We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous location on Konigsee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Schiffmeister

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Schiffmeister
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
677 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Tremendous location on Konigsee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during Oktoberfest tour with Bayern Trips. We had a large double room with a glimpse of the boathouses. Others in our group had rooms with beatiful lake views. The first night there was a problem with the hot water that was remedied by the time we got back to the hotel on the second day. The breakfasts were excellent. The rooms are older with carpets that could be replaced but overall very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    12
    6
    15
See reviews for
16
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
san diago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Loved this place! had a balcony with a perfect view of the lake. large modern room in an historic and charming hotel. private gated parking steps away and a very nice breakfast. Shops around area are pretty touristy. great bakery near the Jener mountain lift and a nice walk.

Room Tip: try to get a balcony. drive slow on the stret leading in - its amost a ped zone. and take the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had two unforgettable nights here in late August and regretted not staying for longer.

We were given a family room (there were only two of us) but I believe it was the last room left, so there were no complaints from us about the extra space. The building (& rooms) are a little rustic but that just adds to the charm and character of the place (there is a lot of soul in this hotel!!). It’s a grand old building, with creaky staircases, high ceilings and ornate furniture from a distance era, such a refreshing change from modern, soulless chain hotels.

We were on the top floor and had small windows overlooking the lake (and the boat docking area/ticket office) in addition to a bathroom window that overlooked to the left of the hotel in the direction of the bobsled arena (I think?). While the room was simple and simply decorated – it was comfortable, we were warm and cosy and slept well. The bathroom was spotless and there was plenty of hot water.

The view of the lake (pristine shadowed by stunning snow-peaks, reflected in the water) will leave you breathless, you can stare at it all day and still want to take in more... Just beautiful!

Breakfast is bustling – but plentiful – it is the standard continental fare – bread, meats, cheese, yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit, conserves etc etc. You will not go hungry! Breakfast is served on the first floor in what was possibly a large dining room that has been segregated into two smaller rooms.

Our receptionist was wonderful – assisting us with parking (free parking, near the hotel – but you will have to drive through a pedestrianised area – so prepare from some unfriendly stares!) and a fabulous dinner recommendation.

We had a highly memorable weekend break in Koenigssee and loved our time at Hotel Schiffmeister – we’d come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is right opposite the lake and the spot where the boats leave. The room we had was huge but a little run down as are the public areas. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent. A big plus for me was WIFI in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKEGNESS LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed at theSchiffmeister for 9 nights in June, we loved the spacious room and the fantastic view from the balcony. Yes, a lick of paint here and there was overdue but this really only added to the character of the whole Hotel. with wonderful old furniture and carved staircases. The staff were friendly and efficient, and breakfast was good and plentiful. It is hard to imagine a more perfect setting for a Hotel than the shores of Lake Konigsee.

Room Tip: Choose a Lake View room, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiger063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

For a romantic person like myself and my children, my nieces and brother from the Caribbean, this was a dream come true: From our balconies we had the most breathtaking view imaginable on a mountain scenery behind a fjordlike lake, surrounded by rocks and meadows.
Right in front of the hotel the boats start on roundtrips over the Koenigssee (Kings Lake) along an ever changing view with waterfalls, and steep rockformations rising from the waterlevel. At several idylic spots one can dissembark and start more or less adventurous hikes and climps, to hidden chappels in dark forests, along steep gorges with foaming ice water, up to snow covered glaciers, with idecaves abd domes, even in highest summer. An unforgetable experience for vistors from the Caribbean, who never imagined to see snow. Back at the hotel at sunset, is like coming home to a fairytale retread, build by Hobbits for lonely strikers. Dont miss the especial local lake fish troud, in the nearby restaurant siting right at the lake waterfront, three hundred yards to the right from the front of the hotel. Order Forelle Müllerin, but leave the newly created garlic sauce away. It spoils the natural taste. Just ask for the melted butter gravy An unforgetable delight. The hotel inherits its own flair, including a mysterious spicy flavour of herbs, flowers, mixed with odors of ancient woods and forests. Dont miss the sight of the Mountain glow at sunset, at the mountain chain of the Watzmann just before sunset. Many more things to explore in and around the small village of Schoenau.
Our only - small - dissapointment was, at my last of third stay at the hotel: The breakfeast has lost its unique indivual stile from years before, with home made ingrediants from local butchers and bakers, and aproaches typical careless German fast food hotel catering.
Hopefully this will remain the only concession to modern fashion hotelery. I dont want to loose my fairytale retread with the view I can just sit on my balcony and dream for hours

Room Tip: Of course, the front room with the scenic balconies are the best for a romantic. If you just need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penguin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed in nine hotels during our 3 week vacation and rate the Hotel Schiffmeister “great” from the perspectives of accommodations (comfortable large rooms and beds), and friendliness of owner/manager and staff. This was my sixth trip to Europe and my third time staying at this hotel (3 nights, 13 – 16 June 2011). Lake Konigsee is a pristine alpine lake surrounded by mountains near Berchtesgaden Germany, Bavaria. We enjoy this hotel because of the terrific location lakeside and right at the boat docks and shopping area, the historic feel, spacious rooms (we had room #1 on second floor and our room’s balcony overlooked the lake and you could see the “Eagles Nest” from our bathroom window), and cleanliness. Note: There are not many rooms with a lake view, and I think they are priced slightly higher, so be sure to specify exactly what you would like. Pro’s: Unbeatable location, reasonably priced, good complimentary continental breakfast, elevator, spacious and spotless room, clean bathroom with private toilet/shower, satisfactory TV with a variety of channels, and friendly staff. The hotel’s continental breakfast (located on second floor) was always freshly prepared with a good variety of Deli meats, cheeses and rolls, great coffee and hot chocolate, and a choice of juices (all hosted by a very sweet lady). We didn’t dine in the hotel except for breakfast, but we did discover a great place directly across the street from the hotel where that restaurant had a quick service “walk-up style” sidewalk stall selling very reasonable and delicious bratwurst sausages on a bun, ice cold drinks and wonderful ice cream cones. Note: There is a McDonalds at the village entrance. We had a great visit here and would not hesitate to choose this hotel again and again for all of my future stays!

Room Tip: Note: The hotel only has one or two parking spots close by, but there is a huge parking lot just up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DoDWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoenau am Koenigssee
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigssee
Hotel Koenigssee
#6 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Konigsseer Hof
Hotel Konigsseer Hof
#14 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
#3 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pension Berganemone
Pension Berganemone
#2 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
#4 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schiffmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schiffmeister

Property: Hotel Schiffmeister
Address: Seestr. 34 | Lake Konigsee, 83471 Schoenau am Koenigssee, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schoenau am Koenigssee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hotel Schiffmeister Germany/Schoenau Am Koenigssee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing