We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Unterhaching
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice ...”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Yes, indeed, a very nice hotel. It is not in the middle of the city or where everything is happening in Munich but it is rather in a nice and calmer location, like 20 min with S Bahn from the city centre.

We had a quiet and lovely room at the last floor of the hotel (4th). Well we were not very lucky with the weather but still was nice to stay in the morning and listen to the rain 

My only issue was the lack of real option for the breakfast. I mean if you are vegetarian or just not eating meat you would not have too many options.

But overall was a very pleasant atmosphere and experience. And if I will go back to Munich I will definitely go back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veve_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Veve_33,

thank you very much for your very kind feedback and taking the time to let us know!

We are very glad to know to you felt comfortable with your room and the whole stay at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching.

Regarding the choice of vegetarian food for breakfast, we like to say that we are sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations. Altough we have a great selection of different food at our breakfast buffet, we will speak with our Head Chef to find more options for Vegeterians.
Therefore we like to thank you to bring this matter to our attention.

We really hope to welcome you again at our hotel, the next time you visit Munich! We will hope for good weather then!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    262
    83
    14
    9
See reviews for
146
100
24
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends for the final week of Oktoberfest. As noted in previous reviews, the hotel is around 20 minutes out of Munich centre via train, though is very easy to access via the Taufkirchen station on the S3 line (not Unterhaching) - there is a well used 'shortcut' footpath from the right end of the platform through to the hotel, next to the rail-line, though you can follow a longer road route (signposted) from the official exit at the left end of the platform if you feel that is unsafe.

We arrived almost three hours before check-in but the hotel were able to have our room ready within half an hour, in which time we waited in the well stocked hotel bar. Our suite was spacious with beds for four across two rooms as well as facilities to self-cater if required. Room service was excellent with cleaning and new towels provided daily.

The hotel itself appears to be on the edge of town and is set back from the main road and railway so a good night's sleep is not a problem. Within five minutes walk there are plenty of places to buy food and drink if you do not wish to eat in the hotel, although the breakfast and restaurant offer a good selection.

On or final day after check out, the hotel was happy to let us store our baggage in a room over from their reception desk so that we could go out in Munich and come back later to pick it up.

Overall, very happy with our stay and the low cost more than made up for the fact you're not staying in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CreedyKillZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear CreedyKillZ,

thank you so much for your fantastic review of our hotel!

We really appreciate to know that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Of course we have shared your feedback with all our team and they are also very delighted to hear that you had a good stay at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching.

We all are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!

All the best to you and your friends,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

5 of us stayed here for a long weekend while visiting Munich and the Oktoberfest. The hotel is spacious and clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the food is great and we could not ask for more. The transport links are excellent and we had no problem getting in and out of Munich. If any of us go back to Munich, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rab3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Rab3131,

thank your very much for your fantastic feedback and taking your time to let us know!

We greatly appreciate your kind review and are more than happy to know, that you have enjoyed your stay with us! You can be sure, we`ve shared your comment with every one in our team.

It would be a pleasure for us, to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching the next time you stay in Munich!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We choose to stay at this hotel in August as the Holiday Inn in Munich Centre where we had previously stayed was too expensive this time. I am glad to say we were not disappointed with the hotel.

Firstly, it is a little out the way being c. 12-15 minutes from the station called Taufkirchen to the centre (don't go from or stop off at Unterhaching Station, it is much further to the hotel). Trains to the centre of Munich are only every 20 minutes and take around 20 minutes to get to Marienplatz so it can be a bit of a trek if you are doing it each day. If with a family/group get the excellent value three day ticket for Munich City (Innenraum) at 23 euro.

When exiting the station take note of the Holiday Inn sign which guides you to them from the station. Go through the mall and turn right at the end of the mall, don't keep going as we did and get lost in a housing estate!

The staff are nothing if not pleasant and helpful, we could not fault anything there.

The room itself was actually two rooms on two floors, very unusual and yes the stairs were a bit steep but a handrail was provided. Our son slept downstairs and this doubled as a living room for which the room was a little on the small side. However, there was a flat screen tv on each floor which impressed us and there were many stations available, including BBC World. Also free wifi which is not always the case with Holiday Inn and this was fast and reliable.

Bathroom was clean and good hot shower with towels replaced as required.

Beds were comfortable and there was an efficient air conditioning machine which you could set to belch out cold air which was great as it was roasting when we first arrived.

Tea and coffee sachets were not always replaced.

Breakfast was varied as usual at Holiday Inns and the pleasant and efficient omelette chef who made omelettes to order with ingredients of your choice was a welcome bonus. It is somewhat expensive so we couldn't eat there every day but you can book before you get there - 15 euros each and we got it for 12 euros for our son who is 13. The bistro was also inviting and we ate there twice, a little expensive but not overly so. You can sit outside in a pleasant area there, weather permitting.

For eating and shopping we would recommend the mall area near Taufkirchen station. This has a cheap breakfast bar where we went several times, rolls for 20 cents plus. Also a Lidl, a greengrocers, and a Pauliner Biergarten. Also there is a Penny Markt down the road from the hotel where we stocked up on water, chocolate etc. and you can take the bottles back for recycling and get some of the purchase price back.

There were some additional nice touches. There is a pleasant rooftop terrace on the fourth floor from where you can see the Alps (and some giant cranes!), a room downstairs where you can iron clothes, a kids play room and a shoe shining machine.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay, perhaps it was little too far out for us as we wanted to go into the centre of Munich every day. But there is little to fault in the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APP06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear APP06,

thank you very much for your very kind and detailed impressions of your stay and taking your time to let us know!

We greatly appreciate your nice feedback and we are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the replacement of the coffee and tea sachets, we appreciate you brouhgt this matter to our attention and apologize for the mistake. We have already informed the Housekeeping Department which will take more attention from now on.

Altough we know that you prefer to stay in the Centre of Munich, we really would be looking forward to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching!

All the best to you and your family,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel and it is simply outstanding.Not only are the staff friendly,the lounge welcoming,the bar and outside area fine, it is an easy 25 min train journey into Munich.This time we stayed in a split level bedroom suite which we found ideal. However,if you have trouble walking, the stairs are steep, so not really suitable.As for parking ,there is free parking about 400 yards away ,near Stefan's Sport. Ask at reception.If going into Munich by train ask at reception for a ' partner' ticket as this only costs 10.50 Euros and is valid all day, on all networks and trams.It is valid for up to 5 adults[2C=1A].A steal !The only slightly bad thing about the hotel is that the breakfasts cost 20 Euros each.ABSURD!.However,as well as others, there is a good coffee shop in a small shopping arcade right next to the station which is ideal for breakfast .In addition,next to it is a very cheap fruit shop.In conclusion,this hotel does not act like a chain hotel and, in my opinion,is how a hotel should be run.

Room Tip: Both rooms we've used were good but the split rooms are fun and quirky
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear “klammer”,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review about your stay in our hotel for the second time!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including your bedroom and the service throughout the hotel. And the fact, that we were even able to surpass our performance from your first stay.

We take service very seriously at the Holiday Inn München Unterhaching and it means a lot to us, that you highlight our great members of staff. You can be sure, that we share your comment with the rest of our team.

Once again, thank you very much for your gorgeous feedback!

We do look forward to welcome you and your Family back at our hotel soon.

All the very best,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

It is just like any 3 to 4 star chain hotel in Europe, rooms are nice and clean, but it lacks something in the ambiance. Staff are friendly and helpful, the food is ok, but lacks variety. The location is in the suburb of Munich, and getting to the train station is a long walk, about 20 min. I stayed for 6 nights, and the rooms lack some basic amenities, which as a frequnt traveller, I already have in my travel kit. The bed is ok, but the pillows are too soft, and felt like it lacks stuffing. It is not near the usual places you want to visit, but it has a lot of the specialty shops, that you usually see in the suburb.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc8reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear doc8reg,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our hotel.

To ensure every guest can enjoy a restful night of sleep we offer a variety of pillows with different fillings and therefore with different degrees of hardness. Our housekeeping team is on hand to bring the pillow of your choice to your room.

The suburban location of our hotel provides our guests with plenty of benefits, like green surroundings and close-by shops. But the city center is easily reachable with the direct fast train to Marienplatz, where sightseeing can be started.

We would appreciate it, if you would contact us directly on gloria.niedermeier@holiday-inn-muenchen.de to let us know, which basic amenities are missing in our rooms. In this way we could improve our equipment and our services for the future.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

With best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

In a quiet neighborhood, peaceful, quiet, no traffic, and comfortable. very well kept room, have water heater in room for coffee or tea. Staff are friendly, which is hart to find. there is a supermarket right across the street, very covient. breakfast is in a nice setting room.

highly recommanded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BogeyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear BogeyMike,

thank you very much for your fantastic and very kind review, which we really appreciate!

We are very delighted to hear to you have enjoyed your stay with us und felt comfortable. Your feedback is the most beautiful compliment for us and keeps us going to give our very best everyday. Thank you again for letting us know!

We hope, we will welcome you again at our hotel the next time you stay in Munich!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterhaching
0.8 mi away
NH Munchen Unterhaching
NH Munchen Unterhaching
#1 of 7 in Unterhaching
510 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#179 of 382 in Munich
676 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Demas Garni
Hotel Demas Garni
#4 of 7 in Unterhaching
107 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
7.0 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching

Property: Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching
Address: Inselkammerstr. 7-9, 82008 Unterhaching, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterhaching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Unterhaching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das 4-Sterne Hotel Holiday Inn Munchen-Unterhaching, in ruhiger Lage und doch nur 15 Minuten vom Zentrum entfernt, ist Ihr perfekter Gastgeber ... Egal, ob Sie auf der Suche nach einem Tagungs- und Kongresshotel sind, einen Wochenendurlaub planen, eine langfristige Unterkunft suchen oder nur auf der Durchreise sind. Die direkte Autobahnanbindung sowie die sehr gute Anbindung an das offentliche Verkehrmittelnetz ermoglichen Ihnen eine unkomplizierte Anreise.Ihnen stehen 257 klimatisierte, modern eingerichtete Zimmer in verschiedenen Kategorien, 370 Garagen- und Aussenparkplatze und ebenso ein Fitness- und Saunabereich zur Verfugung. Unsere drei Konferenzzentren umfassen 12 klimatisierte Tagungsraume fur maximal 500 Personen sowie 14 weitere Raume fur Meetings bis maximal 20 Personen oder Gruppenarbeiten. Aber nicht nur die flexiblen Raumkapazitaten, sondern besonders leistungsstarke, kostenlose W-LAN Nutzung, die taglich marktfrische Speisenauswahl und der individuelle Service unserer langjahrigen Mitarbeiter/Innen machen Ihre Veranstaltung garantiert zu einem Erfolg.Regionale und internationale Gaumenfreuden geniessen Sie in unserem Restaurant ,,Leonardo", der Bar ,,Alex" sowie in unserem sonnigen Biergarten mit 220 Terrassenplatzen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munchen Unterhaching Hotel Unterhaching
Holiday Inn Unterhaching
Unterhaching Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing