We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful host, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gastehaus Gregory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gastehaus Gregory
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful host, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night before going to the salt mines, our host was gracious and let us put our drinks in the fridge to keep cool...ice is rare at gas stations like in the states. Breakfast was delicious with plenty if choices. Enjoyed it very much even though we were in a rush. We slept great and in the rush to leave in the morning forgot my husbands expensive jacket in the closet. We called Christian and he immediately sent it to the next place we were staying and we managed to get it the day before we were leaving for home. Many many thanks to him again! We will return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank startedthepuzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Excellent breakfast, you have to ask for eggs though. Affordable price, 34 euro for a single room and 66 for a double. The owner runs the hotel based on trust. Everyone has acess to the friges. At the checkout you tell him what you had and he bills you for them. The only thing (to me particularly) is that the rooms are not quite sound-proofing. At close to midnight, a big group of people showed up. I was not able to go back to sleep until 1 hour later. And I forgot to mention free parking. 6 minutes drive to lake konigssee.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lord_cage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for a night during our bike-holiday and this Gastehaus is a very nice place very close to Berchtesgaden. The owner was very kind with us and room were comforntable. Breakfast was served by the owner and there were lots of food to choose. Very good price/quality ratio

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozartRadweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The house is in a perfect location, calm, quiet, close to Königsee. Rooms are spacious with simple bathrooms, beds are comfortable. The property is very clean, well managed and has a nice atmosphere thanks to the friendly owner family, though . Breakfast is great, a good start of the day.
You can buy local drinks at reasonable price, then sit out in the garden and enjoy the nice view on the hills.
I would go back!
Very pleasant surprise for a "pension"!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karasznelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

The Gregory Gastehaus is a nice place if you don't expect a 4 or 5 stars hotel's service and convenience. I selected this place because they're very dog-friendly (even of you have a big dog) and price-quality ratio is a fair one. Rooms are very simple but clear and a landlord is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is not really good (I was quite disappointed) but you could not expect much from an inn. It is a dog-friendly place with a good price-quality ratio but not a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaFoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

When I made the reservations...I had reservations. For the price, what could I expect right? I had no idea the the views were going to be that awesome. The rooms were clean, bathrooms were good, the breakfast was great. Christian is was takes this guesthouse from average to very good. He made sure everything was taken care of, was very attentive to our needs, and even made sure my wife (who was suffering an allergic reaction to red wine) had everything she needed to be comfortable during her stay. Again, our dog was allowed, and she even had a good time visiting (chocolate lab).

Apart from the stay, the view was breathtaking. We took a few wonderful hikes through the area, and always came back with hundreds of photos. This is a great place to stay as you embark on seeing all this area has to offer. You can not find a better deal and a nicer place to stay for the dollar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I have traveled quite a bit through Europe, and this has been one of the best places we have stayed. It is no 5 star hotel, but you shouldn't expect that for the price. It is very nice, clean, and has a better than average continental breakfast in the mornings. The best thing about the place though is the host Christian. It was like having our own personal tour guide for the area. We rented a car in Geneva, Switzerland and traveled to France, Italy, Austria, and Switzerland as well as our stay in Burchtesgaden. We are fairly savvy european travelers, but he was able to give us advice on the best way to do certain things in the area. On this trip, there are places that we would and would not stay again. However, Gastehaus Gregory in Burchtesgaden is DEFINITELY a place that I would stay again. The location is ideal as it is close to town, but not right in town. If you utilize the local bus system, there is a bus that takes you to a short walk from the Pension. If you feel like a walk and are in decent shape, then you can walk to/from the Pension in less than 30 minutes. We did it several times.

I can't say enough good things about this place. We found it to be very quiet, and ideal for our family of 4, even though we had to stay in 2 separate rooms. Excellent place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason7110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoenau am Koenigssee
1.2 mi away
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
#3 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pension Berganemone
Pension Berganemone
#2 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
#5 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Gregory

Property: Gastehaus Gregory
Address: Oberschoenauer Str. 66, 83471 Schoenau am Koenigssee, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schoenau am Koenigssee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gastehaus Gregory 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gastehaus Gregory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastehaus Gregory Germany/Schoenau Am Koenigssee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing