Ringhotel Roggenland
#3 of 7 in Waldeck
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
BELVEDERE das BIO HOTEL am Edersee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Maritim Hotel Bad Wildungen
Maritim Hotel Bad Wildungen
#2 of 11 in Bad Wildungen
119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flair Hotel Werbetal
Flair Hotel Werbetal
#2 of 7 in Waldeck
18 reviews
6.6 mi away
Goebel"s Hotel Quellenhof
Goebel"s Hotel Quellenhof
#1 of 11 in Bad Wildungen
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Waldeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Waldeck

Property: Hotel Schloss Waldeck
Address: Schloss Waldeck 1, 34513 Waldeck, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Waldeck
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Waldeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schloss Waldeck 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schloss Waldeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing