We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Schweinfurt Maininsel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Schweinfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 263 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in October. What a Great Place and Fabulous Location! This new Hotel and Conference center is located on an Island in the Main River. To get to downtown Schweinfurt Old Town .... just walk a few steps, cross the bridge and you are there in the Old town. Loads of stores, etc. in town square.
The place is new, spacious, has an elevator that actually holds people and luggage. Much different than some of the other European Hotels. They had bath products in the room and if you didn't see it all you had to do is ask the front desk and it would appear. The Front Desk manager was a delightful lady and had a team of nice assistants. Shame on me I don't remember her name but she was a big help during my stay..
I really have nothing but good things to say about this Hotel and would recomment it.
Tip, sign up for the Breakfast the night before .... there is a difference in what you pay and you will want to commit early as it is a way better value. The breakfast buffet is Excellent!
The location on an Island in the middle of the Main River is unique ( I understand from some of the locals that there was a slaughter house on that property for years ... remember the town name is Schweinfurt ... "pig crossing")
The town was like 80% distroyed by the US Bombers during the war which is a shame but the rebuild is amazing. Go and Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a River view ... nothing like standing at your window watching the boats co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Huge German breakfast buffet, you can get anything you want, including hot American food (eggs).
Rooms are big and clean. Free Wifi. Hotel staff is very nice. Location is good, just a short walk over the bridge to get to the downtown area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It was really a nice experience living at this hotel. I stayed here for 1 month and it was indeed a very comfortable one.The staff are very helpful.The room was pretty ok, not really large, but the view was splendid.So no complaints.Room has everything to take care of basic needs and the housekeeping does a good job.
The buffet breakfast is definitely worth a mention with the best i have eaten in schweinfurt.The hotel is a very easy walk to the city center, where there are options to shop and eat.WI-FI was free(guess with the business package), but can be a menace sometimes,i faced several issues during my stay, but they were resolved quickly.Highly recommended if staying in Schweinfurt

Room Tip: Room with the river facing view. Very beautiful sight....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyanka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I found the room to be larger than I had expected. The hotel has been recently renovated and I was pleased to see the improvements.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.
I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BETubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kev3742
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I am not a fan of the Mercure hotels since the few that I had stayed in were old and tacky. My husband has stayed here before and convinced me to give it a try. I am glad I did.

As mentioned in other reviews here, the rooms are large with comfortable beds and the bathrooms are great too with well working hair dryers and excellent water pressure - things that don't always work that well in some other German chain hotels. Wireless would have been great but the cables worked very well so that was Ok.

We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner - the food was really good and service impeccable.

The location is ideal, walking distance from the city centre and on the banks of the river. I particularly liked the architecture in front of the hotel entrance area - bright and friendly.

This is one Mercure that I would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schweinfurt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Am Alten Postplatz "Ross"
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Schweinfurt
B&B Hotel Schweinfurt
#5 of 12 in Schweinfurt
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Hotel Schweinfurt
Panorama Hotel Schweinfurt
#2 of 12 in Schweinfurt
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ebracher Hof Hotel-Restaurant-Art Lounge
0.5 mi away
Gasthof Mangold
Gasthof Mangold
#7 of 12 in Schweinfurt
22 reviews
16.3 mi away
Flair-Hotel Zum Benediktiner
Flair-Hotel Zum Benediktiner
#1 of 2 in Schwarzach am Main
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Schweinfurt Maininsel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Schweinfurt Maininsel

Address: Maininsel 10-12, 97424 Schweinfurt, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Arcadia Hotel Schweinfurt Maininsel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Schweinfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Schweinfurt
Price Range: $86 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Schweinfurt Maininsel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel Schweinfurt Maininsel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing