We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Unterhaching
Certificate of Excellence
LaPorte, IN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Time !”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just returned from about 10 days in Munich. We stayed at this hotel, and were very happy with it. Wi-Fi worked great. The staff was VERY helpful in every way, from the desk people to the bartenders. English was spoken very well by the whole staff and we felt very comfortable in a different place. The staff arranged for a taxi, told us how to get to the trains and how to use them (and even had S-Bahn tickets that we could buy there).

There is no pool, but it seemed to be more of a business hotel. My kids would have liked to swim, but it was a small price to pay for such a nice hotel. There was a great bar and restaurant attached. We hit the biergarden most evenings and it was a great place to unwind with great service. There is a bakery just down the street with lots of goodies as well for b-fast. We also saw a Chinese buffet close by as well as a pizza place (carry-out) that we hit as well.

The hotel is situated between 2 S-bahn stops and once you figure out how to get there, its a snap down a small path. All of the locals were very helpful as well. The room was very nice and clean with all of what you would expect. The TV had about 40 stations (in German), and maybe 3 in English (news channels). The S-bahn ride into downtown Munich was only about 15-20 minutes which was really easy.

If you dont want to spend an arm and a leg, yet want a great hotel closeby, you have found it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Bob S,

thank you very much for your great review and taking your time to leave us this comment!
We really appreciate to be your first choice nearby Munich. That's one of the best compliment we can get and that's fantastic!

All of our team greatly appreciates your nice feedback about service, facilities and location.
It's so good to know, you have felt comfortable during the entire stay at our hotel.

We really hope and looking forward to welcome you and your family again!
All the best to you and your family,

Andrea Burghard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    255
    83
    14
    9
See reviews for
139
98
24
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean, large and comfortable for a family or four. The playroom downstairs was a fabulous way to keep our children happy after spending hours sightseeing and driving. The staff was friendly and helpful enough. It is easy to get here by car and saves you from trying to drive in the crazy city. The train was easy to catch and didn't cost much for a family pass for several days. My only real gripe is how much expensive the restaurant was at the hotel, €8 for a liter of water and €20 for breakfast when you can walk halfway down the block and get 6 liters for €3! We walked just down the street to a great little bakery that served a delicious breakfast for a quarter of the price they charge at the hotel and just around the corner is a grocery store we bought more water at. Other than the ridiculous amount they charge in the hotel restaurant the hotel met our needs and we would stay there again.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Stephanie C,

thank you very much for your good review and taking the time to let us know!

We all appreciate, that you and your family have felt comfortable during your stay in our hotel.

Regarding the cost of our breakfast buffet we would like to add that it is our standard to fulfill all our guests requirements. Even special needs for our allergic guests. For us it's also very important to have a great selection of products and to source them from local and organic manufactuers.

We really hope to welcome you and your family again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my family over the Easter break. The hotel is well located and very convenient. However, in common with many buildings in Germany, the unofficial smoking area was directly outside the front door. We arrived at the hotel to be "greeted" by a group of nicotine addicts taking their fix. It was not possible to enter or exit through the front door without having to pass through a haze of cigarette smoke. Inside we had booked a non-smoking room, but had to get to it by passing through smoking areas. Once we had a better idea of the layout we established a route that kept us away from the smell of stale cigarettes.

Breakfast was very good, spoilt only by the waffle chef who declared "fertig" at 9:00am as my children queued expectantly. We reminded him that breakfast was advertised until 10:00am as it was the Easter Holiday. Still "fertig" came the reply. Finally a discussion with the restaurant manager resulted in fresh waffles and the buffet items being topped up.

To the management, please do something about the smokers that loiter about the front door. Perhaps, provide an official smoking area around the side or back of the building. Also, I prefer not to have to argue with your staff to get my breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireckon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear ireckon21,

thank you for your very good rating and taking the time to let us know.

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and our services met your expectations.

We apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during breakfast time. We have discussed this incident with our team and we will make sure to avoid such failings in the future.

We have passed your wish regarding the ‘smoking’ situation at the main entrance to our general management and we can assure you, that we will look into this matter if there is a better solution although we have already more than one outside-smoking area.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our weekend getaway. The hotel is slightly outdated, but totally ok. I guess it is quite the same for the hotels in Germany. The hotel is mainly used by people going to expos and is very business oriented.
One very important moment is the location - it is not in Munich, but 5-6 stops by local train S-bahn from Tafelkirchen. It takes like 15 mins to Munich. The train leaves every 10-15 mins on the work days. From the hotel it takes around 15 mins by foot, incl. 2 stares and a walk in a backstreet. The road looked safe but no lights along it. So if you have baggage - keep it in mind.
Eating out - we did not eat at the hotel but it had couple of restaurants. The minibar is empty, but there are vending machines on the floor. Water kettle and cups in the room which is a plus.
We traveled to Salzburg and Fuss so it took us around 3 hrs each way by train counting from the hotel.
The room was big enough for us two, clean and no stains. Big bathroom with a tub. Very rural and quite outside in spite the fact that the hotel is a part of a business complex.
Conclusion: if you just want to have inexpensive stay in a quite suburb, not afraid of taking train every day (in case you are not driving as ourselves) with all consequences the place is good.
For my next stay I might try to find something closer to the downtown, but this place was totally OK.

Room Tip: Suburb o Munich, need a car or take a train
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DePo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear DePo79,

thank you very much for your kind review and taking your time to let us know!

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our facilities and felt comfortable, which is very important to us.

Of course, we are aware that we are not in the centre of Munich, but as you have mentioned as well, we have a lot of benefits, being a hotel in the suburban area.

We really hope to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching, the next time
you visit Munich!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
397 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a good stay during Bauma 2013. Train station just at 300 meters and I was at the Bauma in max of 30 minutes. Clean rooms and good showers. Nice breakfast and a nice outside varanda for dinner. The team at both reception, restaurant and bar are professionals. The hotel provided a van between 7AM and 10:00AM to drive you to the train station. Very quite during the evenings ,eccellent after a long walking day in Bauma.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHL573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear WHL573,

thank you very much for your great review of our hotel and taking the time to let us know!

All of our team really appreciates your kind feedback of your stay in our hotel.

We would be looking forward to welcome you again, hopefully already before the next Bauma Fair in 2016!

All the best,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend over Easter and were very satisfied with the hotel. The staff were very helpful nod nothing was too much trouble. The room was a good size, very comfortable and they had added nice little touches like a fridge, tea & coffee facilities and toiletries. We arrived at around 9am in the morning and were able to check in early. The Wi-Fi was also free which was great!

The hotel was in a good location and less than 10 minutes walk to the train station which linked to the Centre of Munich in about 20 minutes and all tourist locations. The trains ran regularly and there was a nice bakery near the station to get a coffee if early.

The hotel was across the road from a small shopping plaza, and there were plenty of supermarkets nearby.

The only negative for us, was the price of the breakfast. It was €20 (slightly less if booked in advance) but there was a fantastic bakery in the shopping plaza which does great sandwiches, pastries and has a breakfast menu including bacon & eggs.

There are a couple of restaurants nearby - the Chinese next door which was nice and we had a great meal at Ristorante Dolce e Salato which was near the post office on route from the station to the hotel.

I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again, I would definitely recommend this great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carley99_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Carley99_uk,

thank you so much for your fantastic and very kind review and taking the time to let us know!

All of our team greatly appreciates your nice feedback about service, facilities and location. It's so good to know, you have felt comfortable during the entire stay at our hotel.

Thank you again for your staying with us and your recommendation!

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again, the next time you stay in Munich!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

When my wife and I initially came to stay at Holiday Inn for my work, we got to the bar and they spilled beer on my wife's dry-cleaned clothes. The front desk promptly offered to pay for the dry cleaning and bring it to our room in 2 days (as it was Easter). I was unhappy with this incident, but the hotel more than made up for it through the little extra things that the front desk did. We had to send 2 posters, and we had trouble finding a suitable box to buy, so they found a used box, bubble wrap, and tape and wrapped it up for us. Then, when we were on the way to the post office, they offered to send the package for us from the front desk, very helpful! While I was unimpressed from the begin, they definitely did the right things to turn my experience around and we were able to leave with a great experience.

In addition, the room is very nice, and we received a free upgrade to a double room even though I only booked a single room. Again, great service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mik2tuf4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mik2tuf4u,

thank you very much for your great review and taking your time to leave us this comment!

Again we would like to apologize for the bad start at our hotel. We are very glad, that we were able to turn a negative impression to a very good experience and we are more than happy that you gave us a second change!

Your feedback and open words, already at the front desk, were and is so important for us to take the right action to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again we would like to say thank you for your comment and we hope to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterhaching
0.8 mi away
NH Munchen Unterhaching
NH Munchen Unterhaching
#1 of 7 in Unterhaching
501 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#171 of 383 in Munich
659 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
0.5 mi away
Hotel Demas Garni
Hotel Demas Garni
#4 of 7 in Unterhaching
104 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching

Property: Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching
Address: Inselkammerstr. 7-9, 82008 Unterhaching, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterhaching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Unterhaching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das 4-Sterne Hotel Holiday Inn Munchen-Unterhaching, in ruhiger Lage und doch nur 15 Minuten vom Zentrum entfernt, ist Ihr perfekter Gastgeber ... Egal, ob Sie auf der Suche nach einem Tagungs- und Kongresshotel sind, einen Wochenendurlaub planen, eine langfristige Unterkunft suchen oder nur auf der Durchreise sind. Die direkte Autobahnanbindung sowie die sehr gute Anbindung an das offentliche Verkehrmittelnetz ermoglichen Ihnen eine unkomplizierte Anreise.Ihnen stehen 257 klimatisierte, modern eingerichtete Zimmer in verschiedenen Kategorien, 370 Garagen- und Aussenparkplatze und ebenso ein Fitness- und Saunabereich zur Verfugung. Unsere drei Konferenzzentren umfassen 12 klimatisierte Tagungsraume fur maximal 500 Personen sowie 14 weitere Raume fur Meetings bis maximal 20 Personen oder Gruppenarbeiten. Aber nicht nur die flexiblen Raumkapazitaten, sondern besonders leistungsstarke, kostenlose W-LAN Nutzung, die taglich marktfrische Speisenauswahl und der individuelle Service unserer langjahrigen Mitarbeiter/Innen machen Ihre Veranstaltung garantiert zu einem Erfolg.Regionale und internationale Gaumenfreuden geniessen Sie in unserem Restaurant ,,Leonardo", der Bar ,,Alex" sowie in unserem sonnigen Biergarten mit 220 Terrassenplatzen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munchen Unterhaching Hotel Unterhaching
Holiday Inn Unterhaching
Unterhaching Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing