We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building, good breakfast, rooms very disappointing”
Review of Hotel Haus Duden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Haus Duden
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wesel
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It looks like an old small castle. Do NOT expect anything inside this hotel that reminds you of an castle.

Breakfast is good, quality products and wide range of choices.
Wifi, parking of car and use of sauna is free!!!

the rooms in the mainbuilding are just not up to date. Actually they are getting a little tacky and dirty. Soiled carpets, ditched furniture, out date shower area, no coffee/tea facilities.
Roof of hotel rooms are very low, which makes you bump your head during your nightly walk to the restroom...
Matress was to firm, pilow thin as a piece of paper. Duvet was filled with a isolating material. This made me sweat like i was in a steamroom.

I would not recommend this hotel for the price they are asking and what they offer.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room in the old building of the hotel. There is a modern building behind the main b...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Haus Duden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 181 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have recently spent three nights in the Hotel Haus Duden, the staff were very friendly and the food was very good but the hotel is a little tired and could do with updating. The room we stayed in had a very sloping roof so you had to be very careful not to hit your head.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186478John_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for business. First time in 2007 which was generally fine, and stayed many times, however now it feels dated. The mosquito screens on the bedroom windows are mostly damaged and the rooms are starting to feel grubby. Food in the bar is poor for the price, I would recommend going to a local restaurant, if you can find one. Service from the bar was very slow, ordered food at 8pm arrived at 10 pm after being forgotten by the staff, not great! Noise from the kitchens and staff ouside the bedroom window till late at night. Breakfast is ok, with very professional service from waitress. I hope this will be my last visit here, as other better hotels in the area.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Phillip_Leslie_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Picked Haus Duden for it's location while en-route to my destination.
The room was very basic and the internet didn't work on the night. It did however provide a pleasant quiet night in the countryside and is great value.
I do wish to recommend the place for the restaurant which was truly 1st class and I would dine there again given the chance.

Room Tip: This hotel is set in a quiet country-side location.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here one night, and it was quite nice. We had a warm welcome, and the man at the counter showed us to our room, which was out in a newer building. It was large and comfortable, with a huge picture window that looked out on a grove of trees. My daughter spent a couple of hours in the morning watching the mice, birds, and even deer out there. The hotel itself is quite charming, with books all over the place. Breakfast was pretty typical for a European hotel - cold cuts, cheese, rolls, cereal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

An excellent hotel, where we received a very warm welcome and ongoing service. Our room was well appointed with forest view from the window, very comfortable bed and great shower.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with a collegue for a few days. I if this is an example of german hospitiality, well done. We were staying on business, and the staff were excellent, helpful and polite. All information within the hotel is in german, and the restaurant only seemed to have one menu in english but the staff spoke english so no problems! The service in the restuarant was a little slow in the evenings, and the could have done with one more staff serving. The food was of a good standard. Internet in the rooms was good, plenty of space to work. The hotel is a good 20 minute walk out of town. The queen size bed could be better. Ok for one perons, but if two were staying in one room it could be cosy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wesel
2.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel  Wesel
Welcome Hotel Wesel
#1 of 6 in Wesel
239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waldhotel Tannenhauschen
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#4 of 6 in Wesel
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Landhotel Voshoevel
Landhotel Voshoevel
#1 of 4 in Schermbeck
77 reviews
7.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Birten
#7 of 7 in Xanten
5 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Doppeladler
Hotel Doppeladler
#1 of 2 in Rees
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Duden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Duden

Address: Konrad-Duden-Str. 99, 46485 Wesel, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Wesel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wesel
Price Range: $81 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Haus Duden 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Haus Duden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing