We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
West Byfleet

“Well Worth a Visit ”

Hoshiya Korean & Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 39 Restaurants in West Byfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went early doors on Saturday night and was very impressed with the food. Only thing to be careful of is a service charge is added to the bill.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank jonsA6396KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Thought it would be better as it was crowded that night but then again, it was Sat night. Can't always count on public opinion I guess. Nothing stand out in either direction regarding service or ambience. Just so-so. However the food gets a lower rating.

We decided on Korean so I have no idea if the Japanese is any better. Presentation is appetizing but lulls you into a false sense of security as we discovered.
(BTW, if you want Korean BBQ, better dig deep in your pocket as it's rather pricey.)

Ordered japchae as a starter. Very oily and flavour was just OK. We both got bi bim bap, one beef and one seafood.
The beef was good but the seafood was of poor quality and tasted like it was sitting around. Bad combo of mushy mussels with tough squid. I didn't have the option to change as it was impossible to flag a server who was available so we just finished and left disappointed.

Could've been an off night as they were not lacking for customers. May try again but will stick to the Japanese menu.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank moon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2019

We really wanted some Asian food on a Sunday afternoon and this place did not disappoint . Great maki rolls, katsu curry , kimchi, chicken yakitori. bimimbap , gyoza +++++. Such good quality and good value too , our kids have begged us to return ever since! It won't belong before we go back !

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GeraldineF538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019 via mobile

Our favourite. Family run business. Delicious food. Can’t say enough to promote this quiet unassuming restaurant

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

The food was fresh and delicious. We weren't rushed at all. Relaxing ambiance. Bit strange that we had to go down spiral stairs to get to the restaurant but it didn't put us off.
We will definitely return.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank EnidandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoshiya Korean & Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
West Byfleet, Surrey
 
Weybridge, Surrey
 

Been to Hoshiya Korean & Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing