We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good but not great”
Review of The Flying Ship

The Flying Ship
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food was good but not great”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

It's a good place for families as they have pasta and pizza. I got the carbonara but I wasn't that impressed with it, although they did give an extremely large portion. Not something I would go out if the way for.

Helpful?
Thank carlove86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    79
    46
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pizza and pasta in a nice place”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The pizza si cooked in a word-fired oven and it's good. Also pasta is well cooked. The tiramisù is not exceptional but better than in other places. Prices are honest.

Helpful?
Thank Testadifungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
184 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Need a Pizza? This Is Your Place”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

They serve plenty of Italian themed entrees, but my taste runs to pizza, and they do a nice job of it. Laid back service, so you can expect a little wait, but English well spoken, and very courteous. Pricing is uber reasonable in my view. Decor is a little quirky; doesn't quite fit a German or Italian theme, but it works for them, and business is good. I'd go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Service a bit slow, but food was good”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Went here for an evening meal as we were staying in a nearby hotel, we got seated straight away but waited 15 mins to be given menus and be offered drinks, once we ordered the food came out pretty promptly and was of a good standard, but didn't deter from the fact that we was on the verge of leaving due to initial poor service

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigtaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Was staying with work in a local hotel and ate at 'the flying ship' both nights due to ease. I had a delicious calzonè the first night and the 'Flying Ship tortellini' the 2nd. Both were great, specifically the pasta.
If your in the area, or even if your not, I would very much recommend this restaurant
On a side note, the staff all talk English, so ordering is essy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Ship also viewed

Leinfelden-Echterdingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Leinfelden-Echterdingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Leinfelden-Echterdingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Leinfelden-Echterdingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to The Flying Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing