We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant, Noisy Location”
Review of Alte Reichsbank

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alte Reichsbank
Ranked #1 of 4 Schweinfurt B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2012

As indicated in my recent review of the Euro Hotel in Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic, I was again surprised at how much different reality is as compared with the staged photos of the hotel. This hotel is also situated on a very busy and noisy downtown street a few walking minutes from a bus terminal, shopping district and shopping mall. It is located across the street from a park. (Be sure to check out the old ruins.) The bus terminal, shopping district and mall are very much a teenager hangout spot. (I have given my location rating an 'average' due to the hotels convenient downtown location. It is not conveniently located from the Autobahn.)

That being said, the hotel owners/staff proved very efficient, very friendly and very proud of their unique Alte Bank hotel. We had dinner in the slightly overpriced hotel restaurant but were not disappointed with the food or service. (The Spargelsuppe was incredibly delicious.) The excellent food and service was emphasized by the fact that even persons not staying at the hotel patronized the restaurant and outdoor dining patio. The breakfast buffet was very good and included fresh salmon, breads, fruit, lots of hot coffee, etc.

The hotel room did not have any air conditioning. Our 2nd floor room opened out onto an old rooftop patio with a limited view of the surrounding buildings. Noise from the street was always present. The small standard bathroom had a shower area with a shower curtain that did not prevent the bathroom floor from getting wet. The room had a safe to lock up your valuables. The hotel did have an elevator, making it easier to move our luggage. Wifi is available but you must join the network to access it. There is very limited and narrowly spaced on site parking.

Room Tip: The street is noisy. If possible choose a room located to the rear of the building. It won't eli...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HerrMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Alte Reichsbank
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 33 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is the second time I stayed at this cozy little Inn in Schweinfurt. The first stay was for a day and this time for 3-days. I was treated like royalty and the service and friendly manner with which they looked after guests was first class. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the restaurant is 5-star minus the price. They have a cute little wine bar built inside of the old bank's walk-in safe where couples can enjoy their wine and privacy. This is my choice when I am in the Schweinfurt area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We visited my mothers home
town to meet relatives. This hotel was recommended and was a fantastic choice. Spacious rooms, great furniture. Restaurant was
super! And very reasonably priced.
A definite repeat stay will happen !

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAPNBEN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Great hotel in the heart of town. The rooms are huge and very nice!! The staff was all wonderful, we wanted to have a large family gathering and everyone there was more than accommodating!! The food was delicious, and when they found out that we had an early flight they even gave us packed lunches :). Wunderbar!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYHilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank Wniedermeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Passioncookress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schweinfurt hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Schweinfurt Maininsel
0.4 mi away
Panorama Hotel Schweinfurt
Panorama Hotel Schweinfurt
#3 of 13 in Schweinfurt
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Schweinfurt
B&B Hotel Schweinfurt
#8 of 13 in Schweinfurt
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Kolping-Hotel
#6 of 13 in Schweinfurt
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Mangold
Gasthof Mangold
#5 of 13 in Schweinfurt
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Alten Postplatz "Ross"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alte Reichsbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Reichsbank

Address: Neutorstr. 4 1/2, 97421 Schweinfurt, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Schweinfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schweinfurt
Price Range: $103 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alte Reichsbank 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alte Reichsbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing