We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
27
12
5
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
27
12
5
7
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 54 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2014

Three of us dined at the Smutje hotel's restaurant and each of us was sorely disappointed. The red wine by the glass was served ice cold with actual condensation on the glass. The waiter said that's how they serve red wine. The white wine on the menu was supposed to be one type, but we received something different and when we informed the waiter, he made no offer to correct it. The potatoes were both cold and hot, so it was clear that they had been microwaved and not stirred. The rosti potato cakes were clearly not made in house, but were packaged frozen cakes. I ordered my steak medium and it arrived well done (and in Germany usually even medium is more rare than in other countries). The prices were expensive which would have been fine if the quality was there, but this place has pretentions of being creative and a fine dining establishment and instead it is just pompous service and crap food. Don't waste your time or money.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank JeanneClaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We booked 19 July and arrived as planned on 9 September but, having parked and got to Reception with our luggage were told that the hotel did not have a room for us. They blamed Booking.com for double booking; but we then noticed a large party of lady cyclists arriving and wondered at the possibility that we had lost our accommodation in order to fit them in.
The hotel is well located in the pedestrian precinct of Norden but with access through side streets to parking at the back. Externally it appears characterful and has a pleasant courtyard area with tables for drinks and meals.
The restaurant menu appears to be good.
We should like to be able to report on internal facilities but were denied that opportunity by reason of being forced to stay elsewhere.
Our advice is to make doubly, doubly sure of your booking.
We are good German speakers so this was NOT a language problem.

Date of stay: September 2011
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
8  Thank NatGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrik W, Geschäftsführer at Stadthotel Smutje, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrik W, Inhaber at Stadthotel Smutje, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrik W, Geschäftsführer at Stadthotel Smutje, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews