We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place with potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hinterhoefle

Hinterhoefle
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Volkach
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place with potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had late Dinner for two on a sunday, which not every restaurant would accept!
Nice backyard terrace incl a glass-covered part for the colder times of the year..
Good regional food & wines selection for reasonable prices (41€ f. two main courses + water, wine & coffee).
Service a bit on the slow side at our table, possibly due to a young apprentice.
Would try it again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FromDtotheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    58
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely ambience, amazing service, delicious food! Nicely surprised. I recommend it 100 percent. Went there did lunch and wanted to Fodor a second time but as we were only in Volkach for the weekend we decided to be adventurous and try somewhere new.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deebade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Urban/Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

An absolutely charming place to eat.Great place to bring your children along for Dinner.They will be able to spend time with the goats,rabbits and birds wich are kept at the front of restaurant.Enclosed of course! Total country-feeling!The rear of the restaurant is a patio,urban.It can be heated and therefore usabel in cold temp.I very much enjoyed the food,tried differend dishes,all equally good.It became my fav.restaurant for the stay-had to drive appr.30 min.each time to get there-totally woerth it.I found the service friendly and even on a busy Sunday speedy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bebetanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem (in the heart of Volkach)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This restaurant has a an indoor garden (see photos), great atmosphere, English menu, great service, wonderful atmosphere, and delicious Franconian cuisine.

Klaus Behringer believes in locally sourced food and comes to the tables after dinner to makes sure every guest is happy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in perhaps all of Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

I had to select when I was there, but I´ve been several times. I love it! I stumbled upon it when staying in Volkach in Summer 2010. I am now in Germany quite often, and always try to pay it a visit. It is absolutely charming, their soups are fantastic. Try the Silvanercremesuppe- a cream of Silvaner wine soup. They have seasonal specials as well, during asparagus season, or mushroom season they have entire additional menus devoted to them.
It´s a beautiful restaurant in Summer or Winter. I can´t say enough good things about it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mandy939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinterhoefle also viewed

Volkach, Lower Franconia
Volkach, Lower Franconia
 
Volkach, Lower Franconia
Volkach, Lower Franconia
 

Been to Hinterhoefle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing